Results 1 to 11 of 11

I am trying to use the MDS via the JDE 4.1.0 download. When I try ... RIM Blackberry 71xx forum

  1. #1
    SweetDicJT's Avatar
    SweetDicJT no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    13

    Problem with MDS..

    Advertisement



    I am trying to use the MDS via the JDE 4.1.0 download.

    When I try to open the MDS all I get is a popup box of MS-DOS prompt and then it shuts down instantly!

    I cannot figure out how to get this program working. I've tried reinstalling JAVA, reinstalling JDE, and nothing works!

    Any suggestions?

    Once I figure this out, I'll be able to download my ringtones

    I have JDK 1.5 installed, and the simulator works fine, I just can't get the MDS to load!

    7100i
    latest OS
    Last edited by SweetDicJT; 01-16-2007 at 04:39 PM.

  2. #2
    bbtec's Avatar
    bbtec no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    PIN/ID
    23D76E42
    Posts
    48

    Re: Problem with MDS..

    The only way to get the MDS is the have it setup on a BES~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  3. #3
    SweetDicJT's Avatar
    SweetDicJT no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    13

    Re: Problem with MDS..

    Ok what does BES stand for?

    And how do I get one?

  4. #4
    miles_troope's Avatar
    miles_troope no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    145

    Re: Problem with MDS..

    Quote Originally Posted by SweetDicJT
    Ok what does BES stand for?

    And how do I get one?
    In all seriousness? Blackberry Enterprise Server. You'll need your own mail server (Exchange/Domino/Groupwise) and another box to install your BES on. And a fair whack of cash to buy the BES with, unless you want to opt for BES Express, which you can download for free from www.blackberry.com

    There's a whole lot more too it than that tho..

  5. #5
    SweetDicJT's Avatar
    SweetDicJT no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    13

    Re: Problem with MDS..

    I could imagine. all I want to do is install a custom .wav ringtone to my computer. Ever since trying this, i've researched a lot of computer garbage.

    All this because I don't want to buy the wireless service

  6. #6
    Rcbjr's Avatar
    Rcbjr no está en línea Stack Pro
    Join Date
    May 2006
    PIN/ID
    PM - Ask
    Posts
    14,848

    Re: Problem with MDS..

    SweetDicJT, I believe that that is the way the MDS simulator works. It runs in the background. I'm not positive but I believe this to be the case. Have you tried to point the BB simulator to a website after starting the MDS Simulator. You also have to have an active internet connection on your PC when using it.

    Hope this helps
    Rcbjr.
    You Ask, We Will Answer
    Can’t Install theme via DM?No Additional Apps Found for Your Device
    Links to Usefull KB Articles

  7. #7
    SweetDicJT's Avatar
    SweetDicJT no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    13

    Re: Problem with MDS..

    Im positive I have everything running, but the ms-dos box that the MDS is supposed to use shuts itself down instantly.

    I wonder if im missing some certian java application

  8. #8
    DoubleDizzle's Avatar
    DoubleDizzle no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    43

    Re: Problem with MDS..

    i have the same thing happening.. man, this is frustrating..
    i can get everything to work, aside from my browser on the simulated BB to find a webpage.. keeps saying 'there's a problem with the mobile data service'..

    GRRRR!!!!!

  9. #9
    bbtec's Avatar
    bbtec no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    PIN/ID
    23D76E42
    Posts
    48

    Re: Problem with MDS..

    Just go to mobile17.smashsworld.com and upload the file you want and then it will push you back the tone as a wap link works great way less headache~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  10. #10
    SweetDicJT's Avatar
    SweetDicJT no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    13

    Re: Problem with MDS..

    BBtec. That website looks shady.

    What you're saying is if you sign up for their service it's FREE and is a means of transfering ringtones to your phone WITHOUT a data plan?

  11. #11
    bbtec's Avatar
    bbtec no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    PIN/ID
    23D76E42
    Posts
    48

    Re: Problem with MDS..

    I've never had any problems with the site but it will require at least a basic wap connection which most service providers give you for free. You just have tomake sure you have the correct APN in the TCP section of your options on the device.if your carrier doesn't let you use wap for free just add the bb service for like 72 hours and then remove it should cost you like 5 bucks and you'll have all the ringtones you want for bargin price. PM me if you have any other questions ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •