Results 1 to 13 of 13

This may be a really silly question but .....I was looking through my phone and ... BlackBerry GPS forum

  1. #1
    renizans's Avatar
    renizans no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    14

    Really GPS?

    Advertisement



    This may be a really silly question but .....I was looking through my phone and under advanced options there is a "folder" called GPS. When I opened it says GPS data source and underneath it it says Blackberry 8100. Does this mean that my pearl has GPS? If so, how is the best way to utilize it?

  2. #2
    betavirus's Avatar
    betavirus no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    68
    You need a GPS Puck

  3. #3
    javijavi's Avatar
    javijavi no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    178
    No, that option is there in every blackberry OS, but only used for devices that have built in GPS's. If you were to buy a bluetooth GPS addon it would manage itself.

  4. #4
    Gringo911's Avatar
    Gringo911 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    11
    Well there is this link that has maps with GPS and directions.

    http://www.google.com/gmm/apps/v2.1....=42&ver=v2.1.0

    I am pretty sure that this like does work for every blackberry.

  5. #5
    tws777's Avatar
    tws777 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    259
    Quote Originally Posted by Gringo911 View Post
    Well there is this link that has maps with GPS and directions.

    http://www.google.com/gmm/apps/v2.1....=42&ver=v2.1.0

    I am pretty sure that this like does work for every blackberry.

    This app would use the cell towers to give approx location/ Not GPS

  6. #6
    Gringo911's Avatar
    Gringo911 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    11
    Ok. Lol my bad.but its something I guess,

    But I think that's the closest you can get for GPS on some blackberry's that don't have GPS already on their phone.

  7. #7
    logicbomb.de's Avatar
    logicbomb.de no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    May 2008
    PIN/ID
    24680918
    Posts
    32
    Quote Originally Posted by tws777 View Post
    This app would use the cell towers to give approx location/ Not GPS
    The newest version uses both, actually.

    On my 8110 it first shows your location based off the tower, generally a radius of 900 or 1800 meters.

    Once it gets your gps lock it will display your location with 3 meters.

    I works great - I took it out walking last weekend.

    it wont talk you through the turns tho...

  8. #8
    javijavi's Avatar
    javijavi no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    178
    Google maps is the best free GPS software if you use an actual GPS device, however TeleNav is the best full featured GPS software if you are willing to pay the monthly fee.

    Personally I'd rather Google NOT use cell towers if I have a GPS installed b/c you have to keep in mind, 1800 meters is over a mile! It really serves no purpose for me to be a mile off as I begin to drive aimlessley into the horizon only to have it suddenly get a fix and start re-calculating the best way out of wherever I'm going.

  9. #9
    tws777's Avatar
    tws777 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    259
    Quote Originally Posted by logicbomb.de View Post
    The newest version uses both, actually.

    On my 8110 it first shows your location based off the tower, generally a radius of 900 or 1800 meters.

    Once it gets your gps lock it will display your location with 3 meters.

    I works great - I took it out walking last weekend.

    it wont talk you through the turns tho...
    Your 8110 has GPS, our 8100s don't. I think the cell tower location is pretty cool since we don't have gps. It also makes it easy to search for places.

  10. #10
    mbranscum's Avatar
    mbranscum no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    May 2007
    PIN/ID
    2161A8BC
    Posts
    255
    Quote Originally Posted by javijavi View Post
    1800 meters is over a mile!
    Not quite. There is around 5420 feet in a mile. 1800 meters would be around 1/4 mile.

  11. #11
    javijavi's Avatar
    javijavi no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    178
    Yea but, there are 3 feet to 1 meter. Which comes out to 5400 feet or so. It's more like 1 mile, I exaggerated :P

  12. #12
    mbranscum's Avatar
    mbranscum no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    May 2007
    PIN/ID
    2161A8BC
    Posts
    255
    Quote Originally Posted by javijavi View Post
    Yea but, there are 3 feet to 1 meter. Which comes out to 5400 feet or so. It's more like 1 mile, I exaggerated :P
    Crap! You're right. Not sure what I was thinking. <Walks over and crawls back under large rock>

  13. #13
    RogerG's Avatar
    RogerG no está en línea Stack Administrator
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    21,111
    Quote Originally Posted by mbranscum View Post
    Not quite. There is around 5420 feet in a mile. 1800 meters would be around 1/4 mile.
    5280 feet in a mile, by the way!

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •