Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 29

Good Morning to all, I'm new to the forum and have had an issue that ... RIM Blackberry 71xx forum

  1. #1
    penguin1's Avatar
    penguin1 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    request
    Posts
    85

    RMS database

    Advertisement



    Good Morning to all, I'm new to the forum and have had an issue that I'm hoping someone can help me resolve. When I backup my 7130e I get an error message that states, while trying to receive the RMS database: Communication errror Data not recognized by the desktop. One what it is it, two do I really need to have it, three if I do need to how do I resolve the current issue. Thanks for any help.

  2. #2
    hayden's Avatar
    hayden no está en línea Stack Mod
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    PIN/ID
    ask
    Posts
    12,440

    Re: RMS database

    While backing up data on your BlackBerry device, you receive the following error:

    Communication Error: The data was not recognize

    Downloading and subsequently deleting items, such as ringtones or images, causes the items in the Content Store database to have a null value.
    Resolution 1

    Remove the Content Store database before backing up the data on your device.

    1. In BlackBerry Desktop Manager, double-click Backup and Restore.
    2. Click Advanced. The Handheld Databases list appears.
    3. In the Handheld Databases list, hold down the Ctrl key and select every application except Content Store.
    4. Click the arrow key to copy the applications over to the Desktop File Databases list. You may be prompted to enter your device’s password.
    5. Go to File > Save to save the back-up file.

    Resolution 2

    Clear the Content Store database.

    1. In Desktop Manager, double-click Backup and Restore.
    2. Click Advanced. The Handheld Databases list appears.
    3. In the Handheld Databases list, scroll to and select Content Store.
    4. Click Clear to clear the Content Store.

  3. #3
    cp6169's Avatar
    cp6169 no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    PIN/ID
    3056468b
    Posts
    14,661

    Re: RMS database

    Hello penguin, welcome to pinstack. Did you try what hydn suggested, are you good to go now?

  4. #4
    EricaJ1073's Avatar
    EricaJ1073 no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    10,420

    Re: RMS database

    Thanks for the solution Hydn. I've had this happen to me during an OS upgrade.


  5. #5
    minosa's Avatar
    minosa no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    24ACB58E
    Posts
    101

    Re: RMS database

    Welcome!

  6. #6
    Rcbjr's Avatar
    Rcbjr no está en línea Stack Pro
    Join Date
    May 2006
    PIN/ID
    PM - Ask
    Posts
    14,848

    Re: RMS database

    penguin1, Welcome to Pinstack, Have you done an OTA install of Google Maps for Mobile on your BB? I get this failure when doing a back up also. It's only one of the databases that it occurs on and When I restore from backup, the Google Map cached searches have to be reentered. Next time I see it I'm going to try hydn's solution and see what happens.

    Hope this helps
    Rcbjr
    You Ask, We Will Answer
    Can’t Install theme via DM?No Additional Apps Found for Your Device
    Links to Usefull KB Articles

  7. #7
    penguin1's Avatar
    penguin1 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    request
    Posts
    85

    Re: RMS database

    Ok, well I did both of the suggestions you gave me and neither worked, still getting the same message. Any ideas? Thanks for the welcome and for the help

  8. #8
    penguin1's Avatar
    penguin1 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    request
    Posts
    85

    Re: RMS database

    Yea, I did an OTA google install, but this happened long before that. So I don't know. I haven't lost anything, it's just a pain to reinstall a couple of the apps that I have because it doesn't back them up.....

  9. #9
    ljbyar's Avatar
    ljbyar no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    PIN/ID
    Ask Me
    Posts
    7,818

    Re: RMS database

    Good luck Penguin and welcome to the Stacks!

  10. #10
    penguin1's Avatar
    penguin1 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    request
    Posts
    85

    Re: RMS database

    OK, I've done all of the above and now I'm getting an error message when I backup/restore: Cannot Backup or Restore the following database: messages - data not recognized by handheld. I'm also still getting the same error when backing up the device: Communication error, data not recognized by the desktop - this referring to the original question I asked. Thanks for any further help.

  11. #11
    Budster's Avatar
    Budster no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    1

    Re: RMS database

    "When I backup my 7130e I get an error message that states, while trying to receive the RMS database: Communication errror Data not recognized by the desktop. "

    I've had this problem, again following the Google install. I backed-up my data, ignoring the error message. Then I restored from a previous back-up, then restored from the latest back-up. Problem solved - no more error messages!

  12. #12
    cp6169's Avatar
    cp6169 no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    PIN/ID
    3056468b
    Posts
    14,661

  13. #13
    penguin1's Avatar
    penguin1 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    request
    Posts
    85

    Re: RMS database

    Unfortunately this issue with the RMS database was occuring before the Google install. I did everything Hydn suggested and I lost other things. When I tried to restore data I had things missing. I have it back to the start point and everything is installed again, but the error message remains. Nothing seems to not work except when backing up info and I do that very frequently, learned a hard lesson a long time ago. Anyway, thanks for the suggestion, but been there tried that.......

  14. #14
    penguin1's Avatar
    penguin1 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    request
    Posts
    85

    Re: RMS database

    Welcome, sorry I didn't include it in the first message

  15. #15
    AL904's Avatar
    AL904 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    43

    Re: RMS database

    If one just ignores the messages, clicks "OK," and continues the backup, do you get a valid backup file?

    In other words, is this problem more of an annoyance than a serious problem?
    AL in Jacksonville Beach, FL
    Using Bold with at&t
    Forum for PTT Users

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •