Results 1 to 15 of 15

Hi, I'm with T-Mobile UK. I wasn't due an upgrade until next March, and having ... BlackBerry Internet & Email forum

  1. #1
    sandy10's Avatar
    sandy10 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    11

    Email Setup Problem

    Advertisement



    Hi,

    I'm with T-Mobile UK.

    I wasn't due an upgrade until next March, and having bust up my phone, brought an 8310 from Ebay (I know, I know) - it has the T Mobile logo on it.

    I am trying to set-up the instant email at www.instantemail.t-mobile.co.uk/.

    I enter the PIN number and IMEI number from the phone status, and it basically says they are incorrect.

    The PIN number looks like 1111111F and the IMEI 222222.22.222222.2 (numbers changed obviously).

    Do these look correct?

    If the phone had been "imported" from abroad, would the email still setup?

    I'm a little concerned!


    Thanks for any advice (apart from don't use Ebay!)

  2. #2
    jblackfish's Avatar
    jblackfish no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    11,116
    Those number look real suspicious to me - don't they to you? I'd say you need either a pro or expert to help you out. Other than that, maybe a carrier can help. Good luck.
    For every complex problem there is a solution, that is simple, neat, .....and wrong! (H. L. Mencken) jblackfish(at)pinstack(dot)com

  3. #3
    sandy10's Avatar
    sandy10 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    11
    i did change the numbers for security! they are actually different!

  4. #4
    pdxmatts's Avatar
    pdxmatts no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    5,702
    Is the phone unlocked? Because that is an ATT phone. Did you try using the set up your email and send the service books? Also, does your phone actually have a set up email icon on it and if so, did you try from your phone?
    Last edited by pdxmatts; 06-13-2008 at 04:27 PM. Reason: added more

  5. #5
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432
    Actually assuming that your numbers are changed to protect your privacy, they do look correct. You pin should be 8 charecters long, and includes #'s and letters.

    It would help if you can provide more details about your error message, you are using the change device part of the BIS page I assume? Have you also confirmed the phone is unlocked?
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  6. #6
    sandy10's Avatar
    sandy10 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    11
    I have looked on the t moblie site and cant see where i would do either of those!

  7. #7
    sandy10's Avatar
    sandy10 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    11
    Forgive my ignorance, how do i unlock the phone?

  8. #8
    pdxmatts's Avatar
    pdxmatts no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    5,702
    Quote Originally Posted by sandy10 View Post
    I have looked on the t moblie site and cant see where i would do either of those!
    You would need to login with your phone number and then you will see set up email. Click on that. Then have your phone hooked up with the usb and it should detect your phone and ask if you want to change device. If you already have an email address with them, it will show you the email accounts that you have. If not, you can set one up. Click yes, then click on send service books.

  9. #9
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432
    Quote Originally Posted by pdxmatts View Post
    Is the phone unlocked? Because that is an ATT phone. Did you try going to the TMO website to set up your email and send the service books?
    Good point - 8310 with TMO logo?

    Whats the vendor # under ALT EACE
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  10. #10
    pdxmatts's Avatar
    pdxmatts no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    5,702
    Go back and check your ebay listing and see if the add read if the phone was unlocked. If not, you will need to pay someone to unlock it. Or, you can contact the seller and ask if they can ask ATT to unlock it for him and he can give you the code.

  11. #11
    pdxmatts's Avatar
    pdxmatts no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    5,702
    Quote Originally Posted by GaryF View Post
    Good point - 8310 with TMO logo?

    Whats the vendor # under ALT EACE
    Good point Gary.

    Are you sure it is an 8310? If it has the TMO logo on it, it would be an 8320, then you would not need to have it unlocked.

  12. #12
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432
    To determine if your device is unlocked:

    Options
    Advanaced
    Sim Card
    Type in "IMEPD"
    All should say "disabled"
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  13. #13
    pdxmatts's Avatar
    pdxmatts no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    5,702
    When I first got my 8120, it said that the numbers were incorrect. I went to Options/Advanced options/host routing table and then hit the menu key and clicked on register now. Then TMO recognized it.

    Actually when you go to host routing table. What shows up in there?

  14. #14
    pdxmatts's Avatar
    pdxmatts no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    5,702
    Quote Originally Posted by GaryF View Post
    Good point - 8310 with TMO logo?

    Whats the vendor # under ALT EACE
    Mine says 100 for TMO and I believe ATT is 102. Did you check this for Gary by holding Alt and then typing eace?

  15. #15
    pdxmatts's Avatar
    pdxmatts no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    5,702
    Any word on if you got this working?

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •