Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 20

Ok, I have been on here for hours trying to get this to work. Basically, ... BlackBerry Internet & Email forum

  1. #1
    dtole's Avatar
    dtole no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    1,594

    Problem Adding My Website Email To My BB

    Advertisement



    Ok, I have been on here for hours trying to get this to work.

    Basically, I have my website's email(dtole@mydomainname.com), my ISP provider is Gate.com

    Here's the problem, I can add the email address to my Blackberry(using my Carrier's BIS site), I can even send emails once the address is added, but I can NOT receive emails sent to the address...not even a response to the email I send

    Is that crazy or what?

    Any ideas? I am available and will be up all night...this address is now my main address for business...and I have it printed on cards and everything...

    HELP!! Feel free to PIN me...
    D-Tole

  2. #2
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432
    Lets start with the easy stuff....are you picking up this email with a desktop application, like Outlook? If so, is the desktop application set to "leave a copy of messages on the server"?
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  3. #3
    dtole's Avatar
    dtole no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    1,594
    No, I am not...I just recently restarted with Gate.com, and just re-established the email address..

    No outlook or anything...
    D-Tole

  4. #4
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432
    Ok....next - Is this an IMAP or POP account?

    Also - how many emails are in your inbox of this account?
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  5. #5
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432
    Also please check and see if any large attachments are on emails in your inbox ( like over 4 mb)
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  6. #6
    DjSmooth's Avatar
    DjSmooth no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    2,080
    Are you a Windows User, if so do you have MS Outlook on your system? If so, what you might want to try is to Setup a New Email account with Outlook, Test your settings before you click finish or done. If all goes well: (incoming and outgoing) than the issue is with your BIS and you will need to contact them.

    Just Curious, now you did say that you can send email (from your device right).

  7. #7
    dtole's Avatar
    dtole no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    1,594
    IMAP, the emails don't go to the server...I think that's what you're asking...

    If you mean email accounts to my Blackberry, then 4
    D-Tole

  8. #8
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432
    dtole,

    If you have over 900 messages and / or attachments over 5 mb in your account that will cause the issue. DJ's suggestion is a good one, test the settings you used in another application, like outlook, and see if they work - if yes, the problem is at the BIS level, if no, the issue is your settings (are you sure you entered the correct outgoing server name?)

    I have to run will check back in a few hours - here are a few links to look over:
    http://www.blackberry.com/btsc/searc...200%2083443099

    http://blackberryforums.pinstack.com...878#post771878

    Good Luck and post back!
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  9. #9
    dtole's Avatar
    dtole no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    1,594
    I wasn't given an options for an outgoing server name...And I will admit, I'm that savvy when it comes to this...

    Any other suggestions?
    D-Tole

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    PIN/ID
    LESS
    Posts
    1,757
    Make sure the settings for both incoming and outgoing email servers are:

    mail.mydomainname.com Incoming Mail Server

    mail.mydomainname.com Outgoing Mail Server

    If for some odd reason that does not fix your issue then your issue may rely on your hosting company.. Some companies strictly prohibit devices such as blackberrys connecting to their servers because they transfer bandwith at great rates polling for email.

  11. #11
    DjSmooth's Avatar
    DjSmooth no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    2,080
    Quote Originally Posted by dtole View Post
    I wasn't given an options for an outgoing server name...And I will admit, I'm that savvy when it comes to this...

    Any other suggestions?
    So, are you saying that you've already setup an email account in Outlook and was able to send and receive?

  12. #12
    dtole's Avatar
    dtole no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    1,594
    I promise you, I have tried all this, I even tried to add an acoount through outlook...Maybe I'm not following the instructions correctly, but I am getting a headache behind this...

    Should I call my ISP provider and see if this is even possible? i assume it would be since I can send from the address...I just can't receive...
    D-Tole

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    PIN/ID
    LESS
    Posts
    1,757
    Make sure you have both service books for this email address.

  14. #14
    DjSmooth's Avatar
    DjSmooth no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    2,080
    Quote Originally Posted by dtole View Post
    I promise you, I have tried all this, I even tried to add an acoount through outlook...Maybe I'm not following the instructions correctly, but I am getting a headache behind this...

    Should I call my ISP provider and see if this is even possible? i assume it would be since I can send from the address...I just can't receive...
    Ok, don't wanna give you a headache, but you said you "I even tried to add an account through outlook"

    The reason why I suggested outlook is because, if your email account that you have with your hosting package is indeed a PoP3 account, setting it up in Outlook is as simple as it gets, outside of setting a POP3 account on your Device. If you were able to "Send" and "Receive" via Outlook, than we would be able to go the next step in trouble shooting.

    But, you said you "Tried to setup on outlook" obviously from that I must say it was unsuccessful, so now the question is, was the problem with the "incoming server" or the "outgoing (SMTP) server" awareness of this would help us help you, if that is what you want.

  15. #15
    dtole's Avatar
    dtole no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    1,594
    Quote Originally Posted by DjSmooth View Post
    Ok, don't wanna give you a headache, but you said you "I even tried to add an account through outlook"

    The reason why I suggested outlook is because, if your email account that you have with your hosting package is indeed a PoP3 account, setting it up in Outlook is as simple as it gets, outside of setting a POP3 account on your Device. If you were able to "Send" and "Receive" via Outlook, than we would be able to go the next step in trouble shooting.

    But, you said you "Tried to setup on outlook" obviously from that I must say it was unsuccessful, so now the question is, was the problem with the "incoming server" or the "outgoing (SMTP) server" awareness of this would help us help you, if that is what you want.

    The problem isn't you at all...it's ME, and I'm getting frustrated at the fact that I can't figure it out...

    I called the ISP provider, and they said I should be using the pop.mydomainname.com information...

    Oh, I added you on Yahoo messenger...
    D-Tole

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •