Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 20

Hi all, Maybe this has been covered, but I didn't find it. I've recently upgraded ... BlackBerry GPS forum

  1. #1
    tbonanno's Avatar
    tbonanno no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    57

    Can BB Maps or Google Maps display Coordinates ?

    Advertisement



    Hi all,

    Maybe this has been covered, but I didn't find it. I've recently upgraded my 8830 to the latest 4.5 (135) OS. I was trying to find the latitude and longitude of my location using Blackberry Maps or Google Maps (version 3.0.1). I thought that I use to be able to do this, but I could not find anyway to display the GPS coordinates with either of these programs on my BB.

    Any help greatly appreciated.

    Tony
    Tony Bonanno Photography, LLC
    Santa Fe, New Mexico USA

  2. #2
    rajafarhan's Avatar
    rajafarhan no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    PIN/ID
    20F44149
    Posts
    484
    I'm not sure you can do that on the mini version which runs on the blackberry. But I'll look for a app for you.
    ~via smartphone mobile.pinstack.com~

  3. #3
    reddrvgon's Avatar
    reddrvgon no está en línea Stack level 8
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    PIN/ID
    ask me
    Posts
    6,417
    Easiest ways to check your coordinates in from the BB's setup menu...

    Options > advanced options > GPS

    Click refresh a few times when you're in gps range and it'll give you lat and long...

    Hope that helps.

    Also, I use a program called gpsed, to track my movement and other data, that gives coordinates on its native screen, but no map...

    Hope this helps...
    ~via smartphone mobile.pinstack.com~

  4. #4
    tbonanno's Avatar
    tbonanno no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    57
    Thanks rajafarhan,

    Just found a free coordinates / GPS app that looks really good so far. Takes a bit of memory (about 950kb), but has a lot of nice features. I wish the BB Map/Google Maps would do it as I would rather keep the number of apps at a minimum. But the authors seem to have done a good job on this. The app is called BlackStar. The app is an OTA download at ..

    http://tinyurl.com/gpsnav

    Others might want to check it out.

    Cheers,

    Tony
    Tony Bonanno Photography, LLC
    Santa Fe, New Mexico USA

  5. #5
    tbonanno's Avatar
    tbonanno no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    57
    Quote Originally Posted by reddrvgon View Post
    Easiest ways to check your coordinates in from the BB's setup menu...

    Options > advanced options > GPS

    Click refresh a few times when you're in gps range and it'll give you lat and long...

    Hope that helps.

    Also, I use a program called gpsed, to track my movement and other data, that gives coordinates on its native screen, but no map...

    Hope this helps...
    ~via smartphone mobile.pinstack.com~
    Hit "refresh" .... don't see this option on my BB ?
    Tony Bonanno Photography, LLC
    Santa Fe, New Mexico USA

  6. #6
    reddrvgon's Avatar
    reddrvgon no está en línea Stack level 8
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    PIN/ID
    ask me
    Posts
    6,417
    When you're in the gps menu with your device gps selected, the menu option there should be "refresh gps"
    ~via smartphone mobile.pinstack.com~

  7. #7
    rajafarhan's Avatar
    rajafarhan no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    PIN/ID
    20F44149
    Posts
    484
    Quote Originally Posted by tbonanno View Post
    Thanks rajafarhan,

    Just found a free coordinates / GPS app that looks really good so far. Takes a bit of memory (about 950kb), but has a lot of nice features. I wish the BB Map/Google Maps would do it as I would rather keep the number of apps at a minimum. But the authors seem to have done a good job on this. The app is called BlackStar. The app is an OTA download at ..

    http://tinyurl.com/gpsnav

    Others might want to check it out.

    Cheers,

    Tony
    Thanks I'll definitely check it out...
    ~via smartphone mobile.pinstack.com~

  8. #8
    reddrvgon's Avatar
    reddrvgon no está en línea Stack level 8
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    PIN/ID
    ask me
    Posts
    6,417
    Guys... You all absolutely must try GPSED... The site is gpsed.com

    This is a much better software than blackstar...

    I've been using it for a while...

    Features:
    You can make tracks with visual representation, set waypoints and then upload the map to their site.
    It has a compass with bearings in degrees
    It gives you the duration of your trip
    Average spped
    Altitude
    And it can even post updates for you on facebook, myspace, twitter...
    You can also email your buddies with your latest location, and they'll get an email with a satalite image of where u are

    Premium edition also gives you an sms emergency feature for SOS incase you're in trouble n need help...


    No I don't work for em... But this software will do all you want and more for sure...

    Do try it and lemme know what you think...

    Enjoy...
    ~via smartphone mobile.pinstack.com~

  9. #9
    tbonanno's Avatar
    tbonanno no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    57
    Now that I've tried both GPSED and Blackstar, I will have to agree that I prefer the GPSED app. Just seems more usable, especially the larger fonts that I can actually see without my reading glasses... Thanks Reddrvgon.
    Tony Bonanno Photography, LLC
    Santa Fe, New Mexico USA

  10. #10
    tbonanno's Avatar
    tbonanno no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    57
    Quote Originally Posted by reddrvgon View Post
    When you're in the gps menu with your device gps selected, the menu option there should be "refresh gps"
    ~via smartphone mobile.pinstack.com~
    No "refresh" is showing up on my 8830 with OS 4.5 (135). Just doesn't seem to be an option. Playing with the GPSED app now which seems to work well.

    Thanks though for the suggestion.

    tony
    Tony Bonanno Photography, LLC
    Santa Fe, New Mexico USA

  11. #11
    zsafwan's Avatar
    zsafwan no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    PIN/ID
    255BA476
    Posts
    34
    Yes GPSed is a lot better than BlackStar and gives you more. It's my favorite GPS app

  12. #12
    reddrvgon's Avatar
    reddrvgon no está en línea Stack level 8
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    PIN/ID
    ask me
    Posts
    6,417
    Mine too... Glad ya'll like it... Enjoy...
    ~via smartphone mobile.pinstack.com~

  13. #13
    disctosser's Avatar
    disctosser no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    May 2008
    PIN/ID
    ask me!
    Posts
    147
    I believe there is an option to email location. When you select it, it opens an email with a Link pre-typed for you. The last portion of that link will actually be your GPS coordinates. Its kind of a redneck way of doing it, but that is what I have been doing. But I am also on VZW so i can't use anything but bbmaps.
    ~via smartphone mobile.pinstack.com~

  14. #14
    tbonanno's Avatar
    tbonanno no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    57
    Sending the location by email from BB Maps does seem to be an option as the coordinates are in the link. Good tip.
    Tony Bonanno Photography, LLC
    Santa Fe, New Mexico USA

  15. #15
    reddrvgon's Avatar
    reddrvgon no está en línea Stack level 8
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    PIN/ID
    ask me
    Posts
    6,417
    The problem with google maps is that it doesn't work if you don't have signal...

    The problem with bb maps is that it doesn't have maps for all countries, and it also doesn't have satalite view...

    The best part abt gpsed other than all its amazing features is that it works completely indipendant of cellular service. It doesn't need data service to continue functioning...

    And you can upload your map tracks and waypoints anywhere on compatible services...
    ~via smartphone mobile.pinstack.com~

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •