Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 25

newie question. i have a 7100g and when i plug in my usb cable to ... RIM Blackberry 71xx forum

  1. #1
    sluggo82's Avatar
    sluggo82 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    34

    help

    Advertisement



    newie question. i have a 7100g and when i plug in my usb cable to my pc nothing happens. i have downloaded desktop manager, so i don't know what the problem is.

  2. #2
    cherrichiodo's Avatar
    cherrichiodo no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    ATA
    Posts
    17,164

    Re: help

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

    What do you mean nothing happens?

    Do you mean that dm doesn't connect to bb? Maybe u have a bad usb cable?

  3. #3
    icancn2u's Avatar
    icancn2u no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    722

    Re: help

    I had an issue like this, I reinstalled the device OS and DM and everything worked fine. I would have thought it was a bad usb cable, execpt it was working on my camera.

  4. #4
    MotoUp's Avatar
    MotoUp no está en línea BES Pro
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    3,360

    Re: help

    Have you gone into the connection settings of DM to make sure you have it set to the right USB port?

  5. #5
    sluggo82's Avatar
    sluggo82 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    34

    Re: help

    i'm new with my bb, so i don't know what DM is. i have it plugged in, and the usb cable is fine because it's charging my bb. but the screen that shows when you plug your bb into the pc, the one that has the pc and bb pic on it, on my bb screen does not show. i want to be able to put themes on my bb but cannot do so.

  6. #6
    MotoUp's Avatar
    MotoUp no está en línea BES Pro
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    3,360

    Re: help

    DM is Desktop Manager. It is the software you need to use to sync and charge your Blackberry. If you bought it new, the software should have come with it.

    If you don't have the software you can download it from your provider. Who is your provider?

  7. #7
    sluggo82's Avatar
    sluggo82 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    34

    Re: help

    I have ATT. If 4.1.0.556 is the newest DM, I have that.

  8. #8
    MotoUp's Avatar
    MotoUp no está en línea BES Pro
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    3,360

    Re: help

    So if you run Desktop Manager and your Blackberry is plugged in, does DM show that it's connected? If not, go to Options > Connection Settings, and you should see a USB: #######. If you dont' see that, click the detect button.

  9. #9
    sluggo82's Avatar
    sluggo82 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    34

    Re: help

    I can't even find where the hell dm is on my pc, hah.

  10. #10
    sluggo82's Avatar
    sluggo82 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    34

    Re: help

    Not to mention I can't find connection settings under options. Sorry, still real new to this.

  11. #11
    MotoUp's Avatar
    MotoUp no está en línea BES Pro
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    3,360

    Re: help

    Well, as long as you have installed it, it should be in your program list. How did you check the version, by looking in add/remove programs?

  12. #12
    sluggo82's Avatar
    sluggo82 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    34

    Re: help

    No, thats what i downloaded from cingular/att. If I'm searching on my pc for dm, what is the exact name I would search for?

  13. #13
    MotoUp's Avatar
    MotoUp no está en línea BES Pro
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    3,360

    Re: help

    Did you install it once you downloaded it? It is called Blackberry Desktop Manager.

  14. #14
    sluggo82's Avatar
    sluggo82 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    34

    Re: help

    Yeah, I installed it. I can't find desktop manager, but I have something called device manager, and when I try to open it, nothing happens.

  15. #15
    MotoUp's Avatar
    MotoUp no está en línea BES Pro
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    3,360

    Re: help

    Go to My Computer, and see if you have a C:\Program Files\Research In Motion directory. If you don't, reinstall the software you downloaded from AT&T.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •