Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 16

just wondering if it is safe to remove the languages that i would not use ... RIM Blackberry 71xx forum

  1. #1
    bophus's Avatar
    bophus no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    PIN/ID
    23EI19DF
    Posts
    55

    remove languages

    Advertisement



    just wondering if it is safe to remove the languages that i would not use (e.g. africaans). i am just looking for some space saving methods.

    thanks,
    -bophus
    Cellular Customer Service = Useless

  2. #2
    cp6169's Avatar
    cp6169 no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    PIN/ID
    3056468b
    Posts
    14,661

    Re: remove languages

    I have removed everything but English and Spanish. I believe I removed French, and not sure if there were any others, but didnt care, just deleted them!

  3. #3
    williamlc21's Avatar
    williamlc21 no está en línea Stack Lead
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    653

    Re: remove languages

    I deleted everything as well. Figured that I could reload the software if I need it.
    "I'm the best there is. And even if you beat me, I'm still the best." -Fast Eddie Felson(The Hustler)

  4. #4
    mrnoname's Avatar
    mrnoname no está en línea Stacker
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    2,805

    Re: remove languages

    Same here. I even deleted the Help option and brickbreaker. And if you delete something important, you can always just reload the OS.

  5. #5
    I7oobie's Avatar
    I7oobie no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    3,563

    Re: remove languages

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~
    And how do we do this?

  6. #6
    bophus's Avatar
    bophus no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    PIN/ID
    23EI19DF
    Posts
    55

    Re: remove languages

    you go into options/advanced options/applications. then you go down the list to the one you want to delete, click the wheel, choose delete.

    also, dont restart your BB when prompted to, because it will prompt you to restart after every language you delete. and that would take forever.

    -bophus
    Cellular Customer Service = Useless

  7. #7
    peguero's Avatar
    peguero no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    PIN/ID
    21958312
    Posts
    979

    Re: remove languages

    How much memory are you freeing up by removing unnecessary languages?

  8. #8
    bophus's Avatar
    bophus no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    PIN/ID
    23EI19DF
    Posts
    55

    Re: remove languages

    not sure exactly how much. but it at least frees up some space.
    Cellular Customer Service = Useless

  9. #9
    mrnoname's Avatar
    mrnoname no está en línea Stacker
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    2,805

    Re: remove languages

    Not sure how much it frees up. But its better than having apps that i will never use just eating up memory.

  10. #10
    Spamdumpster's Avatar
    Spamdumpster no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    PIN/ID
    2423c9c5
    Posts
    234

    Re: remove languages

    Just be careful to note what apps, languages, etc. you delete. I deleted memopad and tasks because I never use them and, muchto my surprise, BBCorrector stopped working. It took me a while to figure out what went wrong. I reinstalled tasks and memopad and it started working again.

  11. #11
    courtneyxrenee's Avatar
    courtneyxrenee no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    1

    Re: remove languages

    ok how in the world do you delete languages?

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    5,737

    Re: remove languages

    Quote Originally Posted by courtneyxrenee
    ok how in the world do you delete languages?
    Two ways: Go to Options>Applications (on older devices) or Options>Advanced>Applications on newer devices. Scroll to the language you want to delete and click the trackwheel, and "Delete" will be one of the choices. Second way (and easiest) is to delete them using the Application Loader in Desktop Manager.

  13. #13
    mmteam's Avatar
    mmteam no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    4

    Newbie can't find languages

    I have the BB 8310 and tried following the instructions above but don't see any languages.. on mine I had to open Settings/options/Advanced Options/Applications it builds a list and does not show languages..
    Can someone help me...

    Oh yeah, this site is the best

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    5,737
    Quote Originally Posted by mmteam View Post
    I have the BB 8310 and tried following the instructions above but don't see any languages.. on mine I had to open Settings/options/Advanced Options/Applications it builds a list and does not show languages..
    Can someone help me...

    Oh yeah, this site is the best
    Delete using the Application Loader in Desktop Manager . . .

  15. #15
    JCG3's Avatar
    JCG3 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    PIN/ID
    Ask
    Posts
    306
    i cant seem to remember where on the forums i found a post on how to delete the languages and unusable files on the OS software itself. this means like the PPT files for cingular and all the language files (natively written in english since it is developed in Canada... fyi). if i find it i will post it later. yeah the OS comes bloated anyway....

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •