Hi all, I've been browsing many BB forums, but Pinstack is the only site that ... BlackBerry 8830 forum

dukesterpin no está en línea Stack level 1

New 8830 user question

Advertisement

Hi all,

I've been browsing many BB forums, but Pinstack is the only site that has been bookmarked!

Just wanted to say thanks in advance for all the help as I'm still new to BB. To compound the challenge, my wife (not technical at all) has been talked, by me, into switching over to a BB.

FYI...I just signed up to another 2-yr contract with Sprint and got myself an 8830 (from an 8703e) and my wife an 8130 (from a Samsung A900).

Please help with the following initial two questions:

1. My new 8830 came with V4.2.2.123 & Platform 3.0.0.64 loaded. However, from reading other threads, I understand that there's a newer version available: V4.2.2.176 & Platform 3.0.0.76. Do I need to upgrade my OS already?

2. Is there a way to copy the "Ringer_RoomService" ringtone from my 8703e to the 8830?

Again, thanks in advance for reading and your help!

tavella81 no está en línea Stack level 3

Re: New 8830 user question

I'm not sure about the ringtone, but there are usually bug fixes in the upgrades and I would recommend upgrading the device. Make sure you backup your data first.

Quote Originally Posted by tavella81 View Post
    I'm not sure about the ringtone, but there are usually bug fixes in the upgrades and I would recommend upgrading the device. Make sure you backup your data first.
    Thanks for your response. Hopefully, someone else will chime in on the ringer question.

ptrtwitch no está en línea Stack level 2
    PIN/ID
    32BF543B

Quote Originally Posted by dukesterpin View Post

2. Is there a way to copy the "Ringer_RoomService" ringtone from my 8703e to the 8830?
    The way I've ever gotten ringtones from a bb to another is sending it in a file from your computer.

IDK if this will help much.
    Last edited by ptrtwitch; 12-30-2007 at 03:37 PM. Reason: typo