Page 5 of 5 FirstFirst 12345
Results 61 to 75 of 75

So basically if its not the individual OS from the carrier then it must be ... BlackBerry GPS forum

  1. #61
    yettiman2208's Avatar
    yettiman2208 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    PIN/ID
    ASK
    Posts
    142

    Advertisement



    So basically if its not the individual OS from the carrier then it must be the service books that are crippling the GPS,

    or is it the firmware?

  2. #62
    jbeauvois's Avatar
    jbeauvois no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    1
    I think i have the SAME problem with the VODAFONE UK 8310

    Check out my topic on the vodafone eforum

    http://forum.vodafone.co.uk/index.ph...87&hl=gps+lock

  3. #63
    mcm180's Avatar
    mcm180 no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    PIN/ID
    mcm180
    Posts
    1,117
    Quote Originally Posted by yettiman2208 View Post
    So basically if its not the individual OS from the carrier then it must be the service books that are crippling the GPS,

    or is it the firmware?

    correct



    damn them!!1 hahahahhaha
    "Since we cannot know all that there is to be known about anything, we ought to know a little about everything." ~BLAISE PASCAL

  4. #64
    glowingmoose's Avatar
    glowingmoose no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    3

    Lightbulb ok to set a few things straight

    1. I agree that Verizon makes enough money that they SHOULD allow gps service for BlackBerry (BBY) users!!! Remember this as you read.
    2. BBY's "built-in" gps isn't what you all think of as standard gps. It's considered A-GPS which is assisted gps. . . which takes info from gps satalites as well as the triagulated position from the verizon towers to fix your location.
    3. If they allow the feature it will increase the amount of data transfer they recieve due to the fact that it relies on the actual towers as well as the towers. In my mind this point is not that big of a deal I think that it will be negligible.
    4. The only way verizon is going to allow this feature is if they decide that they want to, they have enough deniablility about the gps advertisment/customer support techs that they can get away with it if they want to.
    5. The point that gps is free doesn't hold water since the chip sold with the phone that we own (yes I have an 8830 that I bought for the gps feature and subsiquently got screwed) is only an a-gps chip which requires the support of the phones Service provider ehphasis on SERVICE.
    6. The reason that at&t users have it is because apple made them for the iPhone. which was a feature they added later. iPhones first edition didn't have any gps and it could only get "gps"(not true gps) info from the triangulation from the towers so you at&t users can thank Steve Jobs for that one.

    I really hope that they will grow a conscience and just let it go. It really is stupid that they just don't realize that happy costomers are more willing to pay them money when they don't feel that they are getting robbed. Case and point: go and ask a friend for $10 see if he'll give it to you. the next day come up behind him and grab his wallet and see what he does! You'll be lucky to dodge his left hook right. Sorry this got long but I've been researching this for a long time and thought it was time for someone to put all this in one post. copy and past away fellow bloggers.

    Thanks GlowingMoose

  5. #65
    glowingmoose's Avatar
    glowingmoose no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    3
    this is bull as it clearly gives the option in the options for the phone to turn the gps to 911 only or location on.

  6. #66
    glowingmoose's Avatar
    glowingmoose no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    3
    sorry this was in response to the security post sorry (such a noob)

  7. #67
    j llama's Avatar
    j llama no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    PIN/ID
    4U2ASKME
    Posts
    4,319
    Quote Originally Posted by glowingmoose View Post
    this is bull as it clearly gives the option in the options for the phone to turn the gps to 911 only or location on.
    Yup.
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist

  8. #68
    bladeberry's Avatar
    bladeberry no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    PIN/ID
    318b6284
    Posts
    110
    mY POSITION is that if the phone was sold with it the feature should not be able to be locked i think rim should have told them its not possible just like sprint locking mms but i pay for mms in the simply everything you have unlimited mms but what nothing
    its crappy verry verry crappy

    i also tthink cdma phones should have wifi

  9. #69
    vangorder's Avatar
    vangorder no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    PIN/ID
    Just Ask
    Posts
    198
    Quote Originally Posted by glowingmoose View Post
    2. BBY's "built-in" gps isn't what you all think of as standard gps. It's considered A-GPS which is assisted gps. . . which takes info from gps satalites as well as the triagulated position from the verizon towers to fix your location.
    3. If they allow the feature it will increase the amount of data transfer they recieve due to the fact that it relies on the actual towers as well as the towers. In my mind this point is not that big of a deal I think that it will be negligible.
    5. The point that gps is free doesn't hold water since the chip sold with the phone that we own (yes I have an 8830 that I bought for the gps feature and subsiquently got screwed) is only an a-gps chip which requires the support of the phones Service provider ehphasis on SERVICE.
    You obviously didn't read the first post in regards to the letter from the RIM representative. Fail. The only thing the phone's REAL built-in GPS "relies" on the service provider for is downloading map data ergo your data plan. It has the ability to USE a-GPS, but doesn't RELY on it. They would see no further data increase than they have already.
    Last edited by vangorder; 09-30-2008 at 12:17 PM.
    You have two ears, two eyes, and one mouth;
    therefore, listen and observe twice as often as you speak.

  10. #70
    tavella81's Avatar
    tavella81 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    266
    Out of curiosity, has anyone attempted to use QPST to change the GPSOne settings? I was able to activate GPS on my friends HTC-6800 with Alltel by keying in the GPS server information. Just a thought. I know HTC released a driver that allows your to dial ##DIAG and it goes in to a certain mode that allows access to a lot of the phones internal programming. BEWARE because you can jack up your phone. More info can be found at ppcgeeks or xda-developers regarding the GPS server info.

  11. #71
    j llama's Avatar
    j llama no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    PIN/ID
    4U2ASKME
    Posts
    4,319
    I know ##000000 will bring up the CDMA service edit screen.
    The only entry not listed is the "A-Key:"

    Interesting point Tavella.
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Qpst says QPST (Qualcomm Product Support Tool) is a Qualcomm shipset dev kit thingaroo. Qualcomm is the maker of the GPS chipset built into the device.

    hmmmmmmm
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist

  12. #72
    j llama's Avatar
    j llama no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    PIN/ID
    4U2ASKME
    Posts
    4,319
    Well verizon may have finally listened, the new BlackBerry Storm has A-GPS that is not locked down to just VZNAV, will work with Google Maps and other 3rd party apps a Verizon rep told me today.

    I will keep my fingers crossed, but won't hold my breath lol.
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist

  13. #73
    j llama's Avatar
    j llama no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    PIN/ID
    4U2ASKME
    Posts
    4,319
    Thank you verizon for finally unlocking GPS, took you long enough. They at least unlocked GPS for use with BBMaps but not Google Maps yet.
    Last edited by j llama; 11-24-2008 at 04:45 PM.
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist

  14. #74
    j llama's Avatar
    j llama no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    PIN/ID
    4U2ASKME
    Posts
    4,319
    BGR is reporting Big Red has unlocked GPS for use with BlackBerry Maps on the 8130 and 8330!!!

    http://www.boygeniusreport.com/2008/...he-8130-pearl/
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist

  15. #75
    mcm180's Avatar
    mcm180 no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    PIN/ID
    mcm180
    Posts
    1,117
    yup, you can even geo tag pictures. Not working for google maps or spot jots, but this is a start ... I guess.
    "Since we cannot know all that there is to be known about anything, we ought to know a little about everything." ~BLAISE PASCAL

Page 5 of 5 FirstFirst 12345

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •