Results 1 to 11 of 11

Guys i need help. I just got my 8310 (same problem with my 8800) i ... BlackBerry GPS forum

  1. #1
    pearlbabyboi's Avatar
    pearlbabyboi no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    12

    Cant load blackberry maps

    Advertisement



    Guys i need help. I just got my 8310 (same problem with my 8800) i cannot load maps. I tried going on the bb site and it says error. try again. "seraching for your device, cannot find"

    I tried searchign for help but the only help it gives me is about google maps.

    NO idea... + i tried installing the newst software stuff and i still cant install 3rd party apllication ARGGGG!!!!

  2. #2
    jdellasala's Avatar
    jdellasala no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    1,573

    Re: Cant load blackberry maps

    Note that AT&T is notorious for not allowing access to RIM OTA sites - like for their IM clients! BlackBerry maps is one of those apps, but sometimes the OTA link works.

    This is the OTA link:
    http://www.blackberry.com/devicesoft...y.do?code=maps

    If that doesn't work, from IE 6 or better with your BlackBerry plugged into the computer's USB port, go to this link:
    http://www.blackberry.com/maps

    For whatever reason the Web loader always works - even for apps like Yahoo Messenger.
    .
    JerryD

  3. #3
    pearlbabyboi's Avatar
    pearlbabyboi no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    12

    Re: Cant load blackberry maps

    sigh. i tried both links. did the same thing. plug in your bb. doesnt read or error please try again. unable to load. ARGGGG

  4. #4
    jdellasala's Avatar
    jdellasala no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    1,573

    Re: Cant load blackberry maps

    Quote Originally Posted by pearlbabyboi
    sigh. i tried both links. did the same thing. plug in your bb. doesnt read or error please try again. unable to load. ARGGGG
    For the Web link (http://www.blackberry.com/maps) what OS and what version of IE? Do you have Administrator level rights on the machine? Does the Web page detect the BlackBerry?
    .
    JerryD

  5. #5
    pearlbabyboi's Avatar
    pearlbabyboi no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    12

    Re: Cant load blackberry maps

    Hm.. The webpage itself does not detected the balckberry it just says error. Im using windows xp (had vista before but i downgraded). Ithink i am using IE 6.0?

  6. #6
    cherrichiodo's Avatar
    cherrichiodo no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    ATA
    Posts
    17,164

    Re: Cant load blackberry maps

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

    Download the device OS for your berry. Install it on your pc. Run desktop manager. Choose app loader. Blackberry maps should be one of the choices in the list of applications to be installed. Make sure the box is checked (can also check/uncheck other stuff like tasks, memo, password keeper, etc) and then click next. Let the wizard run

  7. #7
    pearlbabyboi's Avatar
    pearlbabyboi no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    12

    Re: Cant load blackberry maps

    I must be the dumbest person or the most non blackberry oriented person here. Thanks for everyone that helped me but it still does not work! i tried downloading the "latest OS" for my device. I downloaded this Media manager 9 or the link fom blackberry called it Service Pack 2. but it ended up being the same thing i had already on my computer. If someone can send me the DIRECT link i will LOVE you FOREVER!
    I have a curve, 8310, and im with rogers in canada. I appreciate all your help. I know everyone that has helped me is frustrated but im going crazy! aiyaaaa

  8. #8
    pearlbabyboi's Avatar
    pearlbabyboi no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    12

    Re: Cant load blackberry maps

    https://www.blackberry.com/Downloads/browseSoftware.do

    Heres the link for my OS...or w/e. But i cannot find the one for my phone.
    help?

    V4.2.2.163 (Platform 2.5.0.24) (my phone)

  9. #9
    jdellasala's Avatar
    jdellasala no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    1,573

    Re: Cant load blackberry maps

    Man, you are a glutton for punishment! DOWNGRADING from Vista??? Desktop Manager with that obese Media Manager??? It's amazing your machine even boots!

    My first recommendation is to reformat your drive and get a CLEAN installation of XP.

    If you don't want to do that, take a look at my post on USB woes here: http://blackberryforums.pinstack.com...ire_usb.html#3

    The 8310 OS is available at:
    AT&T (v4.2.2.170): https://www.blackberry.com/Downloads...E4F82F9F00E7D4
    Rogers (v4.2.2.163): https://www.blackberry.com/Downloads...C068A355BBA31A

    It looks like BlackBerry Maps is included in both versions.
    Last edited by jdellasala; 11-01-2007 at 08:34 AM.
    .
    JerryD

  10. #10
    oBBsessed's Avatar
    oBBsessed no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    PIN/ID
    24697018
    Posts
    24

    Re: Cant load blackberry maps

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

    I know this is Rogers and not AT&T, but does Rogers block BBMaps with the same language in the lbs.alx? (Don't remember noticing that but I thought it was worth mentioning.)

  11. #11
    pearlbabyboi's Avatar
    pearlbabyboi no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    12

    Re: Cant load blackberry maps

    Quote Originally Posted by jdellasala View Post
    Man, you are a glutton for punishment! DOWNGRADING from Vista??? Desktop Manager with that obese Media Manager??? It's amazing your machine even boots!

    My first recommendation is to reformat your drive and get a CLEAN installation of XP.

    If you don't want to do that, take a look at my post on USB woes here: http://blackberryforums.pinstack.com...ire_usb.html#3

    The 8310 OS is available at:
    AT&T (v4.2.2.170): https://www.blackberry.com/Downloads...E4F82F9F00E7D4
    Rogers (v4.2.2.163): https://www.blackberry.com/Downloads...C068A355BBA31A

    It looks like BlackBerry Maps is included in both versions.
    I am going to try that now im on vista now...this is my pc...not laptop....my laptop still xp tho beyahhhh. thanks will reply soon

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •