Don't hurt me too bad here. I'm a newbie to the forums, and my wife ... RIM Blackberry 71xx forum

kb0npw no está en línea Stack level 1

Question 7130c questions

Advertisement

Don't hurt me too bad here. I'm a newbie to the forums, and my wife and I are both receiving refurbed 7130c units tomorrow from AT&T. I have read a lot about them to get ready, but still have some unanswered questions that I'm sure someone will be able to answer.

1) We only bought a voice plan. Will we be able to upload wallpapers, themes, and mp3 ringtones to the device using the Desktop Manager? If not, can these items be sent via an SMS message or as an email attachment, since all cell phones already have an email address.

2) On the mp3 ringtones, what rate is best to conserve space on the device, but still sound good. I have Cool Edit Pro, so I can chop them down and save them in any format and rate.

3) Is there any way to upgrade the memory so I can get it to hold more songs? I plan on getting BerryTunes for it.

Thanks a bunch. We are so excited to get these puppies and play with them.

Rcbjr no está en línea Stack Pro
    PIN/ID
    PM - Ask

Re: 7130c questions

Welcome to PinStack kb0npw.

1) It really depends on the OS. Only devices with OS 4.2 can utilize the Desktop Manager Media Manager feature to put images and Audio Files on the device. There is a 4.2 version available for the AT&T 7130 so your are alright there. But since the 7130 doesn't have a media card you will be limited to 2.8 Mbyte Ringtones and not full songs. As to themes you can install them using the Apps Loader unless if they are created for Desktop Manager Installation. Those created for OTA installation will be a little more difficult but it may be possible if you can get all the files necessary.

3) No, that is a hardware limit and can be increased.

Can't help with number 2.

Let us know if there is anything else we can do to help with this problem or your BB.

Rcbjr
    You Ask, We Will Answer