Results 1 to 10 of 10

How much free memory is need for the Blackberry to run efficiently? My unit now ... BlackBerry 8830 forum

  1. #1
    bbueding's Avatar
    bbueding no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    PIN/ID
    ask
    Posts
    325

    8830 Memory Question

    Advertisement



    How much free memory is need for the Blackberry to run efficiently? My unit now shows 13630300 free space but sometimes is gets as low as 9830997.

  2. #2
    curve247's Avatar
    curve247 no está en línea Stack level 6
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    PIN/ID
    ASK
    Posts
    2,098

    Re: 8830 Memory Question

    I have had my 8830 running alot lower then before. I am not sure how low it can go to run "effectively" but I havent had problems with memory since buying the device. Although I do do a battery pull every once in a while to keep the memory up. Right now I am running at 7538184 which is alot lower then yours, so you should be ok. Hope that helps.
    "T-Dub"
    T- Mo: BB 9700, 8900, 8220
    Sprint: BB 8330, 8830, 8130, 8703, 7250

    But there's a beautiful view of the end of the world from the pier.....

  3. #3
    dudewheresmycar's Avatar
    dudewheresmycar no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    4

    Smile

    I have a 8830 and I was running with and average of 8MB of free space, Then I found a posting that showed me how to remove all the extra crap that is in the BB's OS that is not used and now I run around 19MB of free space, My BB is much much faster now that I have 19MB of free space - Battery Pull is a very good thing to do because of the memory leak on the 8830s
    Check out the cool new social networking site.


    See Ya There !

  4. #4
    cgaliffi's Avatar
    cgaliffi no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    PIN/ID
    22D95A46
    Posts
    703
    You can download an app called Soft Reset in the dowload section here. This will alleviate you doing a battery pull to free up memory.~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  5. #5
    huracan's Avatar
    huracan no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    135
    Quote Originally Posted by cgaliffi View Post
    You can download an app called Soft Reset in the dowload section here. This will alleviate you doing a battery pull to free up memory.~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~
    Or instead of installing anything else in memory, you can press alt + right shift + del all at the same time for 3 seconds and it resets the device akin to removing the battery.

    Also, doing a full power off (via the top power button or the power off icon in-screen) and then turning the bb back on does not give the same result in releasing memory.

  6. #6
    bkzgreeneyes's Avatar
    bkzgreeneyes no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    5
    how do you check how many MB do you have?

  7. #7
    crutcherk's Avatar
    crutcherk no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    PIN/ID
    3280610B
    Posts
    129
    I am at 2997143 Bytes free now. Because of my contact list and appointments. (It could not possibly be the golf score card, yahoo, gmessenger, aol, audible, mobipocket, or facebook )
    I usually get between 3-5 mb free.
    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  8. #8
    bbueding's Avatar
    bbueding no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    PIN/ID
    ask
    Posts
    325
    to check free space go to Options,Status, it will give you the information.

  9. #9
    Maroon's Avatar
    Maroon no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    20
    I just experienced the "memory leak" which (I think) is when my bb arbitrarily and without notice dumps my history of calls made and my emails. I had 6.35 meg of available memory. After doing the Alt+RtShift+Del manuever, I now have 6.91 meg of available memory. Still a lot less than some of you.

  10. #10
    huracan's Avatar
    huracan no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    135
    Quote Originally Posted by Maroon View Post
    ...After doing the Alt+RtShift+Del manuever, I now have 6.91 meg of available memory. Still a lot less than some of you.
    That still sounds low if you just lost your logs as well. Make sure you're not keeping applications open (from the home screen press the bbmenu button>select 'switch application'> a task bar will appear that shows all the currently running apps (5 are always open no matter what: home screen, messages, browser,phone and BB messenger); anything else is just running in the background and not really closed, you have to select 'close' from their respective menus to get them to shut down.
    The biggest memory termites if left open in the background are gps applications and sometimes newer or beta applications that may not have all the bugs worked out.

    I do find it strange that Blackberries dump logs and main info first when confronted with a low memory situation instead of closing applications first and/or emptying browser caches which have to be done manually.


    Also, I suggest these two settings
    1. under options>security options>general settings> enable 'content compression' >save

    2. (still under security menu) > memory cleaning> clean when holstered 'yes' and clean when idle 'yes'.
    The cleaning this does is minimal but it doesn't hurt.

    Let us know how it goes

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •