Hello all, I'm a newbie here and to BBs. In fact I ordered a 8700G ... RIM Blackberry 87xx forum

AaaBaa no está en línea Stack level 1

Smile 8700G specifications compared to the others in the 8700 series

Advertisement

Hello all, I'm a newbie here and to BBs. In fact I ordered a 8700G from 02 yesterday and it should arrive on Monday. But I was a little disturbed when I was browsing 8700 series phones on the UK BB website (blackberry.co.uk -> Devices -> BlackBerry 8700 Series -> Compare)

When you compare the four 8700 series phones, they are all largely the same except in two categories: "Memory" and "Voice Input/Output".

In the 8700G it seems you only get 64MB RAM (whereas the others get 16MB more SRAM or SDRAM). Fristly, is this right - is the memory expandable? Will it be enough? (I have about 850 contacts that'll need to be stored, plus I'll start using email on the BB.)

Much more alarmingly, in the "Voice Input/Output" category, it seems that all other models in the 8700 range have a Headset Jack and Integrated earpiece / microphone, but the 8700G...DOES NOT? Surely this is a mistake!

I would appreciate if someone who has experience of the 8700G could clarify these points, as I've started to think I've made the wrong choice!!

Thanks

Toddboy71 no está en línea Device Pro
    PIN/ID
    T o' Bee

Re: 8700G specifications compared to the others in the 8700 series

~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~
    I'm pretty sure this is a mistake. Memory is all the same. If it makes you feel any better, I have around 550 contacts in my 8100 and it takes up all of 400k. So you shouldn't have any issues.

ljbyar no está en línea Device Pro
    PIN/ID
    Ask Me

~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~Welcome to the Stacks AaaBbb. Let us know if there is anything else we can do to help. Have fun with your 8700!

Rcbjr no está en línea Stack Pro
    PIN/ID
    PM - Ask

AaaBaa, Welcome to PinStack.

I'm pretty sure the 8700 series at least the 00 versions of it have the same hardware.