Results 1 to 13 of 13

Hey Pinstackers-- it's been a while since I've been on because I've had serious trouble ... BlackBerry 8830 forum

  1. #1
    adfrance's Avatar
    adfrance no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    PIN/ID
    318687C2
    Posts
    24

    Please Respond ASAP!! It's important! BB8830 to Centro

    Advertisement



    Hey Pinstackers-- it's been a while since I've been on because I've had serious trouble with my 8830 and gave up on blackberries entirely. lol
    I couldn't last long and have decided I miss the entire "smartphone" scene-
    A friend of mine on ATT has a palm centro that he doesn't like and he wants a blackberry.
    I have a bb8830 world that I don't like and I want a centro.

    My question is this:

    Is it possible for us to do a trade?
    both phones are offered for both services, and both have places for sim cards.

    ???
    Your prompt responses would be amazing because we're in the process of making the trade right now, lol

    Thanks pinstackers!!!
    da-ANDii-lion <3 RaWr

  2. #2
    EricaJ1073's Avatar
    EricaJ1073 no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    10,420
    I know its possible for you to transfer information from the Centro to the BlackBerry.

    The problem is that the 8830 will not work on AT&T because that is not a CDMA carrier. What carrier is the Centro on?
    ~via smartphone mobile.pinstack.com~

  3. #3
    adfrance's Avatar
    adfrance no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    PIN/ID
    318687C2
    Posts
    24
    Att
    da-ANDii-lion <3 RaWr

  4. #4
    MotoUp's Avatar
    MotoUp no está en línea BES Pro
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    3,360
    The 8830 should work on ATT as long as you get it unlocked. It is a world phone, and you can put a SIM card in it to make it work on GSM.

  5. #5
    adfrance's Avatar
    adfrance no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    PIN/ID
    318687C2
    Posts
    24
    how do you unlock it?
    and would the centro work for sprint?
    Thank you all so much
    da-ANDii-lion <3 RaWr

  6. #6
    EricaJ1073's Avatar
    EricaJ1073 no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    10,420
    The 8830 will only work on international GSM carriers, not US GSM carriers.
    ~via smartphone mobile.pinstack.com~

  7. #7
    EricaJ1073's Avatar
    EricaJ1073 no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    10,420
    That specific Centro will only work on GSM carriers if its a GSM Centro. You would have to buy a CDMA Centro from Sprint to get it to work on Sprint.
    ~via smartphone mobile.pinstack.com~

  8. #8
    MrLight460's Avatar
    MrLight460 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    PIN/ID
    31CCF15F
    Posts
    30
    ^^what she said.
    Tim

  9. #9
    reddrvgon's Avatar
    reddrvgon no está en línea Stack level 8
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    PIN/ID
    ask me
    Posts
    6,417
    Quote Originally Posted by EricaJ1073 View Post
    The 8830 will only work on international GSM carriers, not US GSM carriers.
    ~via smartphone mobile.pinstack.com~
    If its a world phone, why wouldn't it work on gsm carriers within the US? That's a bit redundant isn't it?
    ~via smartphone mobile.pinstack.com~

  10. #10
    EricaJ1073's Avatar
    EricaJ1073 no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    10,420
    http://na.blackberry.com/eng/devices...b_tab_overview

    From what I got from the specs listed at the above site, it stated that the GSM portion of the phone is able to roam internationally.


  11. #11
    tbonanno's Avatar
    tbonanno no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    57
    Quote Originally Posted by reddrvgon View Post
    If its a world phone, why wouldn't it work on gsm carriers within the US? That's a bit redundant isn't it?
    ~via smartphone mobile.pinstack.com~
    It's a World phone in that it works on SPRINT in the US, Canada, and Mexico (CDMA bands) and it will work in other countries on the GSM International bands (which are different from the GSM North America bands) using the unlocked GSM SIM card slot. This is about as good as its going to get for a CDMA phone. The reason they designed the 8830 this way is so that Verizon and Sprint customers couldn't buy the 8830 and run over and put a T-Mobile or ATT card in the phone for North America use. At least Sprint has truly "unlocked" the GSM to use with any carrier on those other international bands. Verizon on the other hand, locked its 8830 SIM slot so that it only worked with its partner, Vodafone, overseas. At least this was the case several months ago. Verizon may have changed it now.

    Tony
    Last edited by tbonanno; 02-26-2009 at 09:02 PM.
    Tony Bonanno Photography, LLC
    Santa Fe, New Mexico USA

  12. #12
    reddrvgon's Avatar
    reddrvgon no está en línea Stack level 8
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    PIN/ID
    ask me
    Posts
    6,417
    Now that's just dirty tactics...
    ~via smartphone mobile.pinstack.com~

  13. #13
    tbonanno's Avatar
    tbonanno no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    57
    Quote Originally Posted by reddrvgon View Post
    Now that's just dirty tactics...
    ~via smartphone mobile.pinstack.com~
    I have to admit, I was not pleased that I could not use a GSM card while in Mexico due to the lack of the NA GSM bands in the 8830, but I'm pleased that I can use the GSM slot with other carriers in Europe without any hassle. Verizon on the other hand, no go (except for Vodafone).
    Tony Bonanno Photography, LLC
    Santa Fe, New Mexico USA

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •