Results 1 to 8 of 8

Hello, I have a doubt. There was a way to share BIS connection to PC? ... BlackBerry Internet & Email forum

  1. #1
    ericdanieldavid's Avatar
    ericdanieldavid no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    3

    Question BIS on desktop?

    Advertisement



    Hello,

    I have a doubt. There was a way to share BIS connection to PC?

    I used my laptop with BB, connecting with TCP mode, but my carrier sent me a very much expensive invoice.

    Help me, please.

  2. #2
    KalebsDad78's Avatar
    KalebsDad78 no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    PIN/ID
    Just Ask
    Posts
    2,044
    You need an unlimited data plan if you are going to use your BB as a modem.
    New User? - Read the NEW USERS GUIDE

  3. #3
    ericdanieldavid's Avatar
    ericdanieldavid no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    3

    Thumbs down

    I has. But the carrier tell's me that my plan just permit BIS use. TCP is not on the plan.


    I'm very nervous with this!!!

    What can I do?

  4. #4
    KalebsDad78's Avatar
    KalebsDad78 no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    PIN/ID
    Just Ask
    Posts
    2,044
    I don't understand. BIS allows you to have email accounts and mail pushed to your phone. That has nothing to do with your whether you have unlimited internet access. This is usually a separate part of the plan and an additional fee.
    New User? - Read the NEW USERS GUIDE

  5. #5
    ericdanieldavid's Avatar
    ericdanieldavid no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    3
    The problem is: everytime I used BB as a modem, the connection established is a TCP connection, not a BIS connection. And than, my carrier tax these used as a diferencial service (more expensive).


    Sorry by my poor english. I'm brazilian.

  6. #6
    RogerG's Avatar
    RogerG no está en línea Stack Administrator
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    21,111
    Eric,

    BIS = BlackBerry Internet Service, which is a web client to set up e-mail addresses to push to your handheld device.

    What you are describing is known as "tethering" your device or using it as a modem to connect to the internet. You obviously do NOT have a data plan that includes tethering as your carrier is charging you for this in ADDITION to your BlackBerry data plan.

    You need to check with your carrier to see what is involved in adding "tethering" to your plan. Tell them you wish to use your BlackBerry device to access the internet from your laptop and then ask them how much it would cost to add this to your plan.
    Last edited by RogerG; 07-02-2008 at 10:00 PM.

  7. #7
    BBAddict8100's Avatar
    BBAddict8100 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    PIN/ID
    30694B05
    Posts
    78
    Quote Originally Posted by ericdanieldavid View Post
    Hello,

    I have a doubt. There was a way to share BIS connection to PC?

    I used my laptop with BB, connecting with TCP mode, but my carrier sent me a very much expensive invoice.

    Help me, please.
    What is your carrier? Tethering is included with the blackberry data plan with tmobile, but for at&t (cingular), tethering is extra on top of your data plan.
    BBADDICT8100@PINSTACK.COM
    NEW PIN 30694B05
    GOOGLETALK: JUDYJUSTIN973
    YAHOO: JUDYJUSTIN973
    AIM: JEEPGIRL2K3

  8. #8
    CoolFinalFan's Avatar
    CoolFinalFan no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    951

    Lightbulb

    ericdanieldavid

    Who's your carrier? Might want to re-figure your data plan with them!

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •