Results 1 to 10 of 10

I've been researching trying to find out if the curve uses the newer sirf III ... BlackBerry GPS forum

  1. #1
    ivwshane's Avatar
    ivwshane no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    32

    What gps chip does the 8310/8820 use?

    Advertisement



    I've been researching trying to find out if the curve uses the newer sirf III chip and I can't find any references about it.

    Does anyone know for sure if its the sirf III?

  2. #2
    SDinSD's Avatar
    SDinSD no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    PIN/ID
    24289962
    Posts
    46

    Re: What gps chip does the 8310/8820 use?

    I've been wondering the same thing. Anyone??

  3. #3
    niforpix's Avatar
    niforpix no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    22

    Re: What gps chip does the 8310/8820 use?

    Me too...

  4. #4
    Cisco Kidd's Avatar
    Cisco Kidd no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    131

    Re: What gps chip does the 8310/8820 use?

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~
    Me 3

  5. #5
    Skier87's Avatar
    Skier87 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    188

    Re: What gps chip does the 8310/8820 use?

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

    I guess I make 4. I have seen some references saying that other carrier versions of the 8310 have a sirf star III (i.e. Rogers), but that's the most certain I can be so far. I'm pretty sure the 8820 has it.

  6. #6
    ivwshane's Avatar
    ivwshane no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    32

    Re: What gps chip does the 8310/8820 use?

    Quote Originally Posted by Skier87 View Post
    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

    I guess I make 4. I have seen some references saying that other carrier versions of the 8310 have a sirf star III (i.e. Rogers), but that's the most certain I can be so far. I'm pretty sure the 8820 has it.
    Where exactly are those references? I'd imagine that any 83xx would be using the same chip as well as the 88xx series.

  7. #7
    Schirripal's Avatar
    Schirripal no está en línea Stack Pro
    Join Date
    May 2007
    PIN/ID
    2096c6ec
    Posts
    585

    Re: What gps chip does the 8310/8820 use?

    Saying from pocketnews.com that the sirf star three is an high performance but yet low power consumption chipset hope this helps ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  8. #8
    Schirripal's Avatar
    Schirripal no está en línea Stack Pro
    Join Date
    May 2007
    PIN/ID
    2096c6ec
    Posts
    585

    Re: What gps chip does the 8310/8820 use?

    This link also might give some background on Sirf technology http://sec.edgar-online.com/2004/04/...5/Section2.asp ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  9. #9
    furtive's Avatar
    furtive no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    PIN/ID
    7a47e9f3
    Posts
    400

    Re: What gps chip does the 8310/8820 use?

    how long does it take for signal acquisition on the 88xx series? I guess since we're lacking real evidence of what chipset is in them, we should try to see how good the sig acq is and whether or not it fits SirfIII standards.

    Please try the following:

    1) Cold start the GPS and time how long it takes to get a signal. (should be ~1 min).
    2) Shut off the GPS and wait an hour and fire it back up. How long does it take to reacquire the signal? (the time to first fix should be under 15 seconds).

  10. #10
    Skier87's Avatar
    Skier87 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    188

    Re: What gps chip does the 8310/8820 use?

    Quote Originally Posted by ivwshane View Post
    Where exactly are those references? I'd imagine that any 83xx would be using the same chip as well as the 88xx series.
    Yep, I would think so too...

    there is a reference to the 8800 having a sirf starIII on this site: http://www.computerwire.com/industri...6-0694D24FEBFC

    not sure how reliable it is, but it's in the last paragraph of the article.. it is nice to see some kind of evidence that the 8800 has a sirf III at least
    Last edited by Skier87; 01-02-2008 at 08:03 PM.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •