Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 31 to 45 of 47

Originally Posted by Steve-hose Maybe try the Bell Mobility OS, I have it on my ... BlackBerry 8830 forum

  1. #31
    rthall's Avatar
    rthall no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    2

    Re: Sprint's BlackBerry 8830 w/GPS - Full Specs & details

    Advertisement



    Quote Originally Posted by Steve-hose
    Maybe try the Bell Mobility OS, I have it on my comp:


    It's CDMA and seems to work just fine and I will keep it until Sprint posts theirs.
    Hey, thanks man. I was just posting out of frustration last week. To come in and find a possible solution is fantastic. I am downloading as I type this and will let you all know if it was successful. My number porting date is not until the 16th so I won't know for sure until then.

  2. #32
    endopolitan's Avatar
    endopolitan no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    1

    Re: Sprint's BlackBerry 8830 w/GPS - Full Specs & details

    I am confused because every where I look on the internet the specs on the 8830 differ regarding the Unlocked SIM. For example...mobiletechreview.com/phones/BlackBerry-8830.htm says the CON of this phone is that you can only use the Vodafone SIM using the Sprint International Rate. Can someone tell me which is correct?

  3. #33
    miamibest's Avatar
    miamibest no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    2

    Re: Sprint's BlackBerry 8830 w/GPS - Full Specs & details

    Quote Originally Posted by endopolitan
    I am confused because every where I look on the internet the specs on the 8830 differ regarding the Unlocked SIM. For example...mobiletechreview.com/phones/BlackBerry-8830.htm says the CON of this phone is that you can only use the Vodafone SIM using the Sprint International Rate. Can someone tell me which is correct?
    The sprint bb 8830 is unlocked, but will ONLY work with SIM card's outside the US, b/c the GSM network it runs on doesn't support the GSM network in the US. The article you are refering to is talking about the Verizon bb 8830, which is locked to Vodafone (which owns i think 45% of Verizon).

    Hope that helps.

  4. #34
    cp6169's Avatar
    cp6169 no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    PIN/ID
    3056468b
    Posts
    14,661

    Re: Sprint's BlackBerry 8830 w/GPS - Full Specs & details

    Welcome to pinstack endoplitan, and thank you miamibest, you are correct.

  5. #35
    racton's Avatar
    racton no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    2

    Re: Sprint's BlackBerry 8830 w/GPS - Full Specs & details

    I recently purchased the Blackberry 8830 from Verizon and to my surprise, they had crippled the GPS capability. It only works with 911 in an emergency. I guess now I will have to go to Sprint in order to get full GPS capability.

  6. #36
    bubbatex's Avatar
    bubbatex no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    8

    Re: Sprint's BlackBerry 8830 w/GPS - Full Specs & details

    I am thinking about the 8830 from Sprint. I had a Treo and now have a Q and I use conference calling quite a bit. The Treo did it well, WM does not do it well at all. How does it work on a BB device - particularly the 8830.

    OK - never mind - I went to Sprint and pulled the User Guide. It looks pretty good, much like the Treo.
    Last edited by bubbatex; 07-29-2007 at 02:09 PM.

  7. #37
    imola's Avatar
    imola no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    1

    Re: Sprint's BlackBerry 8830 w/GPS - Full Specs & details

    Hi there.. could anyone help me out woth regarding Key Store password? and how to disable that on 8830? Is that possible to do that without the password? Is this possible on desktop manager?
    please reply.. Thanks

  8. #38
    Walt750's Avatar
    Walt750 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    2

    Thumbs up Verizon BlackBerry 8830 GPS Work Around

    Well a kind of workaround.... if you need the GPS function read on....

    I just got my VZW 8830. I'm not wowed by BB's because I have had a Pocket PC Mobile for years.
    The best device I've had is the Samsung i730. WM5 Upgraded - GPS - 3G - WIFI - BT - AD2P (Stereo).
    I moded the hell out of it. I'm finding with the BB 8830 this is not so!!

    Anyway back to my comment ... I have a HOLUX Slim240 BT GPS unit for my Pocket PC.

    I hate the bastards at VZW trying to make another buck by disabling the GPS.

    I say F&@#'em ... I tried my Holux.

    It paired and more importantly it works with BB Maps. It tracks just fine.

    So for $80 more you can have what VZW won't give you for free.

    BTW its about the size of a desk eraser .. on a laynard. 8 hours on a charge.

    Have fun!

  9. #39
    dengar100's Avatar
    dengar100 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    8

    Re: Sprint's BlackBerry 8830 w/GPS - Full Specs & details

    Can you do this with a Mac?

  10. #40
    emeck's Avatar
    emeck no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    PIN/ID
    32bce238
    Posts
    4

    Re: Sprint's BlackBerry 8830 w/GPS - Full Specs & details

    Quote Originally Posted by cp6169
    Definitely not supported, at least I cant get it to work. What steps did you take to make this work.
    My wife just got one this past weekend and she got a Jabra BT135 and it works fine. It is voice activated. Pretty cool!!

  11. #41
    tstrike's Avatar
    tstrike no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    153

    Re: Sprint's BlackBerry 8830 w/GPS - Full Specs & details

    I got my 8830 from Sprint last night and it kicks so much ***....

    This is truly a classy Blackberry.....

    Just waiting for my Micro SD (I bought the 4GB one) so that I can really use my BB to its fullest


    The music is perfect...

    The video is VERY VERY VERY cool

    I dont save the files I just view them when I click on the link... Does that video file go into a Temp directory until I am done with it?
    Last edited by tstrike; 10-22-2007 at 11:02 PM.

  12. #42
    tstrike's Avatar
    tstrike no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    153

    Re: Sprint's BlackBerry 8830 w/GPS - Full Specs & details

    Ok after 3 weeks I am SO pleased with my Sprint 8830. I broke the door for my microSD chip and Sprint immediately replaced my 8830 without question. I went to my local service store and they were so friendly.

    Since I have had my Sprint 8830:

    -- 3 beta tests of 3 very cool applications
    -- Went to Amsterdam and Norway with NO dropped calls or dropped data connections (Vonafone in Amsterdamn, NetCom in Norway)
    -- Despite sleek design I have not dropped this phone, its a very handyable smartphone
    -- Qwerty is actually pretty nice and responsive


    Sprint has been very good to me so far

  13. #43
    drib0704's Avatar
    drib0704 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    11

    Re: Sprint's BlackBerry 8830 w/GPS - Full Specs & details

    Verizon needs to get on board and stop milking us for all we're worth!

  14. #44
    scarletk's Avatar
    scarletk no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    PIN/ID
    23D5CCCA
    Posts
    2
    I have been able to use this as a bluetooth modem with my Sony Vaio UX380n with no problem

    Even up the speed to the max
    With adjusting the connection speed

    Perhaps Sprint does not have technical support for
    Bluetooth dialing
    Quote Originally Posted by ALBoZF1N3ST View Post
    NOTE: This device does not support Bluetooth Dial-Up-Networking.

    Damn that sucks.. lol i was kinda hoping for that but oh well i guess usb isnt so bad lol...

  15. #45
    bfo's Avatar
    bfo
    bfo no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    3

    Re: Sprint's BlackBerry 8830 w/GPS - Full Specs & details

    Salesman told me 8Gig... Incorrect ?


    Quote Originally Posted by cp6169 View Post
    Yep, misprint. all the collateral I have says 2gb.

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •