Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 22

I am totally confused. Got a 6gb San Disk Micro SD Card HC, put it ... BlackBerry 8830 forum

  1. #1
    bbueding's Avatar
    bbueding no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    PIN/ID
    ask
    Posts
    325

    6gb Micro SD HC on my 8830

    Advertisement



    I am totally confused. Got a 6gb San Disk Micro SD Card HC, put it in my 8830, it told me I had 5.7 capacity, then I formatted the card in the BB and then it told me I had 1.6gb capacity, I then had to use the Panasonic SD Formatter program to re-format, put it back in the BB and it now shows 5.7 gb capacity, but it was not formatted in the BB? I just don't understand! BTW I am running the newest OS from Verizon in my phone.

  2. #2
    blkbryadict's Avatar
    blkbryadict no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    151

    Re: 6gb Micro SD HC on my 8830

    When the Pearl came out originally, it didn't support SD cards over 1gb. Maybe there is something similar going on with the 8830.

  3. #3
    bbueding's Avatar
    bbueding no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    PIN/ID
    ask
    Posts
    325

    Re: 6gb Micro SD HC on my 8830

    no the support is there, and now I show 5.7gb capacity but I did not format the card in the BB?

  4. #4
    kane's Avatar
    kane no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    PIN/ID
    30349623
    Posts
    849

    Re: 6gb Micro SD HC on my 8830

    i didnt know the 8830 could do 6gbs

  5. #5
    W!ndeX's Avatar
    W!ndeX no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    PIN/ID
    30194e35
    Posts
    67

    Re: 6gb Micro SD HC on my 8830

    The 8830 is only supporting up to 4g. I spoke with our Rim rep and he said that maybe our next pearl will support 6g.
    W!ndeX
    ASM for Bell Mobility
    Gatineau, Quebec, Canada
    8830 (Curve)
    Feel free to PIN 3026DC56

  6. #6
    bbueding's Avatar
    bbueding no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    PIN/ID
    ask
    Posts
    325

    Re: 6gb Micro SD HC on my 8830

    if that is so why does it show 5.6 of available space?

  7. #7
    us210251's Avatar
    us210251 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    1

    Re: 6gb Micro SD HC on my 8830

    What version of the O/S are you running exactly? I have a Sprint 8830 and have ordered the 6 GB MicroSD card - I am hoping it will work for me. I have this from Sprint:
    BlackBerry Handheld Software v4.2.2.240 (Multilanguage)

    Package Version: 4.2.2.240
    Consisting of:
    • Applications: 4.2.2.123
    • Software Platform: 3.0.0.64

  8. #8
    rgarde's Avatar
    rgarde no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    45

    Re: 6gb Micro SD HC on my 8830

    that should be correct. the thing is when you have huge memory capacities how memory is designed the actual capacity isn't a full 6GB. the format of memory keeps dead space to give the memory a strong structure for information. therfore, the card is 6GB but the capacity is just a little less. same premise as your home computer Hard drive. you may have a 500gb HD, but only has 480gb capacity available. that just happens when you have large amounts of hardrive space, and 6gb is fairly large. hopefully that helps.

  9. #9
    martensm's Avatar
    martensm no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    1

    Question Re: 6gb Micro SD HC on my 8830

    I did exactly the same, Bought a Sandisk 6GB micro SDHC card for my 8300 curve. I do bicycling and wanted to carry only one device for both Phone and music and eliminate the need to carry a separate ipod. Turned out that I went through the exact same experience .. once the card is in the curve you can only format it to 1.6GB. if you format it directly from the PC using a USB adapter you can format it to the 5.6GB and the curve will recognize it as such BUT, when I used the media manager to load my music on it only used the 1.6GB and then showed that the memory card was full. Thus there is definitely something going on here... Any clues?

  10. #10
    Karpfish24's Avatar
    Karpfish24 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    May 2007
    PIN/ID
    243fd52f
    Posts
    217
    Quote Originally Posted by rgarde View Post
    that should be correct. the thing is when you have huge memory capacities how memory is designed the actual capacity isn't a full 6GB. the format of memory keeps dead space to give the memory a strong structure for information. therfore, the card is 6GB but the capacity is just a little less. same premise as your home computer Hard drive. you may have a 500gb HD, but only has 480gb capacity available. that just happens when you have large amounts of hardrive space, and 6gb is fairly large. hopefully that helps.
    its not just that when you have a big drive you lose some of it. Its sort of complicated, but I'm pretty sure that the reason this happens is because the HD or flash manufacturers use a slightly different number of Mb for a Gb than OS makers(1000mb vs 1024mb) so your drive is not really 500Gb according to the computer, you don't "lose" any.

  11. #11
    nsane1's Avatar
    nsane1 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    4

    Re: 6gb Micro SD HC on my 8830

    Yeah, I spent time on the phone with RIM a few days ago. anything over 2GB is not currently supported. It was marketed as supported in the 8820, but it doesn't work fully. I see the full 6GB on my 8820, but it works sporadically, and intermittently.

    They said a fix is in the works (for the 8820), not sure about for the rest...

  12. #12
    bbueding's Avatar
    bbueding no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    PIN/ID
    ask
    Posts
    325

    Re: 6gb Micro SD HC on my 8830

    when I had a 4gb SDHC card in my 8830 it worked fine!

  13. #13
    cincyboy64's Avatar
    cincyboy64 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    3

    Re: 6gb Micro SD HC on my 8830

    i just order the 8830 for sprint so is it cool to go with the 4gb or should i get a 2gb card?

  14. #14
    cabron's Avatar
    cabron no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    PIN/ID
    2466A9E4
    Posts
    229

    Re: 6gb Micro SD HC on my 8830

    I have a 4 gb san disk and it works great on my bb 8820
    Do you really need more than 4?
    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  15. #15
    cabron's Avatar
    cabron no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    PIN/ID
    2466A9E4
    Posts
    229

    Re: 6gb Micro SD HC on my 8830

    I mean because I can't figure out how to spend any more bites I only use about 2gb
    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •