Hi, I'm very very new to this smartphone thingy and I was hoping some kind, ... Motorola Androids forum

newbackflipper no está en línea Stack level 1

Question Smartphones for Dummies?

Advertisement

Hi, I'm very very new to this smartphone thingy and I was hoping some kind, benevolent veterans would take pity on me and help explain things. (please?) I just got a Motorola Backflip and I have a limited (200mb per month) data plan. I don't want to go over my limit and start getting charged for using the internet if unecessary.

So my questions are:

(1) I have heard that I can change my settings so that I use wi-fi instead of 3G to connect to the internet and I won't be charged if it's wi-fi. Is that true? If so how do I do that?
    (2) When I try to download apps I get a message that the app will need access to the internet. Does that mean that it will use the internet only to download the app or every time I use the app?
    (3) Is there an app anyone's heard of that will help me with meal planning? I'd like to glance at my phone and know what I'm making for dinner!
    (4) Is there an app for a to-do list that I can set up for recurring tasks, i.e. pay the bills, clean the bathroom, etc.?
    (5) Is there a website that lists all (or a lot) of the apps available with descriptions and price that anyone would suggest?
    (6) I have tried to download Motorola's Media Link so that I can put my music and photos on my phone but it won't work. The download completes but an installation wizard never appears and the only exe file I can see doesn't load the program. I have vista on my pc (I know, I know). Has anyone else had this problem? Is there a fix?
    (7) Is there an app for Google Docs? I can't find one. If there is one, does it access the internet every time you open a document?
    (8) Is there a smartphones for dummies article that would be helpful for me to read? Clearly I need something.