Results 1 to 8 of 8

I recently purchased a refurbished 7100t, it is branded for T-Mobile but I live in ... RIM Blackberry 71xx forum

  1. #1
    thegreatme's Avatar
    thegreatme no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    2

    7100t question

    Advertisement



    I recently purchased a refurbished 7100t, it is branded for T-Mobile but I live in Canada and the phone was unlocked. a few questions.

    1. I popped in my sim and it works, but it sais "data connection refused" but I can receive text messages and send, and also make and receive calls.

    2. I dont know what software to download from the blackberry website.

    Any insight would be greatly appreciated. Thank you very much in advance.

  2. #2
    glehman85's Avatar
    glehman85 no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    24989104
    Posts
    2,673

    Re: 7100t question

    sounds like you need a blackberry data plan added on. do you have one?

  3. #3
    glehman85's Avatar
    glehman85 no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    24989104
    Posts
    2,673

    Re: 7100t question

    oh, and welcome to pinstack

  4. #4
    thegreatme's Avatar
    thegreatme no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    2

    Re: 7100t question

    Quote Originally Posted by glehman85
    sounds like you need a blackberry data plan added on. do you have one?
    nope, don't have one, I was going to use it just for txt messaging and phone calls. I bought the phone because it was cheap. I paid $135 for it so am happy with it so far, but was wondering if there is more I can do with it, I tried downloading the software form the website, I believe it was 4.2 but it did not work. Just wondering what I exactly need.

  5. #5
    cryevisu123's Avatar
    cryevisu123 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    PIN/ID
    20488958
    Posts
    21

    Re: 7100t question

    I had the same problem, I bought a telcel phone and popped in my TMobile card; it worked but I got the "data connection refused" error messgae. I called TMobile and was told that I needed to have a bb account. I added the plan, and voila, it's works like charm...

    Just interested to know have you tried to upgrade your OS? Any problems?
    -cryevisu123-

  6. #6
    cheapbast's Avatar
    cheapbast no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    13

    Re: 7100t question

    Quote Originally Posted by thegreatme
    I recently purchased a refurbished 7100t, it is branded for T-Mobile but I live in Canada and the phone was unlocked. a few questions.

    1. I popped in my sim and it works, but it sais "data connection refused" but I can receive text messages and send, and also make and receive calls.

    2. I dont know what software to download from the blackberry website.

    Any insight would be greatly appreciated. Thank you very much in advance.
    Hi there... the "data connection refused" is only for DATA ie. email / internet etc.... If you want to access the internet / email, as far as I know, you have no choice (with Rogers) but to get a data plan / add-on. For Rogers, the t-mobile phone works best with the Rogers BB OS 4.1... there are lots of posts in the "RIM handheld OS" section which will take you step-by-step on how to add the new OS.

    the main key is to find a file on your computer called "Vendor.xml"... I'll post a few thread links in a few minutes.

  7. #7
    sn1p3r's Avatar
    sn1p3r no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    May 2006
    PIN/ID
    Ask Me
    Posts
    2,305

    Re: 7100t question

    Quote Originally Posted by thegreatme
    nope, don't have one, I was going to use it just for txt messaging and phone calls. I bought the phone because it was cheap. I paid $135 for it so am happy with it so far, but was wondering if there is more I can do with it, I tried downloading the software form the website, I believe it was 4.2 but it did not work. Just wondering what I exactly need.
    OS 4.2 won't work on a 7100 series since it's the new OS for the pearl(8100) and since you're a new user I would not consider upgrading OS until you get used a bit with the BB 'cause Rogers won't support any problem on a OS other than their one

    And it's done at your own risk so be careful and do a back up
    I'm french canadian so I can also help you in french, just PM me
    UNLESS it is for a BETA OS, it's at your own risk and I won't support it
    Sn1p3r

  8. #8
    cheapbast's Avatar
    cheapbast no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    13

    Re: 7100t question

    Quote Originally Posted by gwgaston
    Just follow the instructions, remember to find & delete the "vendor" file, and d/l the latest 4.1 OS file from Rogers, and you should have no problem!

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •