Results 1 to 6 of 6

my old 7130e met with an accident, still functional and insurance sent me a replacement.. ... RIM Blackberry 71xx forum

  1. #1
    eugien's Avatar
    eugien no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    32ad60cc
    Posts
    4

    Question Migrating from Old BB to new BB ?

    Advertisement



    my old 7130e met with an accident, still functional and insurance sent me a replacement.. it is currently not activated... I was curious is there a simple way to migrate my phone book, themes and ringtones over to the new one from the old with out some act of god?

    any help would be awesome thanks

  2. #2
    Dirty Cash's Avatar
    Dirty Cash no está en línea Stack Pro
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    3G
    Posts
    1,566

    Re: Migrating from Old BB to new BB ?

    Shouldn't be a problem if you were performing back ups to your Berry when using DM!

    You did backup your device regularly right? This is the first question we have to ask.
    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  3. #3
    ma077146's Avatar
    ma077146 no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    PIN/ID
    3019F3E6
    Posts
    945

    Re: Migrating from Old BB to new BB ?

    If you have one of the later versions of Desktop Manager you can use the Switch Device Wizard, so long as it can communicate with your old BB.

  4. #4
    Eddie_gauge's Avatar
    Eddie_gauge no está en línea Stack level 7
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    2,970

    Re: Migrating from Old BB to new BB ?

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~since it is still functional as you say,just back up the info using dm and restore to the new phone.easy as 123.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    5,737

    Re: Migrating from Old BB to new BB ?

    Quote Originally Posted by Eddie_gauge
    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~since it is still functional as you say,just back up the info using dm and restore to the new phone.easy as 123.
    Except for themes, they don't backup/restore. If you have downloaded or created themes, like from Plazmic, you'll need to install them again on your new unit. The "blackberry.alx" themes, like the vendor themes, the "Insight" and "Dimension" and like that, are already included with your new unit so you don't need to transfer them.

  6. #6
    eugien's Avatar
    eugien no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    32ad60cc
    Posts
    4

    Re: Migrating from Old BB to new BB ?

    oh awesome .. I did not think that the dm actually backed up the ring tones and so forth .. sweet thanks for the help for a noob

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •