Results 1 to 9 of 9

i just recently got my first bb (7100i from nextel) and had a question. i ... BlackBerry 8830 forum

  1. #1
    hondarider4life's Avatar
    hondarider4life no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    PIN/ID
    nope!
    Posts
    10

    i want a new bb!

    Advertisement



    i just recently got my first bb (7100i from nextel) and had a question.

    i want to get the 8830 curve edition from sprint.

    the problem i forsee myself running into is this: i found one on ebay for a decent price and was wondering that if i just switch the sim cards will the curve function as it would normally (minus the direct connect of course)? or will it do some weird voodoo stuuf and just not work at all and ill be out that much more money?

  2. #2
    cp6169's Avatar
    cp6169 no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    PIN/ID
    3056468b
    Posts
    14,661
    Unfortunately you cant swap sims because the 8830 is a cdma Sprint phone that doesnt run on a sim, the sim in it is only used for international travel. Plus you would need to contact Sprint to get a cdma rate plan.

    Edit: I see you said Curve but wrote 8830, just an fyi the 8830 is the world edition and the 8330 is the Curve.

  3. #3
    bsjmcconnell's Avatar
    bsjmcconnell no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    PIN/ID
    4029C610
    Posts
    923
    You can just order the phone off of ebay and call your SPRINT CSR and give them the "serial number" of tour new phone and they can switch it for ya. All of your address phone numbers and such can be switched through your BB Desktop manager "Switch Device Wizard"




    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  4. #4
    bsjmcconnell's Avatar
    bsjmcconnell no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    PIN/ID
    4029C610
    Posts
    923
    I have switched from NEXTEL to SPRINT and it is a pretty easy process.

    You will have to re-up your contract though
    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  5. #5
    hondarider4life's Avatar
    hondarider4life no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    PIN/ID
    nope!
    Posts
    10
    Quote Originally Posted by bsjmcconnell View Post
    I have switched from NEXTEL to SPRINT and it is a pretty easy process.

    You will have to re-up your contract though
    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

    yeah thats what i figured but i already did that with nextel not even 2 months ago so i have abrand new contract for a bb that is over 4 yrs old! loloh well i can always just sitch to a new carrier and get a new phone but i hate those damn early termination fees!!!!

    thank you for all yalls advice!

  6. #6
    hondarider4life's Avatar
    hondarider4life no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    PIN/ID
    nope!
    Posts
    10
    but i do have to thank yall for the quick responses cause i was about to spend 200 on a new bb that i wouldnt even be able to use!

  7. #7
    Latinalicious's Avatar
    Latinalicious no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    May 2008
    PIN/ID
    31CF0982
    Posts
    20
    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~Switching from Nextel to Sprint isn't brain surgery, since the two companies merged {or better yet Sprint bought out Nextel} switching shouldn't have been a hassle or even the "early termintion fee" shouldn't even been mentioned. The contract always gets extented but I've been with Sprint for 12 yrs and I wouldn't leave them if those other companies paid me. Who else would offer free nites & weekends starting at 5pm, NO ONE! I'm a happy Sprint customer!!!

  8. #8
    dimas999's Avatar
    dimas999 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    6
    How Long does it takes to switch?

  9. #9
    beathuh's Avatar
    beathuh no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    31bb7c46
    Posts
    17
    i switched when the 8830 came out, never had an early termination fee and was just a matter of walking in the store and saying hey i want to switch from nextel to sprint, took maybe 20 mins, actually took longer to transfer my contacts lol, i had the 7100 for a while before i switched but am so glad i did, so much more you can do with the 8830, so i lost the ptt, big deal, id rather not have it to have the capabilities of the world edition( or any other one of sprints bb's), im sure it would be just as easy over the phone if you already had the new bb

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •