Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 25

I have 4.5 loaded on my 8820 and i have noticed a lot of switching ... BlackBerry Internet & Email forum

  1. #1
    salvatoretri's Avatar
    salvatoretri no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    PIN/ID
    2457af8e
    Posts
    295

    keeps switching to lower case edge and gprs

    Advertisement



    I have 4.5 loaded on my 8820 and i have noticed a lot of switching back and forth betweem EDGE and edge/gprs....

    anyone know why??

  2. #2
    04Taco's Avatar
    04Taco no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    113
    I have noticed that my Curve 8330 goes to 1xev instead of 1XEV every so often. A co-worker had the same problem. I just powered off the phone and it fixed the problem. Other than that, I have noe explanation.

  3. #3
    jblackfish's Avatar
    jblackfish no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    11,116
    Quote Originally Posted by salvatoretri View Post
    I have 4.5 loaded on my 8820 and i have noticed a lot of switching back and forth betweem EDGE and edge/gprs....

    anyone know why??
    This sounds like the product of a weak signal. If you press & hold alt and key n, m, l, l it will change your meter strength to a number and you can see how strong the signal is - the lower the number, the better. If you're in the 90's, for example, it's not a very strong signal - numbers in the 50's - 70's is pretty good! Try that and post back.
    For every complex problem there is a solution, that is simple, neat, .....and wrong! (H. L. Mencken) jblackfish(at)pinstack(dot)com

  4. #4
    VETT98's Avatar
    VETT98 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    May 2008
    PIN/ID
    friends
    Posts
    261
    on EVDO 80 is the best,thats as low as it goes,hope this helps
    Mike

  5. #5
    jblackfish's Avatar
    jblackfish no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    11,116
    Quote Originally Posted by VETT98 View Post
    on EVDO 80 is the best,thats as low as it goes,hope this helps
    How high does it go higher and how often? If it's moving up from time to time that may be when the switch between EDGE and edge/gprs is happening. That was the point of my saying is "sounds" like a weak signal. If you have a constant 80 on the meter it should be able to stay on EDGE.
    For every complex problem there is a solution, that is simple, neat, .....and wrong! (H. L. Mencken) jblackfish(at)pinstack(dot)com

  6. #6
    salvatoretri's Avatar
    salvatoretri no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    PIN/ID
    2457af8e
    Posts
    295
    thanks j....i did that and i am showing -87 signal....that explains it and i learned something new!!!

  7. #7
    04Taco's Avatar
    04Taco no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    113
    Quote Originally Posted by VETT98 View Post
    on EVDO 80 is the best,thats as low as it goes,hope this helps

    Not true. I have had a signal as low as -60. Just depends on how close to the cell site you are. Just for reference, -60 is better than -70, -70 better than -80, and so on. The worse you probably will get is -105.

  8. #8
    mjwood0's Avatar
    mjwood0 no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    PIN/ID
    Ask Me!
    Posts
    907
    Just as a point of clarification. Technically, the higher the number, the better the signal. These are negative values and therefore, -60 is greater than -80.
    As always, just my opinion...
    mjwood0 (at) pinstack (.) com
    Remove PTT | OS Upgrade

  9. #9
    jblackfish's Avatar
    jblackfish no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    11,116
    Quote Originally Posted by 04Taco View Post
    Not true. I have had a signal as low as -60. Just depends on how close to the cell site you are. Just for reference, -60 is better than -70, -70 better than -80, and so on. The worse you probably will get is -105.
    I think he MEANT 80 is as low as HIS particular handset SHOWS - not that (-)80 is the best signal.

    UPDATE: Sorry, I messed up. I was in a hurry and thought that 04taco's post was one from the OP (salvatore) telling me that 80 was as low a reading as HE got - forget the above comment. Obviously 80 is not as low as it goes. I have seen readings in the 50's.
    Last edited by jblackfish; 06-30-2008 at 03:13 PM.
    For every complex problem there is a solution, that is simple, neat, .....and wrong! (H. L. Mencken) jblackfish(at)pinstack(dot)com

  10. #10
    jblackfish's Avatar
    jblackfish no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    11,116
    Quote Originally Posted by mjwood0 View Post
    Just as a point of clarification. Technically, the higher the number, the better the signal. These are negative values and therefore, -60 is greater than -80.
    You're absolutely right, MJ. We refer to these numbers incorrectly as "high" and "low" - it seems easier to get the point across even if it IS incorrect because they ARE negative. Thanks for the clarification.
    For every complex problem there is a solution, that is simple, neat, .....and wrong! (H. L. Mencken) jblackfish(at)pinstack(dot)com

  11. #11
    mjwood0's Avatar
    mjwood0 no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    PIN/ID
    Ask Me!
    Posts
    907
    Quote Originally Posted by jblackfish View Post
    You're absolutely right, MJ. We refer to these numbers incorrectly as "high" and "low" - it seems easier to get the point across even if it IS incorrect because they ARE negative. Thanks for the clarification.
    Lol. I'm an engineer at heart I suppose. Regardless of how we want to look at them, I hate it when my signal is down (or up) around -105 as it has been most of the day...
    As always, just my opinion...
    mjwood0 (at) pinstack (.) com
    Remove PTT | OS Upgrade

  12. #12
    jblackfish's Avatar
    jblackfish no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    11,116
    Quote Originally Posted by mjwood0 View Post
    Lol. I'm an engineer at heart I suppose. Regardless of how we want to look at them, I hate it when my signal is down (or up) around -105 as it has been most of the day...
    Too bad the 8310 doesn't have wi-fi too. With a reading like that you're a candidate for it if I ever saw one. (I am too with GPRS coverage here in AR - that's why I'm using the 8320 and 8120. Without wi-fi I'd have NO browsing on my BB!)
    For every complex problem there is a solution, that is simple, neat, .....and wrong! (H. L. Mencken) jblackfish(at)pinstack(dot)com

  13. #13
    mjwood0's Avatar
    mjwood0 no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    PIN/ID
    Ask Me!
    Posts
    907
    Ya. I wish I had that option. Unfortunately, there is no T-Mo service at my home. In fact, the only carrier with service at my house it at&t since they have a tower in the corn field across the street.

    It's weird. My service is fine anywhere but at work. And usually, it's fine. Just this last week has been a bit buggy. Maybe there are network issues or something... I'm actually at -86 right now and loving it.
    As always, just my opinion...
    mjwood0 (at) pinstack (.) com
    Remove PTT | OS Upgrade

  14. #14
    04Taco's Avatar
    04Taco no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    113
    Quote Originally Posted by jblackfish View Post
    This sounds like the product of a weak signal. If you press & hold alt and key n, m, l, l it will change your meter strength to a number and you can see how strong the signal is - the lower the number, the better. If you're in the 90's, for example, it's not a very strong signal - numbers in the 50's - 70's is pretty good! Try that and post back.
    Can you clarify that? Do I hold down the alt key AND the N,M,L,and I keys at the same time or hold down alt and hit the keys one at a time?

  15. #15
    jblackfish's Avatar
    jblackfish no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    11,116
    Quote Originally Posted by 04Taco View Post
    Can you clarify that? Do I hold down the alt key AND the N,M,L,and I keys at the same time or hold down alt and hit the keys one at a time?
    No. Press and HOLD the alt key while keying the following: N M L L (4 keys, one at a time - not N M L I like you stated above but N M L L.) Does that help?
    For every complex problem there is a solution, that is simple, neat, .....and wrong! (H. L. Mencken) jblackfish(at)pinstack(dot)com

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •