Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 25

Can it be locked now ?... BlackBerry 8830 forum

  1. #1
    77803503's Avatar
    77803503 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    PIN/ID
    23ec760c
    Posts
    1

    BB 8830 from Verizon ,UNlock ?

    Advertisement



    Can it be locked now ?

  2. #2
    sn1p3r's Avatar
    sn1p3r no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    May 2006
    PIN/ID
    Ask Me
    Posts
    2,305
    this device cannot be unlock, if you could be more specific on what you wanna do with it, I could be able to help
    I'm french canadian so I can also help you in french, just PM me
    UNLESS it is for a BETA OS, it's at your own risk and I won't support it
    Sn1p3r

  3. #3
    kevinchu's Avatar
    kevinchu no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by 77803503 View Post
    Can it be locked now ?
    If you're asking about unlocking it so you can use any SIM card while traveling overseas, you need to upgrade to the November 19, 2007 firmware (http://vzw.smithmicro.com/blackberry/). Verizon says that with this upgrade, you can use any SIM while overseas.

  4. #4
    Leetneo's Avatar
    Leetneo no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    PIN/ID
    316D16C7
    Posts
    712
    ~via BB-yup sure can. Lol (wap.pinstack.com)~

  5. #5
    FlashAM's Avatar
    FlashAM no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    PIN/ID
    Ask.
    Posts
    36
    I was under the impression that you needed to get an unlock code from Verizon on this, and this was said after that update was released. Are you certain that just the software will unlock the phone?

  6. #6
    FF2's Avatar
    FF2
    FF2 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    79
    I don't know about the OS version but you do have to call verizon to get a very specific code that they give you after you run a series of steps to give them a code.

    You also need a SIM card already in the device before you can do the unlock. I believe it can be any sim card and not just verizons. I got a free sim from Verizon in Jan when I purchased the phone. I did have to call their World Services (or whatever) dept for the unlock process.

  7. #7
    FlashAM's Avatar
    FlashAM no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    PIN/ID
    Ask.
    Posts
    36
    Yeah, that's what I thought. Just wanted to be sure I understood the unlocking procedure. Thanks.

  8. #8
    NautcaSprt6's Avatar
    NautcaSprt6 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    142
    Yes u have to call Verizon Global support. They will walk u through on how to unlock your phone. They ask u to punch in a few keys, they the phone asks u for a PIN number which verizon gives u.
    After that your phone will be unlocked, but will not use Tmobile or Cingular Sim cards.
    Make sure they dont charge u to unlock or for the Verizon sim card. All should be free.
    Check out the Z at www.300CForumZ.com
    Also check out my MySpace at www.MySpace.com/DJBertan

  9. #9
    Leetneo's Avatar
    Leetneo no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    PIN/ID
    316D16C7
    Posts
    712
    ~via BB glad I livin canada and have a telus one, came unlocked already, went to germany and put in tmobile sim there worked great!(wap.pinstack.com)~

  10. #10
    andrew.peron's Avatar
    andrew.peron no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    PIN/ID
    3029AA4B
    Posts
    39
    Also be advised that unless you paid full retail price for your Verizon 8830, you will have to pay the difference in what you paid for the device vs. the full retail price before Global Support will unlock your phone for use with other SIM cards.
    Last edited by andrew.peron; 05-14-2008 at 07:08 PM. Reason: Wrong name

  11. #11
    FF2's Avatar
    FF2
    FF2 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    79
    I did not have to pay any more for the phone to get it unlocked. After rebates and other discounts my phone cost $99.00. I was able to UNlock it by calling Global support

  12. #12
    andrew.peron's Avatar
    andrew.peron no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    PIN/ID
    3029AA4B
    Posts
    39
    Quote Originally Posted by FF2 View Post
    I did not have to pay any more for the phone to get it unlocked. After rebates and other discounts my phone cost $99.00. I was able to UNlock it by calling Global support
    That's weird. Everyone I have ever heard of getting theirs unlocked either paid full retail, or was told by Global Support that they would have to pay the difference between full retail before the phone could be unlocked.

  13. #13
    NautcaSprt6's Avatar
    NautcaSprt6 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    142
    Both are NOT true.

    I paid $50 for my 8830. About a month after I called verizon, they transfered me to Global Support. I asked them if they can unlock, went through a couple steps, entered the code and now its unlocked. No extra fees or anything.
    If they say that, just hang up and get another rep.

    Quote Originally Posted by andrew.peron View Post
    That's weird. Everyone I have ever heard of getting theirs unlocked either paid full retail, or was told by Global Support that they would have to pay the difference between full retail before the phone could be unlocked.
    Quote Originally Posted by andrew.peron View Post
    Also be advised that unless you paid full retail price for your Verizon 8830, you will have to pay the difference in what you paid for the device vs. the full retail price before Global Support will unlock your phone for use with other SIM cards.
    Check out the Z at www.300CForumZ.com
    Also check out my MySpace at www.MySpace.com/DJBertan

  14. #14
    dr3x320's Avatar
    dr3x320 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    45
    ^ Agreed, some reps when trying to ask for unlock codes, some reps demand that you must be an existing memeber for at least 2-3 months, or longer, or even a paying customer of x amount of months CONSECUTIVELY. But it all depends on the rep you get, if you get one who won't help, hang up and get another one.
    ATT Curve 8300
    v4.2.2.89 / Platform 2.4.0.39

  15. #15
    Leetneo's Avatar
    Leetneo no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    PIN/ID
    316D16C7
    Posts
    712
    That's dumb. ^ I would hang up call back and cancel~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •