Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 16 to 30 of 33

Originally Posted by sn1p3r 4.2 won't be available for 7100 or 7105 series since they ... RIM Blackberry 71xx forum

  1. #16
    Plaskot's Avatar
    Plaskot no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    PIN/ID
    23CD9C98
    Posts
    12

    Re: OS upgrade in BB 7105t

    Advertisement



    Quote Originally Posted by sn1p3r
    4.2 won't be available for 7100 or 7105 series since they don'T have the intel processor, don't even know if there will be one for 7130 series.
    And for your ringtones, 7105t does not accept mp3 ringtones if it was the goal of the upgrade sorry

    Hope this Helps

    Sn1p3r
    Yes, I know, but my upgrade goal was using Media Manager, not only MP3 tones, it's not important.

    Quote Originally Posted by Mark Stone
    The following is a copy/paste from a thread here at Pinstack. I can't find the thread using search right now (because I'm still half asleep) but these instructions work for transferring media files between memory-challenged BBs (which will never see a 4.2 OS) and the WWW. I use this process regularly for sending pictures to my (old) 7290:It's a bit of a process, but once you do it a few times it gets easy. I apologize to the author for not giving proper credit, but this morning I can't seem to find anything with the search box!
    Thanks Could you give me any links to the software I need?

  2. #17
    evilcaptain's Avatar
    evilcaptain no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    299

    Re: OS upgrade in BB 7105t

    Plaskot,

    What version of os do you have right now? The latest from TMO is 4.1.309.

  3. #18
    evilcaptain's Avatar
    evilcaptain no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    299

    Re: Re : OS upgrade in BB 7105t

    Quote Originally Posted by sn1p3r
    4.2 won't be available for 7100 or 7105 series since they don'T have the intel processor, don't even know if there will be one for 7130 series.
    And for your ringtones, 7105t does not accept mp3 ringtones if it was the goal of the upgrade sorry

    Hope this Helps

    Sn1p3r
    Actually there is a 4.2 version for the 7130 series. I have tried it out.

  4. #19
    sn1p3r's Avatar
    sn1p3r no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    May 2006
    PIN/ID
    Ask Me
    Posts
    2,305

    Re : Re: Re : OS upgrade in BB 7105t

    Quote Originally Posted by evilcaptain
    Actually there is a 4.2 version for the 7130 series. I have tried it out.
    You maybe tried it but not out from RIM since they are even not sure if they'll release it or not, maybe if you have good friends, with good jobs, you could have tried it
    I'm french canadian so I can also help you in french, just PM me
    UNLESS it is for a BETA OS, it's at your own risk and I won't support it
    Sn1p3r

  5. #20
    evilcaptain's Avatar
    evilcaptain no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    299

    Re: Re : Re: Re : OS upgrade in BB 7105t

    Quote Originally Posted by sn1p3r
    You maybe tried it but not out from RIM since they are even not sure if they'll release it or not, maybe if you have good friends, with good jobs, you could have tried it
    I wish I had those connections that you speak of.

    The os is from Hutch. Version 4.2.1.93.

  6. #21
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    5,737

    Re: OS upgrade in BB 7105t

    Quote Originally Posted by Plaskot
    Thanks Could you give me any links to the software I need?
    Sure: Go here http://www.mobile41.com/theme_tools.htm and find JDE 4.1.0. Downloads and installs fast. You may need to install the latest java, but I'm not sure -- the JDE will tell you if you need that particular upgrade.

    After installation of the JDE, it works like this: First, backup your content store on your real BB to somewhere on your harddrive where you know what it is. Then unplug the cable.

    Second, from your Start menu, start "MDS". A DOS screen will open and it looks like a large BAT file runs. Note: You have to have your internet connection open.

    Third, from your Start menu, start "Device Simulator". Another DOS screen opens, and then in a couple of seconds a simulated BB appears. I think, at this point, you can change the simulation to your BB, but I've never had to do it so I'm not sure how -- but it should be eezy. However, I'm 99 percent sure you don't have to have matching units for this to work, since in real life you can back up from one BB and restore to another model.

    Fourth, simulate a USB connection. From the top menu on the simulator, choose "Simulate" and then "USB Cable Connection".

    Fifth, start your Desktop Manager. It will respond as though the simulation is an actual BB! Then use the Desktop Manager to restore the content store that you backed up in step "First" to the simulation.

    Sixth, using the simulation, surf around the internet to pictures/ringtones/etc you may like, and download them to the simulation.

    Seventh, use the Desktop Manager to back up the content store from the Simulation. Then shut down all the programs, including MDS, the Simulation, and the desktop manager.

    Eighth, connect your real BB via USB to the computer, start Desktop Manager, and restore the content store you backed up from the simulation in step "Seventh".

    Voila! Pix and other stuff transferred to your pre-4.2 device!

    Note: When you do a restore operation, it always erases current data before restoring. That's why it's essential to back up the real BB into the simulation, then the simulation back into the real BB, so you don't lose the stuff you already have on your real handheld.

    All this sounds complicated, but after you do it a couple of times, it's really only a few mouse clicks!
    Last edited by Mark Stone; 07-05-2007 at 04:29 PM.

  7. #22
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    5,737

    Re: Re : Re: Re : OS upgrade in BB 7105t

    Quote Originally Posted by sn1p3r
    You maybe tried it but not out from RIM since they are even not sure if they'll release it or not, maybe if you have good friends, with good jobs, you could have tried it
    4.2 for the 7130 is available at the BB download site for GSM here: https://www.blackberry.com/Downloads...E4F82F9F00E7D4 . There's a drop-down menu where you can choose 7130. To install it to a GSM handheld you would need to delete the vendor.xml file. It's v4.2.1.154 --

  8. #23
    Plaskot's Avatar
    Plaskot no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    PIN/ID
    23CD9C98
    Posts
    12

    Re: OS upgrade in BB 7105t

    Thanks Mark

  9. #24
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    5,737

    Re: OS upgrade in BB 7105t

    Quote Originally Posted by Plaskot
    Thanks Mark
    You're welcome, but thanks really belongs to the author of the piece I quoted earlier in the thread -- if I can figure out who it is, cuz I still can't find the quote. Anyone know this person?

  10. #25
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    5,737

    Re: OS upgrade in BB 7105t

    Found him -- I think it was posted here first by a stacker named HuwSy, but he (or she) says thay got it from BBForums. Anyway, whoever, good thinking!

  11. #26
    danger872's Avatar
    danger872 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    2401D9F3
    Posts
    151

    Re: OS upgrade in BB 7105t

    Mark May You Cantact Me Please....i Am Havin Problems With My 7105t

  12. #27
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    5,737

    Re: OS upgrade in BB 7105t

    Quote Originally Posted by danger872
    Mark May You Cantact Me Please....i Am Havin Problems With My 7105t
    Hi Danger 872 -- Go ahead and post your problem in a new thread, then many ppl will be able to view it and they can help. Look forward to seeing it!

  13. #28
    mhicks0038's Avatar
    mhicks0038 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    5

    Re: OS upgrade in BB 7105t

    Mark, can you tell me where I can find software for the BB 7105 (4.1 OS)? I have an unlocked phone and am on Cingular's network....I can't find it anywhere......
    Melissa

  14. #29
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    5,737

    Re: OS upgrade in BB 7105t

    Quote Originally Posted by mhicks0038
    Mark, can you tell me where I can find software for the BB 7105 (4.1 OS)? I have an unlocked phone and am on Cingular's network....I can't find it anywhere......
    Melissa
    Right here: https://www.blackberry.com/Downloads...E4F82F9F00E7D4

    Choose the software for the 7100g, then after it's downloaded and installed on your computer, delete the "vendor.xml" file. You can use "Search" on your computer to find it. It's version 4.1.0.377, which is what I use on mine.

  15. #30
    mhicks0038's Avatar
    mhicks0038 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    5

    Re: OS upgrade in BB 7105t

    Hey Mark

    Thanks for the info! I downloaded that and was looking for the xml file....I"m sorry to be such a BB idiot but....does the file actually say 'vendor.xml'? I am not finding it.........

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •