Results 1 to 7 of 7

I've got a 7130e with Sprint. I'm only using it as an organizer/phone until the ... RIM Blackberry 71xx forum

  1. #1
    dortgies's Avatar
    dortgies no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    3

    Question Can I stop the data connection on a 7130e

    Advertisement



    I've got a 7130e with Sprint. I'm only using it as an organizer/phone until the first of the year when I'll sign up for a data plan.

    Sprint charges a per kb for casual data usage. How do I stop all data access?

  2. #2
    Lewis's Avatar
    Lewis no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    May 2006
    PIN/ID
    207BBC6D
    Posts
    1,285

    Re: Can I stop the data connection on a 7130e

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

    You can't use data unless you have a BlackBerry Data Plan. So, if your BB does not display "data connection refused" as a banner on the home screen, then you've already got a BlackBerry Data Plan.

    If you don't want to use any data at all, call Sprint and have data removed / blocked on your account. That's the ONLY way to be 100% sure that it won't happen.

  3. #3
    N8DBB's Avatar
    N8DBB no está en línea Stack level 8
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    PIN/ID
    7BCE3C88
    Posts
    6,028

    Re: Can I stop the data connection on a 7130e

    Not sure all operating systems are this way, but try this:

    Options then Network

    At the top do you have the ability to turn Data Services On And Off?

    I do on the 8700, but I am running a hybrid of 8707 and 8700 OS, so not too sure if all OS are the same.

  4. #4
    cp6169's Avatar
    cp6169 no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    PIN/ID
    3056468b
    Posts
    14,661

    Re: Can I stop the data connection on a 7130e

    Hi dort, welcome to pinstack. Keep in mind it is required that a BB user of Sprint-Nextel will automatically be added onto their plan a BB plan if they dont subscribe to one. It may be a few months before they catch it, but they will catch it.

    Lewis had a good point by blocking data, but its not possible on Sprint-Nextel. They may be the only carrier to require a data plan on a BB, Im not sure though.

  5. #5
    Rcbjr's Avatar
    Rcbjr no está en línea Stack Pro
    Join Date
    May 2006
    PIN/ID
    PM - Ask
    Posts
    14,848

    Re: Can I stop the data connection on a 7130e

    dortgies, Welcome to PinStack.

    Let us know if there is anything else we can do to help with your BB.

    Rcbjr
    You Ask, We Will Answer
    Can’t Install theme via DM?No Additional Apps Found for Your Device
    Links to Usefull KB Articles

  6. #6
    Lewis's Avatar
    Lewis no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    May 2006
    PIN/ID
    207BBC6D
    Posts
    1,285

    Re: Can I stop the data connection on a 7130e

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

    RC: that's a useful option, and it's not on my 7130g from Rogers. However, it is on the Rogers Pearl. (or at least the handheld OS code.)

    The only reason I mention having the carrier block data is because I had to do it! Before my BB days, with a moto, I would never use data, but occasionally a finger would hit the browser hot key, and the bill would have pay-per-use data charges. So I called and had data permanently blocked, to avoid those charges.

  7. #7
    dortgies's Avatar
    dortgies no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    3

    Re: Can I stop the data connection on a 7130e

    Thanks for the info, I don't have the options -- network-- data off menu option. I'll have to wait and see if Sprint will require a BB data plan.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •