Results 1 to 11 of 11

My husband accidentally went to the wrong portal, and set up his blackberry with the ... BlackBerry Internet & Email forum

  1. #1
    lori_piper's Avatar
    lori_piper no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    5

    Set up BIS account with wrong provider

    Advertisement



    My husband accidentally went to the wrong portal, and set up his blackberry with the wrong provider.

    He accidentally set it up with 'cable and wireless' instead of AT&T.

    We don't even know who Cable and Wireless is.

    How can he release the pin from the CW account so that he can successfully register it with AT&T?

    Thanks in advance for your help!

    Lori

  2. #2
    sbalakr3's Avatar
    sbalakr3 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    4

    Re: Set up BIS account with wrong provider

    May be he can log into Cable and Wireless and remove the PIN # associated with his Account. Then login into AT&T and create another account and provide the PIN #.

  3. #3
    lori_piper's Avatar
    lori_piper no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    5

    Re: Set up BIS account with wrong provider

    We've tried that and can't figure out how to delete the pin from the CW account. There is an option to switch the pin, but it wants another valid pin number.

    If you know how to do this, that would be great!

  4. #4
    kayos72's Avatar
    kayos72 no está en línea Stack level 7
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    PIN/ID
    ask me
    Posts
    3,504

    Re: Set up BIS account with wrong provider

    lori, welcome to the stacks. here is a link with "cable and wireless" just did a quick google and this is the service

    home page
    http://www.cw.com/new/

    their contact page
    http://www.cw.com/new/

    hope this is of use
    post back

    PS it would ba alot easier to assist you if you could take the time to fill out your profile a little further.
    Thanks and don't take offense, just tryin to speed up the help button.
    Been a long while since last login. Sorry all, adjusting to a new life is great and hell at the same time!!

  5. #5
    lori_piper's Avatar
    lori_piper no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    5

    Re: Set up BIS account with wrong provider

    Well, I will fill out my profile, but since it's my husband's blackberry...

    It's an 8300. Bought it new at the cingular store on Friday. He went to set up the email today and accidentally got to the wrong portal. Didn't realize it till he got to the end and got jdoe@cw.blackberry.net address rather than an AT&T address.

    And we're stuck.

    I can call CW in the morning, but we don't have an account with them, so what are they going to tell me? I can call AT&T, but they can't release someone else's PIN.

    I'm feeling like this is going to be a sticky predicament.

    If only I could figure out how to release the pin from the CW site. There has to be a way!

  6. #6
    kayos72's Avatar
    kayos72 no está en línea Stack level 7
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    PIN/ID
    ask me
    Posts
    3,504

    Re: Set up BIS account with wrong provider

    My thoughts are you are unfortunately gonna have to wait and call them
    you can't cancel and release with out an account.

    just tell them what happened.

    since they are UK based check the timezones and call them as soon as they are available.
    keep us posted I am now curious.
    thanks

    sorry I can't be of more help
    Been a long while since last login. Sorry all, adjusting to a new life is great and hell at the same time!!

  7. #7
    lori_piper's Avatar
    lori_piper no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    5

    Re: Set up BIS account with wrong provider

    They have an office in Virginia--I hope that they can help, as I don't really want to call London. That would be an expensive unlock--especially since I think that this will take some time to explain!

    I'll let you know what happens.

  8. #8
    kayos72's Avatar
    kayos72 no está en línea Stack level 7
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    PIN/ID
    ask me
    Posts
    3,504

    Re: Set up BIS account with wrong provider

    Thanks!
    Been a long while since last login. Sorry all, adjusting to a new life is great and hell at the same time!!

  9. #9
    cliffr39's Avatar
    cliffr39 no está en línea Stack level 7
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    PIN/ID
    317ASKME
    Posts
    3,064

    Re: Set up BIS account with wrong provider

    are the emails coming through ok? send a test email to the blackberry to make sure... if they are and you don't mind it being cw.blackberry.net you can just keep that (unless you specificially want mycingular.blackberry.net, they apparently aren't using att.blackberry.net yet)
    ~A BlackBerry without a data plan is just a berry without the crack.~
    Links to common questions.

  10. #10
    lori_piper's Avatar
    lori_piper no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    5

    Re: Set up BIS account with wrong provider

    Well, it took six phone calls, but finally someone at Blackberry was able to reset it for us.

    For the record, Cable and Wireless didn't even know that they have blackberry service, and four separate folks at AT&T were stumped as well.

    Finally a lovely man named Alan at Blackberry was able to be the hero.


  11. #11
    kayos72's Avatar
    kayos72 no está en línea Stack level 7
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    PIN/ID
    ask me
    Posts
    3,504

    Re: Set up BIS account with wrong provider

    Glad all is well
    anything else you need?
    just ask!
    Been a long while since last login. Sorry all, adjusting to a new life is great and hell at the same time!!

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •