Results 1 to 11 of 11

I have switched my unlocked 8700c to Tmobile and would like to load the TM ... RIM Blackberry 87xx forum

  1. #1
    howitzer's Avatar
    howitzer no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    PIN/ID
    23DA6E34
    Posts
    35

    8700c on Tmobile

    Advertisement



    I have switched my unlocked 8700c to Tmobile and would like to load the TM OS, I have searched and cannot find out how to do it or where to download the os.

    thanks!

  2. #2
    N8DBB's Avatar
    N8DBB no está en línea Stack level 8
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    PIN/ID
    7BCE3C88
    Posts
    6,028

  3. #3
    cp6169's Avatar
    cp6169 no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    PIN/ID
    3056468b
    Posts
    14,661

  4. #4
    takeshi's Avatar
    takeshi no está en línea Stack level 7
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    2,305
    Any reason you're loading the TMO OS? It's not needed at all to use the 8700c with TMO. If you're trying to re-brand your device you'll still have the Cingular splash screen (not to mention the Cingular logo on the housing) even with the TMO OS loaded. If you just want the TMO theme, you can load it apart from the OS.

  5. #5
    howitzer's Avatar
    howitzer no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    PIN/ID
    23DA6E34
    Posts
    35
    Thanks for asking, actually it didn't go when I choose the OS in the application loader I get "No additional applications for your device was were found"

    I mainly want the Tmobile Zen theme and the settings to migrate so I can get Edge.

  6. #6
    BBWrangler's Avatar
    BBWrangler no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    PIN/ID
    219DFD90
    Posts
    212
    Did you remember to delete vendor.xml from "c:\program files\common files\research in motion\apploader"? (yes, I know that path by heart).

    Also, Updating to the latest firmware seems to improve things on the device, since T-Mo keeps updating their network information in there, according to an engineer I spoke with. He actually recommended we get all our devices updated. Made me feel justified in having started that process over a year ago.
    It doesn't record video. Get over it.

  7. #7
    howitzer's Avatar
    howitzer no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    PIN/ID
    23DA6E34
    Posts
    35
    Quote Originally Posted by BBWrangler
    Did you remember to delete vendor.xml from "c:\program files\common files\research in motion\apploader"? (yes, I know that path by heart).

    Also, Updating to the latest firmware seems to improve things on the device, since T-Mo keeps updating their network information in there, according to an engineer I spoke with. He actually recommended we get all our devices updated. Made me feel justified in having started that process over a year ago.
    I think that did it! The application is loading right now!

    I did have problems with my PIN still with Cingular but with the help of a T-Mobile rep and RIM we have the email working.............now I can tweak!

  8. #8
    StaceyRVC's Avatar
    StaceyRVC no está en línea Community pro
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    PIN/ID
    Ask Me!
    Posts
    9,321
    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~
    Resend your service books

  9. #9
    howitzer's Avatar
    howitzer no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    PIN/ID
    23DA6E34
    Posts
    35
    Quote Originally Posted by StaceyRVC
    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~
    Resend your service books
    Thanks, I was having one of those "moments"

    But it seems like I am up to full speed now! My next adventure will be to sync my BB to my office computer using Winder remote desktop......if it can be done.

  10. #10
    cruiz's Avatar
    cruiz no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    4

    Re: 8700c on Tmobile

    is there a way to remove the Tmobile splash screen. I have the 8700c cingular and im using it with tmobile but would like to get rid of the cingular splash screen logo.

  11. #11
    takeshi's Avatar
    takeshi no está en línea Stack level 7
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    2,305

    Re: 8700c on Tmobile

    Nope.

    Updating to any OS that has bug fixes that meet your needs is a good idea. The carrier branding doesn't matter with respect to the model of your Blackberry (though you do need to make sure you load a GSM Blackberry OS on a GSM Blackberry, for example).

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •