Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 18

Hi guys, I have bought the vodafone device (8700v) from eBay seller - Phone Efficient ... RIM Blackberry 87xx forum

  1. #1
    tiro's Avatar
    tiro no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    22

    Lightbulb 8700v unlocked but doesn't work with T-Mobile, BES

    Advertisement



    Hi guys,

    I have bought the vodafone device (8700v) from eBay seller - Phone Efficient (London). This device for my colleague.

    Phone Efficient promised me to do the following:
    · to uninstall all vodafone system software
    · to upgrade the system software for T-Mobile BES compatibility (originally device was produced as "Pro" edition not as "Ent")

    these things were a main conditions to buy device. They promised that it will be work properly for 100%.

    I have collected device and now I have a trouble with it.

    When I insert the t-mo sim card into device I have a message "data connection refused" and "small gprs characters"...

    I have tried to choose from the all available carrier - the same...

    I have chacked it with seller - they answer that it should be ok.
    But it is NOT ok :cry:

    Help me please if you can.
    kindly yours,
    tiro :)

  2. #2
    JadedBerry's Avatar
    JadedBerry no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    203B4165
    Posts
    624

    Re: 8700v unlocked but doesn't work with T-Mobile, BES

    Have you done a battery pull / hard reset? Whenever I change phones between my two, I get sometimes a data connection refused and have to do that to get it to accept.

    Try that, let us know, I'm sure someone with more BES knowledge will be along shortly

  3. #3
    Dub's Avatar
    Dub
    Dub no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    9

    Re: 8700v unlocked but doesn't work with T-Mobile, BES

    Do you have a Blackberry plan with T-Mobile? If you don't have a active Blackberry data plan with T-Mobile you will get this condition. If you have a voice plan with them already you can add on the unlimted plan for 19.95 a month or the enterprise version for 29.95 a month.

  4. #4
    tiro's Avatar
    tiro no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    22

    Re: 8700v unlocked but doesn't work with T-Mobile, BES

    I have removed the battery for 10-15 minutes and more... I have done it twice. It doesn't help unfortunately.

  5. #5
    tiro's Avatar
    tiro no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    22

    Re: 8700v unlocked but doesn't work with T-Mobile, BES

    Quote Originally Posted by Dub
    Do you have a Blackberry plan with T-Mobile? If you don't have a active Blackberry data plan with T-Mobile you will get this condition. If you have a voice plan with them already you can add on the unlimted plan for 19.95 a month or the enterprise version for 29.95 a month.
    The sim-card which I try to use has a needed Blackberry plan. This card issued for T-Mobile corporate use (BES).
    kindly yours,
    tiro :)

  6. #6
    Dub's Avatar
    Dub
    Dub no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    9

    Re: 8700v unlocked but doesn't work with T-Mobile, BES

    You will probably need to go to your settings/options/advanced options/Host Routing table/ and then select the service and click you thumbwheel and choose "register now".

  7. #7
    tiro's Avatar
    tiro no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    22

    Thumbs down Re: 8700v unlocked but doesn't work with T-Mobile, BES

    Quote Originally Posted by Dub
    You will probably need to go to your settings/options/advanced options/Host Routing table/ and then select the service and click you thumbwheel and choose "register now".
    also tried...

    in 20 sec. after this i am getting "your handheld has been registered with the wireless" but still "data connection refused"
    kindly yours,
    tiro :)

  8. #8
    Rcbjr's Avatar
    Rcbjr no está en línea Stack Pro
    Join Date
    May 2006
    PIN/ID
    PM - Ask
    Posts
    14,848

    Re: 8700v unlocked but doesn't work with T-Mobile, BES

    Can you make a phone call to any number other than emergency service 911 or Information 611? Have you done an Enterprise Activation? Did you register your IMEI and PIN with TMO BIS?

    Rcbjr

  9. #9
    tiro's Avatar
    tiro no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    22

    Re: 8700v unlocked but doesn't work with T-Mobile, BES

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~
    Rcbjr,
    I can not make any call becuse this servise is locked by our IT policy. We have only data.

    Exactly this procedure (Enterprise Activation) I would like to do but can't due to "data connection refused"

    No, I didn't registered my PIN and IMEI with TMO BES (I am a corporate user) anyhow separately. Should I!

    Thx,
    tiro

  10. #10
    tiro's Avatar
    tiro no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    22

    Question Re: 8700v unlocked but doesn't work with T-Mobile, BES

    Rcbjr,

    what should I do to register my PIN and IMEI with TMO BES? contact to my administrator or call to T-Mobile? How it usually happen? do you think that it could be reason for my issues?

    thanks,
    tiro

  11. #11
    tiro's Avatar
    tiro no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    22

    Re: 8700v unlocked but doesn't work with T-Mobile, BES

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

    Rcbjr,

    ?

  12. #12
    Rcbjr's Avatar
    Rcbjr no está en línea Stack Pro
    Join Date
    May 2006
    PIN/ID
    PM - Ask
    Posts
    14,848

    Re: 8700v unlocked but doesn't work with T-Mobile, BES

    Sorry I took so long to get back to you, but real life intervened. I think I would contact my admin first. I'm not that up to speed on activation with BES so I really can't help. I'll see if I can't get a BES expert to review this thread.

    Rcbjr.

  13. #13
    hayden's Avatar
    hayden no está en línea Stack Mod
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    PIN/ID
    ask
    Posts
    12,440

    Re: 8700v unlocked but doesn't work with T-Mobile, BES

    In past experience data connection removed signal either your SIM has the wrong data provisioning or the data side of the phone is still locked. If you can go to a T-Mobile store (or a friend) and have them test your SIM in their T-Mobile BlackBerry. If it works then the problem is with the unlocking.

    Also see these threads

  14. #14
    giamburrasca's Avatar
    giamburrasca no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    256223F9
    Posts
    348

    Re: 8700v unlocked but doesn't work with T-Mobile, BES

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~If you are getting "data connection refused" and "gprs" the SIM is being recognised but there is no acknowlwedged data plan.The solution lies between your IT policy and Tmo.

  15. #15
    tiro's Avatar
    tiro no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    22

    Re: 8700v unlocked but doesn't work with T-Mobile, BES

    Quote Originally Posted by hayden
    In past experience data connection removed signal either your SIM has the wrong data provisioning or the data side of the phone is still locked. If you can go to a T-Mobile store (or a friend) and have them test your SIM in their T-Mobile BlackBerry. If it works then the problem is with the unlocking.

    Also see these threads
    hayden, thanks for the answer!

    The situation is:
    1. I have two devices. One of them is original 8700g which is bought from T-System. In that device there is t-mo SIM card which works very well!
    2. the second device, which is 8700v have been bought from eBay for my colleagues. Seller told that the device is unlocked for 100% and compatible with BES...
    3. the t-mo SIM card doesn't work in 8700v and show me "data connection refused" and "gprs"
    4. I have tried to put into my 8700v the Vodafone SIM card from my friend - it works, there is no "data connection refused" and there is "GPRS"...
    What all this mean? What I have to do? Help me please!

    today is my last day in London... There is no Voadfone and T-Mobile office at Russia... looks like I will forced to discard this device which is useless for me in this situation...
    kindly yours,
    tiro :)

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •