Results 1 to 12 of 12

Will Nav4all work on an 8830 on the Verizon network?... BlackBerry GPS forum

  1. #1
    bbueding's Avatar
    bbueding no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    PIN/ID
    ask
    Posts
    325

    Nav4all

    Advertisement



    Will Nav4all work on an 8830 on the Verizon network?

  2. #2
    cliffr39's Avatar
    cliffr39 no está en línea Stack level 7
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    PIN/ID
    317ASKME
    Posts
    3,064

    Re: Nav4all

    I am pretty sure that Verizon crippled the internal GPS to only work with their GPS applications.
    ~A BlackBerry without a data plan is just a berry without the crack.~
    Links to common questions.

  3. #3
    bbueding's Avatar
    bbueding no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    PIN/ID
    ask
    Posts
    325

    Re: Nav4all

    you are probably right, the program downloaded fine, but the screen keeps says connecting to GPS, but it never does! Thanks.

  4. #4
    bbueding's Avatar
    bbueding no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    PIN/ID
    ask
    Posts
    325

    Re: Nav4all

    Does that mean no program will work with the 8830 on Verizon except VZ Navigator?

  5. #5
    spikus's Avatar
    spikus no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    PIN/ID
    317a9127
    Posts
    130

    Re: Nav4all

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~that is correct. I have tried many, but will only let you use vz nav...its unfortunate. But at least they didn't completely shut it off.

  6. #6
    tafaghodi's Avatar
    tafaghodi no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    108

    Re: Nav4all

    there has got to be some hackers on this board that have the know how on how to unlock this feature

  7. #7
    kmiller546's Avatar
    kmiller546 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    2

    Re: Nav4all

    I have the same problem on my 8830. VZ Navigator works fine, but I am on my way to Europe. Any update on this? Anyone heard of a way to unlock this yet?

  8. #8
    firegeek's Avatar
    firegeek no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    222

    Re: Nav4all

    There is alway GoogleMaps. That works off of the cell towers. You can use Nav4All with a GPS puck. They are available online for about 40-60 bucks. I remember seeing one somewhere that was a key chain FOB. They work off of BT and seem to be really reliable.
    Firegeek......and crackberry addict

  9. #9
    kmiller546's Avatar
    kmiller546 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    2

    Re: Nav4all

    Spoke to Verizon and they claim that they are waiting on RIM to release new software to make the GPS available to applications other then VZ Navigator. They couldn't commit to a date but said to monitor vzam.net for updates. They insisted that this is not done deliberately for business reasons, that it is a feature that will be released. Believe what you want.

  10. #10
    MysticMoonstone's Avatar
    MysticMoonstone no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    40
    i'm really beginning to HATE verizon... this is ridiculous.... i'm not paying a whopping 10 bucks a month for THEIR navigation service. I've gotten to a point with them that i might cancel them once my effing contract is up.

  11. #11
    MysticMoonstone's Avatar
    MysticMoonstone no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    40
    Quote Originally Posted by cliffr39 View Post
    I am pretty sure that Verizon crippled the internal GPS to only work with their GPS applications.
    Verizon couldn't have crippled it completely, because in the event you have an emergency, rescue services use the GPS in your phone to find you if it's on. I know this for one reason: it's happened to me. They found me and i didnt tell them where i was at because i was lost and crashed my car.

  12. #12
    prettyboy2388's Avatar
    prettyboy2388 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    PIN/ID
    249E145B
    Posts
    14
    you can try amaze gps. I have it for my bold. Hopefully, it will work.
    Stephane 'thedoc' Elias

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •