Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 16

Hey all, I have had a hell of a time trying to replace Blackberry Messenger. ... BlackBerry 8830 forum

  1. #1
    johnnykilo's Avatar
    johnnykilo no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    7

    cannot replace Blackberry Messenger

    Advertisement



    Hey all, I have had a hell of a time trying to replace Blackberry Messenger. I deleted it because I use Office Communicator. Well I have since switched my 8830 for an 8330 Curve. (BTW we are both on Verizon). No the person that has my old 8830 is trying to use Blackberry Messenger but I cannot get it loaded back on. I installed Blackberry Desktop and tried to add it from Application Loader. The only applications that show in the list are the 3rd party applications. I went to blackberry.com/messenger from the 8830 and I kept getting errors to the effect "your device does not have the correct setup." Any ideas??

  2. #2
    DjSmooth's Avatar
    DjSmooth no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    2,080
    From your BB Browser, go to the Home page and choose:

    Applications > Staying In Touch > Scroll down and choose Blackberry Messenger

  3. #3
    johnnykilo's Avatar
    johnnykilo no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    7
    Thanks for the help, but I have already tried to do this. The website tells me "Sorry, your device does not meet the system requirements that are needed to support Blackberry Messenger for software versions 4.0 and 4.1" Maybe i need to upgrade the OS? I thought i did so a few weeks ago. On a side note, how exactly do you upgrade the OS? Do you just download the BB Desktop from blackberry.com and it loads automatically?

  4. #4
    Amigotek's Avatar
    Amigotek no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    PIN/ID
    21D7B3C6
    Posts
    1,569
    You need to download the OS for the unit as well (you don't have to upgrade it but you do need at least the same version) and install it on your PC. Once you have it installed on your PC, you can then re-add messenger to the unit.

    Zo

  5. #5
    johnnykilo's Avatar
    johnnykilo no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    7
    Thanks Amigo, I have tried this as well. When i go into application loader only 3rd party software shows up. None of the RIM applications are in the add/remove list.

  6. #6
    rufy's Avatar
    rufy no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    PIN/ID
    -
    Posts
    28
    try to upgrade it, and make sure that you thick/enable bbm on app list

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  7. #7
    johnnykilo's Avatar
    johnnykilo no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    7
    When you say upgrade you are referring to upgrading the OS correct? I have tried this as well and no suck luck. I downloaded the latest 8830 software from Verizon through a 3rd party site. (smithmicro.com).

  8. #8
    woodi68's Avatar
    woodi68 no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    woodi68
    Posts
    660
    Hmmm... I'm thinking that in loading the new OS something isn't working correctly. It always gives you all the OS pieces once you've loaded the OS on the PC and plug in the device. Perhaps a complete WIPE and reload?

  9. #9
    johnnykilo's Avatar
    johnnykilo no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    7
    I think i could be loading the OS wrong. I downloaded the latest OS software at http://vzw.smithmicro.com/blackberry/desktop.aspx. I ran the software and I guess i assumed that it would automatically update the OS. But from I can gather it never did. When I download the newest Desktop manager the OS is packaged in correct? If it is, does it automatically install or are there extra steps necessary to do so? I understand this is probably something I should have researched before posting but i appreciate your help.

  10. #10
    woodi68's Avatar
    woodi68 no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    woodi68
    Posts
    660
    Nope. That was just the Desktop Manager. Not the same as the OS for the Device. Think of the OS like Windows. Desktop Manager is just the piece of software used to install software, including a newer OS.

    Try this instead. http://vzw.smithmicro.com/blackberry/download.aspx

    Follow these instructions as well. It'll give you more themes upon installation. (Read this before starting the installation process) http://blackberryforums.pinstack.com...or_themes.html

  11. #11
    johnnykilo's Avatar
    johnnykilo no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    7
    thanks woodi, ill give it a shot and let you know

  12. #12
    kreesedup's Avatar
    kreesedup no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    PIN/ID
    30bc9b43
    Posts
    428
    I just went to app loader and checked the box with the bb messenger and it reloaded it. I deleted mine for mem space still getting my txt and call logs deleted. I was getting texts that would be deleted before I could even read them
    "This life almost didn't happen"

  13. #13
    kay2104's Avatar
    kay2104 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    23
    Quote Originally Posted by johnnykilo View Post
    Hey all, I have had a hell of a time trying to replace Blackberry Messenger. I deleted it because I use Office Communicator. Well I have since switched my 8830 for an 8330 Curve. (BTW we are both on Verizon). No the person that has my old 8830 is trying to use Blackberry Messenger but I cannot get it loaded back on. I installed Blackberry Desktop and tried to add it from Application Loader. The only applications that show in the list are the 3rd party applications. I went to blackberry.com/messenger from the 8830 and I kept getting errors to the effect "your device does not have the correct setup." Any ideas??

    Any luck Johnny? I'm having the same problem...

  14. #14
    moderncowboy's Avatar
    moderncowboy no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2008
    PIN/ID
    AskMe
    Posts
    7,297
    Try blackberry.com/messenger if you haven't already~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  15. #15
    kay2104's Avatar
    kay2104 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    23
    Tried that, but I'm getting the same message Johnny was getting:

    "Sorry, your device does not meet the system requirements that are needed to support Blackberry Messenger for software versions 4.0 and 4.1"

    Any other suggestions?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •