Results 1 to 13 of 13

I downloaded Yahoo to my BB, when I try to sign in, it says I ... RIM Blackberry 71xx forum

  1. #1
    Navajo's Avatar
    Navajo no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    5

    Yahoo Messenger

    Advertisement



    I downloaded Yahoo to my BB, when I try to sign in, it says I need to go to Blackberry to activate my handheld for yahoo messenger. I am confused? I downloaded it from the Blackberry site

  2. #2
    JadedBerry's Avatar
    JadedBerry no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    203B4165
    Posts
    624

    Re: Yahoo Messenger

    Navajo, what service provider do you have?
    One out of every four Americans is suffering from some form of mental illness. Think of your three best friends. If they're okay, then it's you.


  3. #3
    Lewis's Avatar
    Lewis no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    May 2006
    PIN/ID
    207BBC6D
    Posts
    1,285

    Re: Yahoo Messenger

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

    Your profile indicates that your carrier is Cingular.

    As of now, Cingular does not support any native BlackBerry chat clients (Yahoo!, BB Messenger).

  4. #4
    Rcbjr's Avatar
    Rcbjr no está en línea Stack Pro
    Join Date
    May 2006
    PIN/ID
    PM - Ask
    Posts
    14,848

    Re: Yahoo Messenger

    Lewis, That is true, they do not support either BB Messenger, or Yahoo Messenger for BlackBerry. But there are different levels of "no support", and this is important. While they don't support BB Messenger, that only means that the CSRs will not be able to help with any problems with it as it's not in their script books. For YM for BB, it not only means that they don't support it, it also means there is no way to get the required service book to use it, because they will not provide it.

    What impact this has on the users is that BB messenger works just fine on Cingular accounts, but there is no way to use YM for BB on Cingular.

    Rcbjr.
    You Ask, We Will Answer
    Can’t Install theme via DM?No Additional Apps Found for Your Device
    Links to Usefull KB Articles

  5. #5
    racinrocker's Avatar
    racinrocker no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    PIN/ID
    24b4c6de
    Posts
    763

    Re: Yahoo Messenger

    Hey has anyone else notice the compatibility issue with Blackberry Yahoo to the newest version of AT&T Yahoo Messy(pc version) MY girlfriend gets runtime error when I pm her.. Anyone else having this issue with the new yahoo?

  6. #6
    giamburrasca's Avatar
    giamburrasca no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    256223F9
    Posts
    348

    Re: Yahoo Messenger

    I've been unable to get it to run on my 8700g from O2 UK

  7. #7
    cherrichiodo's Avatar
    cherrichiodo no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    ATA
    Posts
    17,164

    Re: Yahoo Messenger

    same here with the cingular issue. i didn't read the fine print until after i had downloaded it. now...i uninstalled ym but the icon is still there...any ideas on how to get it off??

    what if...i download the "instant messenger" software from handango that shows it supports all IM's (icq, aol, msn, ym, et. al.)? then, will ym work?

  8. #8
    bamwv's Avatar
    bamwv no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    PIN/ID
    2031794E
    Posts
    4

    Re: Yahoo Messenger

    I have cingular... as for yahoo! messenger i just go to the yahoo site, click messenger and sign in...

  9. #9
    phungngo's Avatar
    phungngo no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    1
    i dk..when i sign in to they yahoo msger..it say that "service not enable for this handheld" so wat should i do..so i can log in ?? help..plz..mine is t-mobile

  10. #10
    rmarkowitz's Avatar
    rmarkowitz no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    PIN/ID
    24379323
    Posts
    109
    Yahoo Messenger and iSkoot (Skype Clone) work for me on my 8310.

    If you cannot login maybe trying changing your APN settings. Options -> Advanced -> TCP

    Everything works except for Send Media. When I try to send or receive a file the Accept/Decline choice pops up, I click Accept but nothing happens after that.

    Same result when trying to send or receive a file. Any ideas?
    Last edited by rmarkowitz; 04-26-2008 at 08:48 PM.

  11. #11
    mafio78's Avatar
    mafio78 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    PIN/ID
    401ec7b4
    Posts
    28
    hopefully you have fixed it by now!!
    MafiO78...

  12. #12
    gkast1's Avatar
    gkast1 no está en línea Stack level 6
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    PIN/ID
    244F596F
    Posts
    2,381
    I used to have a 7105t, and Yahoo Mess came preloaded. It never worked, though;
    repeated logins to my account failed -- silently, too.

    Eventually it transpired one has to pay a small monthly fee to T-Mobile in order to use it.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    PIN/ID
    LESS
    Posts
    1,757
    There is a workaround for att sunscribers to get this working. I have it and use it on a daily basis. Love it

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •