Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 21

So the spec sheet for the 8703e says it supports GPS (location-based services). Anybody have ... RIM Blackberry 87xx forum

  1. #1
    squished18's Avatar
    squished18 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    201

    Question 8703e and GPS

    Advertisement



    So the spec sheet for the 8703e says it supports GPS (location-based services). Anybody have an 8703e and used this feature? What application do you run? How do you like it?

  2. #2
    Rcbjr's Avatar
    Rcbjr no está en línea Stack Pro
    Join Date
    May 2006
    PIN/ID
    PM - Ask
    Posts
    14,848

    Re: 8703e and GPS

    I would imagine the TelNav (I think that's the name) would work with your device, but I'm not sure. I think you can find a link to it in the Third Part Apps Forum.

    Hope this helps
    Rcbjr.
    You Ask, We Will Answer
    Can’t Install theme via DM?No Additional Apps Found for Your Device
    Links to Usefull KB Articles

  3. #3
    cp6169's Avatar
    cp6169 no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    PIN/ID
    3056468b
    Posts
    14,661

    Re: 8703e and GPS

    If you are talking about the Sprint CDMA 8703e, then you may want to check out Garmin Mobile, or Telenav as Rich mentioned.

  4. #4
    squished18's Avatar
    squished18 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    201

    Re: 8703e and GPS

    Hmmm...I'm interested in hearing the experiences of anybody who has actually used the GPS feature on the 8703e. Wondering if it's any good.

  5. #5
    jc3513's Avatar
    jc3513 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    8

    Re: 8703e and GPS

    Icurrently use TeleNav on my 8703e and it works fine. It occasionally miscalculates but that's expected.Beware of new development over the past 6 months that hasn't been mapped in areas but that's with any gps tool you use. I recommend trying it. Via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  6. #6
    bworchel's Avatar
    bworchel no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    7

    Re: 8703e and GPS

    jc3513...what carrier are you with? Are you using internal or external GPS?

  7. #7
    bworchel's Avatar
    bworchel no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    7

    Re: 8703e and GPS

    I have researched the SPOT software....anyone out there using it?

  8. #8
    bworchel's Avatar
    bworchel no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    7

    Re: 8703e and GPS

    Spoke to our Verizon Government Rep today...they have plans to release the GPS, just not anytime soon. They have 2 regular phones operating with the GPS features and have plans to release it on the BB8703e, but don't have a date yet.

  9. #9
    pendljl's Avatar
    pendljl no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    1

    Re: 8703e and GPS

    Hard to believe no one has created a hack to unlock the /@4 ca~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  10. #10
    Rcbjr's Avatar
    Rcbjr no está en línea Stack Pro
    Join Date
    May 2006
    PIN/ID
    PM - Ask
    Posts
    14,848

    Re: 8703e and GPS

    pendljl, Welcome to PinStack.

    Blackberry devices are not that easy to hack in certain areas.

    Rcbjr.
    You Ask, We Will Answer
    Can’t Install theme via DM?No Additional Apps Found for Your Device
    Links to Usefull KB Articles

  11. #11
    cp6169's Avatar
    cp6169 no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    PIN/ID
    3056468b
    Posts
    14,661

  12. #12
    Spmm's Avatar
    Spmm no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    2

    Re: 8703e and GPS

    Hello All, my 1st post & BB.

    I'm w/sprint and today ordered TeleNav, $10 a month-nasty. I'm still waiting for my pin so I can try this thing out. I looked at the Spot gps software but it only had 2 reviews & they seemed 1/2 way satisfied. Spot looks like a cool program,$49 setup-Ouch. I just figured, let me try my BB at what it says it can do & try TeleNav Ya know? Oh, the 1st month is free (what ever that means), Just make sure to remind your carrier even if it's Sprint.

  13. #13
    Spmm's Avatar
    Spmm no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    2

    Re: 8703e and GPS

    Oh, I forgot you can download a trial of Spot if need to checc it out.

  14. #14
    OldTimer's Avatar
    OldTimer no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    May 2006
    PIN/ID
    3040B2F1
    Posts
    78

    Re: 8703e and GPS

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~Spot also a one time fee of $49. No monthly fee like Telnav.

  15. #15
    cjabernathy's Avatar
    cjabernathy no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    1

    Re: 8703e and GPS

    I have used Telenav for about 2 weeks now and the only problem has been coverage areas, and those were minor.

    I live in Houston and the GPS system routed me along a new path from my house to Sugarland and cut 10 minutes off my time. I would have never gone that way but it worked well for me.

    So far it has been very accurate and freaked the wife out when I was showing her how it worked and the device told us we were at our destination as I pulled in our driveway. Oh technology.

    I drive quite a bit and was actually considering getting a GPS stand alone system, so this 8703 from Sprint actually saved me some money. Nice.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •