Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

I am brand new to Blackberry, I just got my 7100g yesterday and when I ... RIM Blackberry 71xx forum

fpckurtis no está en línea Stack level 1
    PIN/ID
    202B98BC

Question web browsing w/out cingular data plan?

Advertisement

I am brand new to Blackberry, I just got my 7100g yesterday and when I tried to access the browser I got this message, "Your device does not currently have any Browser Configuration Service Book Entries."

I talked to Cingular and they said I had to add a Blackberry Data Feature plan to my account to be able to use the browser. Before I got my 7100g I just had a normal phone to make calls and send text messages etc. but I had a media package to look up some stuff on the internet or check my hotmail.

I learned today that the media package i had from cingular, $9.99, will not work with my 7100g. I need a Blackberry Data Package, of which the cheapest is $29.99. I don't see the point of $29.99 just for email purposes (and neither does my fiancee, soon to be wife......). I want to be able to open my hotmail attachments and view them on my phone (save them to the phone, if possible), and be able to access them anytime. I have a terrible memory and would like to be able to use my 7100g to keep myself more organized. It sounds to me like Cingular is not very flexible when it comes to Blackberry and data plans.

So my question(s):
    1. Is there any way I can check my email/use a web browser without getting a $29.99 blackberry data package from Cingular? or to use my media package instead?

2. Is there a way to save and view documents/files without using the browser/email application?

3. I have heard of the plusmo offline web browser, can I use that without a Cingular Blackberry Data package?

Basically, I'm looking for a way to access my email/browser on my 7100g without needing to have the $29.99 data package from cingular because I don't really want to spend $30+ every month just for browser access.