Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 16 to 30 of 45

It's 604 kb RoGRo... BlackBerry GPS forum

  1. #16
    cgaliffi's Avatar
    cgaliffi no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    PIN/ID
    22D95A46
    Posts
    703

    Advertisement



    It's 604 kb RoGRo

  2. #17
    raton's Avatar
    raton no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    PIN/ID
    7BF68784
    Posts
    5,730
    Quote Originally Posted by blondee028 View Post
    I tried to install amaze gps it gave me a password but it won't work. I had to unstall it. any suggestions???????????? sounds like its a good thing, if it works!

    Try to download it again and install it. Be sure to be outside to get better reception i guess. You were given a username and password when downloading it right? well, next time you run it it'll ask you to put that information in the blank spaces provided and then you're good to go And if you forgot your password and username then just go to amaze gps' website and get a new one. This thing rocks! good luck

  3. #18
    RogerG's Avatar
    RogerG no está en línea Stack Administrator
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    21,111
    Quote Originally Posted by cgaliffi View Post
    It's 604 kb RoGRo
    Thank you!

  4. #19
    jblackfish's Avatar
    jblackfish no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    11,116
    I found this application laborious to operate and a real patience-tester because it's so slow in its functioning. It took so long to change the state in the navigate section that I lost interest just about the time I got to the state I wanted.

    I appreciate a free application as much as the next guy but really, life's too short.

    Anyone else feel this way - maybe I'm doing something wrong? Are there any shortcuts, i.e. page up, page down, etc?
    For every complex problem there is a solution, that is simple, neat, .....and wrong! (H. L. Mencken) jblackfish(at)pinstack(dot)com

  5. #20
    raton's Avatar
    raton no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    PIN/ID
    7BF68784
    Posts
    5,730
    I'm not sure why it would take so long for you to find the state. However, if you scroll real fast it won't move as fast as you would want. Only if you scroll calmly it should scroll down rather faster. Besides switching states only takes approximately 10 seconds for me to scroll down to the very last one. Once you've set up your state of preference it should remain as your favorite.

  6. #21
    jblackfish's Avatar
    jblackfish no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    11,116
    Quote Originally Posted by raton View Post
    I'm not sure why it would take so long for you to find the state. However, if you scroll real fast it won't move as fast as you would want. Only if you scroll calmly it should scroll down rather faster. Besides switching states only takes approximately 10 seconds for me to scroll down to the very last one. Once you've set up your state of preference it should remain as your favorite.
    I found scrolling with the trackball very slow - it took me at least a minute to scroll from Arkansas (my state) to Tennessee to get a Memphis address in there. I gave up before completing the street address. I'll try again when I get outside today before I scrub it completely.

    Thanks.
    For every complex problem there is a solution, that is simple, neat, .....and wrong! (H. L. Mencken) jblackfish(at)pinstack(dot)com

  7. #22
    bonebox's Avatar
    bonebox no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    232
    Quote Originally Posted by jblackfish View Post
    I found this application laborious to operate and a real patience-tester because it's so slow in its functioning. It took so long to change the state in the navigate section that I lost interest just about the time I got to the state I wanted.

    I appreciate a free application as much as the next guy but really, life's too short.

    Anyone else feel this way - maybe I'm doing something wrong? Are there any shortcuts, i.e. page up, page down, etc?
    I second this. I had tried it when it was at a lower version and it was so slow that it was unusable. I reinstalled recently when I noticed the major update, and this time it functioned well enough to actually be able to use it, but still very slow. I also had my wife try it out on her BB because she drives more than I do. Despite the slowness we tested it for a few days, but both of us have since uninstalled it because it gave absolutely horrid directions almost every time we used it.

    We've been using Nav4All with moderate success. The navigation is also sometimes spotty and the interface isn't as slick as aMaze, but overall it's been more reliable and accurate for us.

    We're just about to bite the bullet and get a pay service for voice navigation because currently none of the free offerings are worth the hassle.

  8. #23
    jblackfish's Avatar
    jblackfish no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    11,116
    Thanks Bonebox, Haven't come across you in a while. Your experience agrees with mine in using this application - it's too bad because it has the possibility of being a snazzy little GPS application except for its accuracy and cumbersome way you are given to maneuver through it.
    For every complex problem there is a solution, that is simple, neat, .....and wrong! (H. L. Mencken) jblackfish(at)pinstack(dot)com

  9. #24
    raton's Avatar
    raton no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    PIN/ID
    7BF68784
    Posts
    5,730
    For those of you including myself with problems with the backlight dimming you can use "bblight" found here at Pinstack just do a search on it or go here http://blackberrytools.sourceforge.net/OverTheAir/

    Sorry about that but above is only offering version 1.81 i believe but here is a link for the latest versions of it including desktop downloads i hope they allow me to post the link here. http://www.alldeaf.com/deaf-products...ot-better.html
    Last edited by raton; 08-25-2008 at 10:42 PM.

  10. #25
    rdgoeson4ever's Avatar
    rdgoeson4ever no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    36
    great mention, I'm trying this out right now.

  11. #26
    raton's Avatar
    raton no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    PIN/ID
    7BF68784
    Posts
    5,730

    Thumbs up Keep your Backlight from going off when using Amazegps

    Quote Originally Posted by rdgoeson4ever View Post
    great mention, I'm trying this out right now.
    Here are my settings for bblight so i can keep my backlight from going off when using Amazegps : Active on startup checked. Always on when: outside of holster. Now, if you want your bb to light up when you receive sms and your emails simply check the boxes next to them. Remember the settings must be placed before using amazegps and of course be sure to SAVE the settings. after using your amazegps then just uncheck the box for out of holster and save so you can save battery life. I hope you find this useful and if you already knew this then i guess there was no need

  12. #27
    wolfmanrobby's Avatar
    wolfmanrobby no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    1
    Well, I tried Amaze, older and newer versions. Honestly, it's slow, much too clumsy to use...

    I use Google Maps with a Bluetooth GPS on my 8300 and it's flawless, even when navigating. I pull in directions from "Point a" to "point B" - then once I get in motion, I hit 0 to see my current location. The little arrow follows me, and the path is displayed in purple... I can hit one key to view the next turn, but I find if I keep it at the right zoom level, I can see the turn coming up.

    It's quick, it's free, it's accurate....it works for me...

  13. #28
    vince1's Avatar
    vince1 no está en línea Community Pro
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    PIN/ID
    Stack
    Posts
    3,676
    I find with Google it doesn't move smoothly at all. It jumps instead of scrolling which I find annoying. But I do use it in work to work out distances and times for quoting jobs.

  14. #29
    Dube's Avatar
    Dube no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    43
    i have a 8820...and was wondering if this works with wi-fi

  15. #30
    goldenhours's Avatar
    goldenhours no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    PIN/ID
    ask
    Posts
    86
    Quote Originally Posted by wolfmanrobby View Post
    Well, I tried Amaze, older and newer versions. Honestly, it's slow, much too clumsy to use...

    I use Google Maps with a Bluetooth GPS on my 8300 and it's flawless, even when navigating. I pull in directions from "Point a" to "point B" - then once I get in motion, I hit 0 to see my current location. The little arrow follows me, and the path is displayed in purple... I can hit one key to view the next turn, but I find if I keep it at the right zoom level, I can see the turn coming up.

    It's quick, it's free, it's accurate....it works for me...
    I totally agree with that. Google Maps works great for me!

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •