Results 1 to 8 of 8

This is my first post in this forum. I own a blackberry 8800 and i ... BlackBerry GPS forum

  1. #1
    Khaiser's Avatar
    Khaiser no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    4

    hi! all - GPS problem

    Advertisement



    This is my first post in this forum. I own a blackberry 8800 and i have a few questions about GPS.

    According to my provider i can use GPS without any problems but it doesn't seems to work at all. It doesn't find any satellite. I tried to type #HELP* to see if GPS is in fact active but it doesn't work (the blackberry transforms the letters into numbers when i press the send button).

    How can i check if GPS is active for me? (My provider says it is, but i am not sure if that is true)

    By the way, i am from Chile.

    Thanks.-

  2. #2
    pinpoint's Avatar
    pinpoint no está en línea Themes Pro
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    PIN/ID
    ask me.
    Posts
    625

    Re: hi! all - GPS problem

    by running BBMaps then going to Menu->Start GPS
    dcrin3.com
    One Second Coming
    1s-
    Tour - 9/6/9 | ~3pm

  3. #3
    Khaiser's Avatar
    Khaiser no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    4

    Re: hi! all - GPS problem

    Quote Originally Posted by pinpoint
    by running BBMaps then going to Menu->Start GPS
    The GPS is not working, but according to my provider it should be working. So I want to make sure if there is a problem with my BB (probably broken equipment) or in some IT Policy or something like that my provider is actually blocking my GPS and not telling me (so I can have proof of what they are doing).

    The #HELP* thing was what I was looking for, but It doesn't work.

  4. #4
    hayden's Avatar
    hayden no está en línea Stack Mod
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    PIN/ID
    ask
    Posts
    12,440

    Re: hi! all - GPS problem

    Via "options" never finds any satellites for me either. But as said above:

    by running BB Maps then going to Menu->Start GPS

    Thats how I've used it also

  5. #5
    BenMarvin's Avatar
    BenMarvin no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    PIN/ID
    Ask Me!
    Posts
    1,970

    Re: hi! all - GPS problem

    Who is your provider?

  6. #6
    Khaiser's Avatar
    Khaiser no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    4
    Quote Originally Posted by BenMarvin
    Who is your provider?
    Entel PCS

  7. #7
    Dubdub's Avatar
    Dubdub no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    PIN/ID
    23FEFDC4
    Posts
    653

    Re: hi! all - GPS problem

    Make sure you are outside with a good view of the sky. Also make sure GPS is turned on as stated above.

  8. #8
    Khaiser's Avatar
    Khaiser no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    4

    Re: hi! all - GPS problem

    Here we use an application from Garmin because Blackberry maps doesn't have Santiago (Chile) yet. It works just like Blackberry Maps, including the "Start GPS" thing.

    I think that my provider may be blocking in some way the GPS because when I first switched from my old 8100 phone I had problems with the EDGE network and I noticed a small "crosshair" like icon where the Bluetooth icon is supposed to be. During that period I was able to use the GPS without any problem (using Garmin Mobile Chile software) including voice directions and stuff like that. But because the EDGE was not working properly (I realized that when I didn't receive any mail in about an hour, regardless that I had internet access) I contacted my provider support number and they fixed the situation in a few minutes. Right after that the GPS stopped working, despite the fact that my provider says it should work and is active. So in some point my GPS just malfunction or my provider is lying to me.

    The Garmin Mobile software is included by default in every Blackberry 8800. It is an expensive software and every client can use it for free, so I don't think It is coherent to make available software like that only to block the GPS. I don't want to deliver the Blackberry to technical support since I really need it right now and I don't have time to waste. I want to check first if the GPS is being blocked by a policy of some sort and then take the next step if needed.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •