Results 1 to 15 of 15

Well there's a new version of google maps out (version 2.2.0). I just downloaded it ... BlackBerry GPS forum

  1. #1
    ERShotty's Avatar
    ERShotty no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    PIN/ID
    3057b8bc
    Posts
    62

    new google maps 2.2.0 out

    Advertisement



    Well there's a new version of google maps out (version 2.2.0). I just downloaded it off the google website. Hopefully it has the gps fix for all the 8330s who only have tower triangulation available. Even though, if you're with telus (as I am) and have intermittent gps, hopefully someone out there can find out if this update is a "fix" and works at all with the 8330 GPS unit
    Ernest Rosales
    Email: erosales@telus.blackberry.net
    Windows Live: kweenzalum03@hotmail.com

  2. #2
    ERShotty's Avatar
    ERShotty no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    PIN/ID
    3057b8bc
    Posts
    62
    Most noticable is the lack of the "bluetooth gps" option. Still not working for me in terms of the gps. But neither is blackberry maps right now and my telus navigator free subscription is done. Damn!

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  3. #3
    jsaradhi's Avatar
    jsaradhi no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    411
    lemme try and see...wat r the updates/changes in this version from 2.1.0?

    mine works just fine...i have a bluetooth gps option too...will play with it more...

    transit directions seems to b one of new features...along with an enhanced search screen
    Last edited by jsaradhi; 06-05-2008 at 09:02 PM.

  4. #4
    ERShotty's Avatar
    ERShotty no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    PIN/ID
    3057b8bc
    Posts
    62
    Not really sure what the changes are other than the transit option, which seems pretty cool. Anyone out there notice any.other "upgrades"?
    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  5. #5
    Maroon's Avatar
    Maroon no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    20
    Seems much faster to me. And I like the new color scheme.
    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  6. #6
    ERShotty's Avatar
    ERShotty no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    PIN/ID
    3057b8bc
    Posts
    62
    Good news for those with the 8330. The new google maps does work with the internal gps. Now all us telus users need is a fix for our intermittetnt gps and we're good to go.

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  7. #7
    lucky13mt's Avatar
    lucky13mt no está en línea Stack level 6
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    PIN/ID
    N/A
    Posts
    2,818
    Thanks for the info.
    BlackBerry Rocks!<-Check it out!

  8. #8
    tfrankson's Avatar
    tfrankson no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    PIN/ID
    2845FBAD
    Posts
    968
    Thanks, downloading now

  9. #9
    BerrySmartUser's Avatar
    BerrySmartUser no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    179
    Downloaded and installed.. Hoping this was going to fix the "My Location" issues I seem to have at home.

    I have 3 cell towers within a mile from my house, yet when at home, the "My Location" feature places me about 50 miles south of my location..

    Strange though, while at work about 20 miles away from home, works just fine..

  10. #10
    drew4flt72's Avatar
    drew4flt72 no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    520
    Quote Originally Posted by dantek View Post
    Downloaded and installed.. Hoping this was going to fix the "My Location" issues I seem to have at home.

    I have 3 cell towers within a mile from my house, yet when at home, the "My Location" feature places me about 50 miles south of my location..

    Strange though, while at work about 20 miles away from home, works just fine..
    Ditto..... I have a tower about 300 yds away and it takes me well across town

  11. #11
    etervotion's Avatar
    etervotion no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    22
    its pretty cool. They have a public transit option now. Also seems to load super fast for me now

  12. #12
    duval_happiness's Avatar
    duval_happiness no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    PIN/ID
    2449b097
    Posts
    194
    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~going now I will be back with comments

  13. #13
    drdoom23's Avatar
    drdoom23 no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    828
    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~on my curve 8310 itd telling me in valid cod

  14. #14
    zantopad's Avatar
    zantopad no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    157

  15. #15
    kemtek.1's Avatar
    kemtek.1 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    14
    Quote Originally Posted by ERShotty View Post
    Not really sure what the changes are other than the transit option, which seems pretty cool. Anyone out there notice any.other "upgrades"?
    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~
    The 'search' seems to work better. Previously you needed to click the search box, a new screen would open, type your search term(s), click OK, then search. Now, the search item is typed in right on first screen then OKed.

    Some screens do seem to load faster. I need to take it for a drive to see if it can load fast enough to keep the maps on top of the location dot while using GPS puck. I had times when driving it would be a blue dot in a blank screen until I slowed down enough for the downloading maps to be current.

    I have no use for the transit option, I live where there is no public transit system. But I do see how it would be useful.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •