Results 1 to 8 of 8

Hi, I have the unlimited data plan with AllTel and the basic functions of my ... RIM Blackberry 71xx forum

  1. #1
    acoosticant's Avatar
    acoosticant no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    3

    Help w/ Bad DNS on AllTel BB

    Advertisement



    Hi,

    I have the unlimited data plan with AllTel and the basic functions of my phone work fine (i.e. browser, phone, SMS, Email). However, the aftermarket software I have downloaded is not connecting to the internet and giving me a BAD DNS error. The two I am having the most problems with are RambleIM and Opera Mini.

    I did a search and found some stuff about APN with cingular but I am not thinking that applies to an Alltel phone. Can anyone help me out?

    Thanks in advance!

    P.S.
    I have already tried a battery pull.

  2. #2
    cp6169's Avatar
    cp6169 no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    PIN/ID
    3056468b
    Posts
    14,661

    Re: Help w/ Bad DNS on AllTel BB

    Hi acoosticant, welcome to pinstack. APN settings only apply to gsm BB's as you already may have figured out.

    Im bumping this because I havent experienced those errors. Maybe you could reset your firewall and see if you accidently denied connections to those apps.

  3. #3
    acoosticant's Avatar
    acoosticant no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    3

    Re: Help w/ Bad DNS on AllTel BB

    Thanks for the bump. How do I reset my firewall?

  4. #4
    cp6169's Avatar
    cp6169 no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    PIN/ID
    3056468b
    Posts
    14,661

    Re: Help w/ Bad DNS on AllTel BB

    Options, security, firewall. Open menu and choose reset settings. Again, not sure if this will help, but its worth a shot.

  5. #5
    acoosticant's Avatar
    acoosticant no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    3

    Re: Help w/ Bad DNS on AllTel BB

    No luck on the firewall reset. Do you think maybe I should just return the phone for a new one?

  6. #6
    cp6169's Avatar
    cp6169 no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    PIN/ID
    3056468b
    Posts
    14,661

  7. #7
    Grumpy's Avatar
    Grumpy no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    6

    Re: Help w/ Bad DNS on AllTel BB

    I'm with Alltel I'm getting BAD DNS for Jive Talk and IM+, but Opera Mini works fine.

    It was all working until this morning.

  8. #8
    cliffr39's Avatar
    cliffr39 no está en línea Stack level 7
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    PIN/ID
    317ASKME
    Posts
    3,064

    Re: Help w/ Bad DNS on AllTel BB

    I wonder if they block the ports or something...
    ~A BlackBerry without a data plan is just a berry without the crack.~
    Links to common questions.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •