Results 1 to 12 of 12

Is there a way to automatically lock the 8700 (without putting it in the holster)? ... RIM Blackberry 87xx forum

  1. #1
    rrsarge's Avatar
    rrsarge no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    PIN/ID
    2040AD56
    Posts
    30

    Question Auto Lock the 8700

    Advertisement



    Is there a way to automatically lock the 8700 (without putting it in the holster)? I seem to remember my 7100t being able to do that.

  2. #2
    Rcbjr's Avatar
    Rcbjr no está en línea Stack Pro
    Join Date
    May 2006
    PIN/ID
    PM - Ask
    Posts
    14,848

    Re: Auto Lock the 8700

    There is a setting in the Options/Security Options/General Settings. But you have to have a password set for it to work. If you don't want to set a password, I think you'll have to get used to locking it manually using either the "K" key or ALT+Enter.

    Hope this helps
    Rcbjr.
    You Ask, We Will Answer
    Can’t Install theme via DM?No Additional Apps Found for Your Device
    Links to Usefull KB Articles

  3. #3
    rrsarge's Avatar
    rrsarge no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    PIN/ID
    2040AD56
    Posts
    30

    Re: Auto Lock the 8700

    Hmmmmm... neither work for me. ALT+Enter switches me from English US to English UK and "K" does nothing.

    I'm using the Vodafone Today theme....think that might change things?

  4. #4
    Rcbjr's Avatar
    Rcbjr no está en línea Stack Pro
    Join Date
    May 2006
    PIN/ID
    PM - Ask
    Posts
    14,848

    Re: Auto Lock the 8700

    I've heard that the Vodafone Today does limit the operations somewhat. Try another theme and see what happens.

    Rcbjr.
    You Ask, We Will Answer
    Can’t Install theme via DM?No Additional Apps Found for Your Device
    Links to Usefull KB Articles

  5. #5
    melissaox's Avatar
    melissaox no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    5,344

    Re: Auto Lock the 8700

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~ K locks mine up. 8700g on Tmo with Zen theme. I have dial from homescreen disabled. When I scroll threw my applications the k in lock is underlined. Check out your list and look for the underlined letters. Also in phone go to options, general options and make sure dial from homescreen is set to no. Keyboard shortcuts don't work from the homescreen with it on. If you have pocketday check the utilites on it too.

  6. #6
    naviwilliams's Avatar
    naviwilliams no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    742

    Question Re: Auto Lock the 8700

    Also, if the dial from home screen option is on/off, does that allow/disallow the option of ALT/K? I would check your settings for that too...

    ...just an idea...

  7. #7
    williammuk's Avatar
    williammuk no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    22

    Re: Auto Lock the 8700

    Quote Originally Posted by rrsarge
    Hmmmmm... neither work for me. ALT+Enter switches me from English US to English UK and "K" does nothing.

    I'm using the Vodafone Today theme....think that might change things?
    Check in Options > Language for the option "Use Input Method Shortcut". I think if this is set to "Yes", ALT+Enter will switch language input methods.

    Set it to "No" to use ALT+Enter to lock the keyboard.

    Hope this helps.

  8. #8
    giamburrasca's Avatar
    giamburrasca no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    256223F9
    Posts
    348

    Re: Auto Lock the 8700

    It onviously depends on which operator's handset you use. Following another thread here, I thought that using the k key to lock was a great idea but it simply prompted me to a quick dial. I'm on an 8700g with O2 UK btw.

  9. #9
    williammuk's Avatar
    williammuk no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    22

    Re: Auto Lock the 8700

    Quote Originally Posted by giamburrasca
    It onviously depends on which operator's handset you use. Following another thread here, I thought that using the k key to lock was a great idea but it simply prompted me to a quick dial. I'm on an 8700g with O2 UK btw.
    If I'm not mistaken, this is because the "Dial From Home Screen" is enabled. Change this to "No" and you should be able to type "k" from home screen and lock the keyboard.

    Do not press and hold the "k" key as it will prompt you to assign a speed dial.

    Hope that helps.

  10. #10
    rrsarge's Avatar
    rrsarge no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    PIN/ID
    2040AD56
    Posts
    30

    Re: Auto Lock the 8700

    Quote Originally Posted by williammuk
    Check in Options > Language for the option "Use Input Method Shortcut". I think if this is set to "Yes", ALT+Enter will switch language input methods.

    Set it to "No" to use ALT+Enter to lock the keyboard.

    Hope this helps.
    That was it!! Thanks

  11. #11
    db869's Avatar
    db869 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    51

    Re: Auto Lock the 8700

    Another possibility is to program the front or side convenience key to lock the keyboard. You do that from Options -> Screen & Keyboard. That works regardless of your carrier.

    Dave

  12. #12
    shafferds's Avatar
    shafferds no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    23d2a4fe
    Posts
    488

    Re: Auto Lock the 8700

    you should also be able to set up a password after so long of no use it will kick in and that will lock the phone as well for security reasons.
    DO OR DO NOT THERE IS NO TRY

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •