Results 1 to 10 of 10

so to upload the 4.1 OS for a7100g i would have to buy the pc ... RIM Blackberry 71xx forum

  1. #1
    peter418's Avatar
    peter418 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    5

    Question question...

    Advertisement



    so to upload the 4.1 OS for a7100g i would have to buy the pc sync cable, dowload a program to up load the OS? would it be possible via bluetooth?

    one more thing...i tried to make a new group but i couldnt figure out how to select that person or any person into the group. do i have to lable that person into a catagory?

  2. #2
    sn1p3r's Avatar
    sn1p3r no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    May 2006
    PIN/ID
    Ask Me
    Posts
    2,305

    Re: question...

    No it's not possible to be done by BT and I'd like to know why you need to upgrade your OS ?
    'Cause if you don'T really need to do it I would tell you you to do it only if you are an advanced BB user 'cause you can do it yes but it's done at your own risk and if you use another OS than the one from your provider they could refuse to help you if you have any problem

    Hope this helps
    I'm french canadian so I can also help you in french, just PM me
    UNLESS it is for a BETA OS, it's at your own risk and I won't support it
    Sn1p3r

  3. #3
    peter418's Avatar
    peter418 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    5

    Re: question...

    i did not buy the BB through a provider, its unlocked. are there major differences between the 4.0 and 4.1? the OS, are they universal for all BB or specific? 4.1 allows you to take notes during a phone call does 4.0? can themes and ring tones be loaded via BT??

  4. #4
    sn1p3r's Avatar
    sn1p3r no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    May 2006
    PIN/ID
    Ask Me
    Posts
    2,305

    Re: question...

    You can't have any theme on 4.0 OS so I would sugger you the OS upgrade since 4.1 is really the best you can get from your BB
    And I never tried for BT transfer but I don'T think it's possible sorry

    Hope this helps

    BTW Welcome to the stacks
    I'm french canadian so I can also help you in french, just PM me
    UNLESS it is for a BETA OS, it's at your own risk and I won't support it
    Sn1p3r

  5. #5
    peter418's Avatar
    peter418 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    5

    Re: question...

    alright, i have no BB desktop nor sync cable. i want to get a clear inderstanding of the process. would i upgrade to OS4.1 through 4.0 desktop or is there a 3rd party program for this OR would i have to d/l desktop 4.1?

    thanks i have been reading threads and such but its a different ball game when you have one. i dont quite get the big picture on everything yet.

  6. #6
    sn1p3r's Avatar
    sn1p3r no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    May 2006
    PIN/ID
    Ask Me
    Posts
    2,305

    Re: question...

    You'll have to download desktop manager 4.1 and the device software 4.1 ( OS ) and then buy a USB cable to plug the BB
    I'm french canadian so I can also help you in french, just PM me
    UNLESS it is for a BETA OS, it's at your own risk and I won't support it
    Sn1p3r

  7. #7
    peter418's Avatar
    peter418 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    5

    Re: question...

    i still cant figure out moving addresses into new groups...do i need to edit the persons info or just select the person?

  8. #8
    Rcbjr's Avatar
    Rcbjr no está en línea Stack Pro
    Join Date
    May 2006
    PIN/ID
    PM - Ask
    Posts
    14,848

    Re: question...

    peter418, Welcome to PinStack.

    You need to Add the contact to the New Group. Edit the Group, open the menu and select Add contact.

    Let us know if there is anything else we can do to help with this problem or your BB.

    Rcbjr
    You Ask, We Will Answer
    Can’t Install theme via DM?No Additional Apps Found for Your Device
    Links to Usefull KB Articles

  9. #9
    cp6169's Avatar
    cp6169 no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    PIN/ID
    3056468b
    Posts
    14,661

  10. #10
    archer6's Avatar
    archer6 no está en línea Stack level 8
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    4,996

    Re: question...

    Quote Originally Posted by peter418
    alright, i have no BB desktop nor sync cable. i want to get a clear inderstanding of the process. would i upgrade to OS4.1 through 4.0 desktop or is there a 3rd party program for this OR would i have to d/l desktop 4.1?
    Greetings peter418, Welcome to the Forum!

    I use a 7130c as my primary BlackBerry and I have a suggestion in addition to the other good advice you've been given here.

    Go to the RIM site and download the 4.2 version of the BlackBerry Desktop Manager. I was having a problem with the reliability and consistency when doing a sync with Outlook and my BB, while using version 4.1. After I upgraded to ver. 4.2 everything works very well and very fast. In addition there are some nice new features in ver. 4.2

    In the event that you read this after you've installed ver 4.1, no problem. Just go back and download 4.2 as it will install over the earlier version no problem. You will really appreciate the benefits of the lastest version.

    Cheers..........


Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •