Results 1 to 14 of 14

I was looking online last night on how set up tethering on my BB (AT&T). ... BlackBerry Internet & Email forum

  1. #1
    DCorrea702's Avatar
    DCorrea702 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    86

    Question Tethering w/ BB Curve (AT&T)

    Advertisement



    I was looking online last night on how set up tethering on my BB (AT&T). I found a website that showed me how and now i can use my BB Curve as a modem. The thing is I DONT PAY FOR THE TETHERING PLAN but i can still do...

    My question is...
    -Has anyone done it?...
    -Did you get caught?...
    -Did they charge u for whatever u used???...

    let me know I'd appreciate it...

    Thanks in advance...

  2. #2
    shockel5000's Avatar
    shockel5000 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    PIN/ID
    21066FE2
    Posts
    56
    I also have done the same thing and I have been doing it for months now and I talked to a friend at At&t and she informed me that there was nothing to get caught over. Its fine.. And if I was misinformed than shh lol.. You haven't got caught yet.

  3. #3
    shockel5000's Avatar
    shockel5000 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    PIN/ID
    21066FE2
    Posts
    56
    Oh and no I did not receive any incurring charges

  4. #4
    DCorrea702's Avatar
    DCorrea702 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    86
    Thanks for the reply bro...
    I just started doing it 2 nights ago, so I don't know what's gonna happen yet... I hope ure right dude...

  5. #5
    DCorrea702's Avatar
    DCorrea702 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    86
    Has anyone made any downloads tho while tethering w/ out a tethering plan???

  6. #6
    Daosuf's Avatar
    Daosuf no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    2

    hey

    by any chance can you email me how you set up the blackberry to ATT? i would greatly appreiciate it. thanks.
    daosuf@yahoo.com

  7. #7
    Craig_C's Avatar
    Craig_C no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    PIN/ID
    ASK ME
    Posts
    150
    If they can't catch you, and there are no reprocussions for doing this. Then why would anyone pay the extra fee? Something sounds fishy to me...

  8. #8
    iamgoofy's Avatar
    iamgoofy no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    210ca18d
    Posts
    560

    Thumbs up Tethering w/ BB Curve (AT&T)

    ditto me also! thx n advance! goofysblackberry8300@gmail.com
    Quote Originally Posted by Daosuf View Post
    by any chance can you email me how you set up the blackberry to ATT? i would greatly appreiciate it. thanks.
    daosuf@yahoo.com

  9. #9
    DCorrea702's Avatar
    DCorrea702 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    86

    Post

    Quote Originally Posted by Daosuf View Post
    by any chance can you email me how you set up the blackberry to ATT? i would greatly appreiciate it. thanks.
    daosuf@yahoo.com
    yea bro...
    sorry for taking so long, but here's the website...
    i hope this helps...

    http://perishablepress.com/press/200...modem-for-mac/

  10. #10
    DCorrea702's Avatar
    DCorrea702 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    86
    Quote Originally Posted by Craig_C View Post
    If they can't catch you, and there are no reprocussions for doing this. Then why would anyone pay the extra fee? Something sounds fishy to me...
    nothing fishy...
    ive been doing it for a while now and havent been caught yet...

  11. #11
    iamgoofy's Avatar
    iamgoofy no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    210ca18d
    Posts
    560
    oops,,sorry however i didnt need the infor a mac! i use a windows/laptop! thx anyways tho!

  12. #12
    charmed's Avatar
    charmed no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    PIN/ID
    7A06F63C
    Posts
    228
    in order to be able to use the bb as a modem, tethring plan must be placed on the acc. kilobytes used on the bb brpwser is much less then when you are tethering. on the billing info they can loook at the kilobytes sent and rcvd are much greater.

    believe me i have seen it happen. accounts with at least 700 to 1000 dollars minimum because they did not put tethering plan.

    btw i work in AT&T laptop connect tech support. we deal in configuring devices as a modem


  13. #13
    iamgoofy's Avatar
    iamgoofy no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    210ca18d
    Posts
    560

    Question Tethering w/ BB Curve (AT&T)

    any ideas/info to tether for a windows/laptop top instead of a mac? thx
    Quote Originally Posted by iamgoofy View Post
    oops,,sorry however i didnt need the infor a mac! i use a windows/laptop! thx anyways tho!

  14. #14
    Whitofok's Avatar
    Whitofok no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    3

    BB for Modem on notebook

    I use my 8310 and previous models of BB for modem on my notebook when traveling almost weekly. I understood if you have a unlimited data plan it was not an issue. It does work and keeps out viruses etc.
    Whitofok

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •