Results 1 to 13 of 13

Ok I give up... I have tried every trick I can get my hands on ... BlackBerry 8830 forum

  1. #1
    KFS416's Avatar
    KFS416 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    PIN/ID
    32C48031
    Posts
    4

    Question AIM on Sprint 8830

    Advertisement



    Ok I give up... I have tried every trick I can get my hands on to get AIM to work on my Sprint Blackberry 8830... no matter what I do it gets stuck on receiving groups or receiving buddies... I have talked to Sprint and they just tell me that they really don't know what the problem is and that I should download RambleIM and even gave me the ota link... I tried it and could never get that to connect either. If I open AIM on my computer it tells me I'm signed in from more than one location if that means anything... although I know for a fact that I'm not...

    I have even gone so far as to do a complete wipe which fixed some of the the problems with other 3rd party software being able to connect, but still no AIM... I'm starting to get more than a little frustrated... Does anyone have any advise?

    Thanks,
    Kelly

  2. #2
    cherrichiodo's Avatar
    cherrichiodo no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    ATA
    Posts
    17,164

    Re: AIM on Sprint 8830

    Kelly - have you tried jivetalk? its not free, does cost for one time download, but you do get 30 day free trial to test it out i love it

    www.beejive.com

    welcome to pinstack!!

  3. #3
    cp6169's Avatar
    cp6169 no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    PIN/ID
    3056468b
    Posts
    14,661

    Re: AIM on Sprint 8830

    Have you reset your firewall, you may have denied access to AIM when you downloaded it.

    Go here... options/security/firewall... hit the menu and choose reset settings.

    Good luck, Im sure you will get it because this app works great.

  4. #4
    yikes's Avatar
    yikes no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    13

    Re: AIM on Sprint 8830

    Quote Originally Posted by cp6169
    Good luck, Im sure you will get it because this app works great.
    I do not agree that the free AIM "works great". It is limited to only those contacts on your "Mobile" group, which seems like a totally arbitrary limitation for a device that can do much more. I'm eyeing JiveTalk... I will give it a workout sometime this week.

  5. #5
    KFS416's Avatar
    KFS416 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    PIN/ID
    32C48031
    Posts
    4

    Re: AIM on Sprint 8830

    Quote Originally Posted by cp6169
    Have you reset your firewall, you may have denied access to AIM when you downloaded it.

    Go here... options/security/firewall... hit the menu and choose reset settings.

    Good luck, Im sure you will get it because this app works great.
    Thanks for all the help... but it's still to no avail I checked the firewall and reset the settings, but it was already disabled before I did the reset... It still tries to sign on, and everytime it attempts it AIM notifies me that I'm signed on in more than one location, but it never gets past the receiving buddies part (I've let it sit there for 30 min+ before just to be sure it wasn't just slow but it eventually times out). I know it will only display the first 30 buddies or so, but could it be that the size of my buddy list is bogging it down (I have 163 people total on it)? From what I've read, it will only load those buddies in your "mobile" group... I have a group called "mobile device" is that the same thing or would creating another goup help in any way?

    Oddly enough (and it could have something to do with the fact that my blackberry was connected to my computer at the time) today when I signed in to AIM on my computer, my blackberry was in the "receiving buddies" mode and it alerted me to a new message or something (little yellow man w/ 1 beside it) which I will assume is the System Mngr message letting me know that I'm signed in at multiple locations... but I can't check it or clear it or do anything about it because it still never moves beyone the receiving buddies screen!!!! THIS IS DRIVING ME MAD!!!! Now it's just a matter of principle that I WILL CONQUER AIM SOMEHOW!

    As once again, I've run out of ideas... any feedback would be much appreciated! Thank you!

  6. #6
    Mofolepo's Avatar
    Mofolepo no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    61

    Re: AIM on Sprint 8830

    The amount of buddies should have no effect on your connection. I don't know what it is, but I have over 250 buddies on AIM and have no problem logging in. The group you mentioned, "Mobile" is what will appear when you finally get to sign on... 30 seems to be the limit. DOh!

  7. #7
    cp6169's Avatar
    cp6169 no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    PIN/ID
    3056468b
    Posts
    14,661

    Re: AIM on Sprint 8830

    Quote Originally Posted by yikes
    I do not agree that the free AIM "works great". It is limited to only those contacts on your "Mobile" group, which seems like a totally arbitrary limitation for a device that can do much more. I'm eyeing JiveTalk... I will give it a workout sometime this week.
    Yeah, I only have 3 buddies so this is still a great app, for me.

  8. #8
    kane's Avatar
    kane no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    PIN/ID
    30349623
    Posts
    849

    Re: AIM on Sprint 8830

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~it works fine on my 8830 I don't have 160+ contacts but it holds more then 30 without me making any changes like mobile contacts I download my version from the rim website and it transfered to my phone while connected if you need the link leave me a msg and when Iget the chance I can send you the link

  9. #9
    nijmegan's Avatar
    nijmegan no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    1

    Re: AIM on Sprint 8830

    I was using AIM on my 8830 and everything was fine until two days ago. Now I see the exact same issue you are seeing. I uninstalled, and then reinstalled. Checked the firewall settings. No help.

  10. #10
    berryhead's Avatar
    berryhead no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    35

    Re: AIM on Sprint 8830

    i guess this is an ongoing problem of this weeek- i have aim from rim and i have never had a problem since i aquired my 8830- same problem happens i log in, it recives groups, and friends but the screen never changes to show my contacts-just the same rotating circle----WTF?>??? i am stumped. i am not a novice either and im trying to troublshoot this as much as i can without wiping the phone or calling sprint.. ARRRRGGGGGGG!!!!!!!!!!!!!! this really sucks- can anyone help????

  11. #11
    berryhead's Avatar
    berryhead no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    35

    Re: AIM on Sprint 8830

    im soooooooooooo stupid tried evrything ....exept one thing that worked======(options/advanced options/applications/=aim=edit default permissions/===ALLOW ALL.) now if you guys cant get it to work i dont know what else to do.

  12. #12
    HughH's Avatar
    HughH no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    17

    Re: AIM on Sprint 8830

    I've been using the free RambleIM on my 8800 for 2 months with no problems at all. Give that a try.

  13. #13
    impex4's Avatar
    impex4 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    5

    Re: AIM on Sprint 8830

    I have the same problem. Worked great for a while but now is stuck during sign on.

    However, if i log in from any pc it shows that my BB is logged in as well and i need to type a "1" to log the BB off.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •