Results 1 to 6 of 6

Is there something I am missing? I have 4.5 on AT&T with the new Google ... BlackBerry GPS forum

  1. #1
    robertmrome's Avatar
    robertmrome no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    143

    Why does Google Maps no longer have GPS?

    Advertisement



    Is there something I am missing?

    I have 4.5 on AT&T with the new Google Maps 2.2.3


    Thanks for all the help!

  2. #2
    5 one's Avatar
    5 one no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    PIN/ID
    Ask me
    Posts
    35
    I have have this problem before on my 8130.

    go to gps under advanced options. gps services should be set to location on
    next go to applications under advanced options go to google maps press the menu key press the edit permissions change the setting to ALLOW. You will need to go outside for it to find your location, may take some time.

    hope this helps.

  3. #3
    doctorklein's Avatar
    doctorklein no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    14
    Quote Originally Posted by robertmrome View Post
    Is there something I am missing?

    I have 4.5 on AT&T with the new Google Maps 2.2.3


    Thanks for all the help!
    It does work, even though the locate me first goes to the cell tower, give it a minute, it will lock onto your gps if activated.

  4. #4
    Mcflip78's Avatar
    Mcflip78 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    5
    Just do a GPS refresh. Once satellites are found. Re-open google maps and go to My Location. It will use the Internal GPS instead of the cell tower triangulation.

  5. #5
    yesimag's Avatar
    yesimag no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    31
    Are you guys saying its possible to use cell tower triangulation without a gps reciever? Does this cost money from your service provider?

  6. #6
    Abbsta's Avatar
    Abbsta no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    PIN/ID
    Stacker
    Posts
    33
    Quote Originally Posted by yesimag View Post
    Are you guys saying its possible to use cell tower triangulation without a gps reciever? Does this cost money from your service provider?
    Short answer: yes and no.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •