Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 19

Hello. Completley new at this and not sure if this question has been asked before. ... RIM Blackberry 71xx forum

  1. #1
    blistered's Avatar
    blistered no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    PIN/ID
    202DFF62
    Posts
    9

    Help with BB 7100 on Fido!

    Advertisement



    Hello. Completley new at this and not sure if this question has been asked before. I purchased an unlocked 7100 unit with OS 4.1.0.309 that was used with tMobile. I'm in Canada and my service provider is fido. The BB doesn't have a browser or any options to send MMS's. I contacted Fido and asked them how to enable these services and customer support gave me a list of settings I need to input such as "General MMS settings", "Domain Name System", "General GPRS/EDGE Settings", and "WAP" settings and user name and password info. The problem is I have no idea where to input this data as the phone didn't come with a manual and Fido can't help me anymore than they have because it's not one of their phones. Any help would be greatly appreciate. This looks like a great unit and I wish I could use it for more than just phone calls and text messaging.

    Thanks In Advance

  2. #2
    hayden's Avatar
    hayden no está en línea Stack Mod
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    PIN/ID
    ask
    Posts
    12,440

  3. #3
    blistered's Avatar
    blistered no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    PIN/ID
    202DFF62
    Posts
    9
    I went to the TCP configuration screen and typed in the proper APN information, and turned the Radio off and back on. But once back in my broswer (Opera Mini) I still get the message that "I do not have a working network connection".

    Also on top of the screen it constantly says "Data Connection Refused"

  4. #4
    hayden's Avatar
    hayden no está en línea Stack Mod
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    PIN/ID
    ask
    Posts
    12,440
    Do you has email sync via BIS with this device? If yes, login to your Carrier's BIS and resend service books.

    Also in options > (advanced options) > service book

    what services are listed there?

  5. #5
    blistered's Avatar
    blistered no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    PIN/ID
    202DFF62
    Posts
    9
    There are No Entries in Service Book.
    And I'm not sure what BIS is.

  6. #6
    sn1p3r's Avatar
    sn1p3r no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    May 2006
    PIN/ID
    Ask Me
    Posts
    2,305
    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~
    Fido in Canada does not deserve blackberry so they can't provide you with anything in bb if you would really like to use all bb function go with Rogers who own fido and provide bb

  7. #7
    Rcbjr's Avatar
    Rcbjr no está en línea Stack Pro
    Join Date
    May 2006
    PIN/ID
    PM - Ask
    Posts
    14,848
    blistered, Welcome to PinStack.

    Listen to sn1p3r, he's the Canadien Carrier Specialist, along with Lewis. Let us know if there is anything else we can do to help with your BB.

    Rcbjr
    You Ask, We Will Answer
    Can’t Install theme via DM?No Additional Apps Found for Your Device
    Links to Usefull KB Articles

  8. #8
    Lewis's Avatar
    Lewis no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    May 2006
    PIN/ID
    207BBC6D
    Posts
    1,285
    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

    I'm here!

    Sn1p3r should have said that Fido does not support BlackBerry data services.

    And unfortunately, the nature of MMS is that it operates on the data side of GSM; GPRS or EDGE, and not purely in the GSM.

    Even if you enter all the info manually, you still won't have service books. Also, you will perpetually have "data connection refused" as a banner, because you do not have a BlackBerry Data Plan, which you cannot purchase from Fido.

    The only way to use your BlackBerry for more than just voice calls and SMS messages is to switch to Rogers and buy a BlackBerry Data Plan as an add-on to a voice plan.

    Sorry to be the bearer of the "bad news".

  9. #9
    blistered's Avatar
    blistered no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    PIN/ID
    202DFF62
    Posts
    9
    So there is no way I can use my BB to even browse the internet with fido? Unfortunatley I can't switch to rogers just yet. Locked in a contract for at least another year.

  10. #10
    Rcbjr's Avatar
    Rcbjr no está en línea Stack Pro
    Join Date
    May 2006
    PIN/ID
    PM - Ask
    Posts
    14,848
    I really think you are out of luck. A little pre-purchase research would have helped. This is directed more for others than you, as it may help them. Hope you didn't pay too much for it.

    Sorry we couldn't help.

    Rcbjr.
    You Ask, We Will Answer
    Can’t Install theme via DM?No Additional Apps Found for Your Device
    Links to Usefull KB Articles

  11. #11
    MikeyXX's Avatar
    MikeyXX no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    PIN/ID
    204F0B8B
    Posts
    33
    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

    Yah, unfortunately to surf the web you need data. You could always buy the cheapest data package from Rogers to just use the BB as a data device to hold you over.

  12. #12
    blistered's Avatar
    blistered no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    PIN/ID
    202DFF62
    Posts
    9

    Won't Start

    Well now I have a new problem. My bb crashed and won't turn back on. Actually it does turn back on but all i get is the screen with the hour glass and then it turns off a gain and the led on top is red. Sometimes i get an error message before it restarts: "SWI Exception". I have no idea what it means. I've taken out my sim card and even left the batter out for a few hours and still have the same problem. I have no idea wtf is going on.

  13. #13
    blistered's Avatar
    blistered no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    PIN/ID
    202DFF62
    Posts
    9
    Just got another error when trying to turn the unit on this time it's "Device Error 411"

  14. #14
    blistered's Avatar
    blistered no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    PIN/ID
    202DFF62
    Posts
    9
    Finally started up and just when i thought it was fine it restarted again during the security software verification, and now it's going around in circles just booting up and restarting.

  15. #15
    sn1p3r's Avatar
    sn1p3r no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    May 2006
    PIN/ID
    Ask Me
    Posts
    2,305
    I'm french canadian so I can also help you in french, just PM me
    UNLESS it is for a BETA OS, it's at your own risk and I won't support it
    Sn1p3r

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •