Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 22

...when I switch carriers? I just finally got BIS set up on my AT&T account ... BlackBerry Internet & Email forum

  1. #1
    Justyn's Avatar
    Justyn no está en línea Stack level 6
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    PIN/ID
    n/a
    Posts
    1,856

    How Do I Get Email On My 8120...

    Advertisement



    ...when I switch carriers?

    I just finally got BIS set up on my AT&T account and I'm using an unlocked Tmobile 8120. When going to Personal Email Set Up, a message comes up that says:

    "New Users
    You need to create an account to begin sending and receiving email on your Blackberry device. Please ensure that your device is connected to the wireless network..." Yada Yada

    Scroll a little bit down it says "Existing Users" and asks for a login and password.

    So I figure I have a new network, I'm a new user, so I do the first option which takes me to terms and conditions and the next page says "An account already exists for this PIN, Please try again."

    The Existing Users section asks for a login and password.

    All I want is a @att.blackberry.net address, so how do I get that?
    It's not an iPhone addiction, it's insomnia!

  2. #2
    RogerG's Avatar
    RogerG no está en línea Stack Administrator
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    21,111
    Justyn,

    I'm confused. In your first paragraph you say you "finally got BIS set up on my AT&T account", but then a little further on you say you "have a new network, I'm a new user", etc.

    Why wouldn't you just choose the "existing users" option? Use the same login and password you created on the BIS account.

    Roger

  3. #3
    luciferseamus's Avatar
    luciferseamus no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    1,930
    is this 8120 a brand new phone? or used.

    it's possible that the preivous owner of the phone didn't release the PIN on their BIS.
    I know I had to do this when I sold my phone. I forgot that when I got my curve I made a new BIS and once (right after I sold my pearl) I tried logging in (using the old password for the pearl BIS) adn it got me to the OLD BIS account with the pearl's pin.
    there was an option in there to like cancel or close account, damn I can't remember but it like released that pin from the account I created so the new owner could create their own.

    did that make sense? I guess if it is a new phone though that wouldn't matter.
    "If you ever lose your keys in a river of molten lava, let 'em go, cus' man, they're gone!!"-Jack Handey


  4. #4
    Justyn's Avatar
    Justyn no está en línea Stack level 6
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    PIN/ID
    n/a
    Posts
    1,856
    Quote Originally Posted by luciferseamus View Post
    is this 8120 a brand new phone? or used.

    it's possible that the preivous owner of the phone didn't release the PIN on their BIS.
    I know I had to do this when I sold my phone. I forgot that when I got my curve I made a new BIS and once (right after I sold my pearl) I tried logging in (using the old password for the pearl BIS) adn it got me to the OLD BIS account with the pearl's pin.
    there was an option in there to like cancel or close account, damn I can't remember but it like released that pin from the account I created so the new owner could create their own.

    did that make sense? I guess if it is a new phone though that wouldn't matter.
    no that's the thing, I'm the previous owner and I used it for Tmobile, but now I put the BIS on my AT&T account and ended my Tmo account (remember my SIM wasn't working?), and now I'm still getting my TMobile BIS emails sent. How do you release the PIN?
    It's not an iPhone addiction, it's insomnia!

  5. #5
    RogerG's Avatar
    RogerG no está en línea Stack Administrator
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    21,111
    Can you still get into your TMO BIS account? If so, go in there and clear the PIN and IMEI fields and delete all the e-mail accounts.

  6. #6
    Justyn's Avatar
    Justyn no está en línea Stack level 6
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    PIN/ID
    n/a
    Posts
    1,856
    Quote Originally Posted by RoGro View Post
    Can you still get into your TMO BIS account? If so, go in there and clear the PIN and IMEI fields and delete all the e-mail accounts.
    Not from my device, but I can do it online
    It's not an iPhone addiction, it's insomnia!

  7. #7
    Justyn's Avatar
    Justyn no está en línea Stack level 6
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    PIN/ID
    n/a
    Posts
    1,856
    Online it only allows me access to change to the email accounts only, I don't see anything with my IMEI or PIN.

    It's all new to me, I've never switched carriers before, I feel like a New-b right now
    It's not an iPhone addiction, it's insomnia!

  8. #8
    RogerG's Avatar
    RogerG no está en línea Stack Administrator
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    21,111
    Is there no option to "Change Device" in there? If not, you'll have to call TMO and have them release the PIN.

  9. #9
    Justyn's Avatar
    Justyn no está en línea Stack level 6
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    PIN/ID
    n/a
    Posts
    1,856
    Yeah the Option's there, but it requiers putting in a new PIN and a new IMEI. Do I need to put in actual numbers if I go that way, or can I put in bogus numbers?
    It's not an iPhone addiction, it's insomnia!

  10. #10
    RogerG's Avatar
    RogerG no está en línea Stack Administrator
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    21,111
    This is your TMO account, correct? Are your PIN and IMEI numbers in there? If so, remove them, delete your e-mail accounts and save the settings, then try establishing your AT&T account again.

  11. #11
    Justyn's Avatar
    Justyn no está en línea Stack level 6
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    PIN/ID
    n/a
    Posts
    1,856
    Yes its my TMO account. My PIN is there but not my IMEI. I tried deleting the IMEI and PIN and it won't allow me to save, I'll try to delete the Email Accounts first and see if that works.
    It's not an iPhone addiction, it's insomnia!

  12. #12
    RogerG's Avatar
    RogerG no está en línea Stack Administrator
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    21,111
    You'll probably have to call TMO and have them release the PIN or cancel the BIS account.

  13. #13
    Justyn's Avatar
    Justyn no está en línea Stack level 6
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    PIN/ID
    n/a
    Posts
    1,856
    YEah I tried deleting the email accounts first, then deleting the PIN. That didn't work. So I guess I would have to call on my lunch to get the PIN released...
    It's not an iPhone addiction, it's insomnia!

  14. #14
    RogerG's Avatar
    RogerG no está en línea Stack Administrator
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    21,111
    Yessir, I'm afraid that's the only way to get the PIN released. Hey, at least you didn't buy the device from somebody else and have to rely on THEM to get it done!

  15. #15
    luciferseamus's Avatar
    luciferseamus no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    1,930
    Quote Originally Posted by RoGro View Post
    Yessir, I'm afraid that's the only way to get the PIN released. Hey, at least you didn't buy the device from somebody else and have to rely on THEM to get it done!

    freakin A!
    "If you ever lose your keys in a river of molten lava, let 'em go, cus' man, they're gone!!"-Jack Handey


Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •