Results 1 to 8 of 8

Hi, I am currently using my blackberry 8800 on FIDO, when I travel I usually ... BlackBerry Wi-Fi forum

  1. #1
    mikeg89's Avatar
    mikeg89 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    22

    using wifi blackberry on non-uma provider

    Advertisement



    Hi,

    I am currently using my blackberry 8800 on FIDO, when I travel I usually rack up quite a roaming bill so I'd like to change that. Last time in london I spent 75$ cdn while roaming for like 5 hours.

    If I get an 8320, will I get any benefits from WIFI while roaming in places like london? I am assuming WIFI,UMA etc is better supported there.

    Thanks for any feedback!
    mike123

  2. #2
    shayind4's Avatar
    shayind4 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    48

    Re: using wifi blackberry on non-uma provider

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~
    I have BB8820 and live in London/essex. The network carriers here do not support UMA for voice calls.Wifi is used for data only.

  3. #3
    mikeg89's Avatar
    mikeg89 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    22

    Re: using wifi blackberry on non-uma provider

    any idea when they will support UMA ?

    i guess theres not really much benefit to having WIFI when roaming ?? is there ANY benefit as far as data charges go ?

    cheers,
    mike

  4. #4
    squeakr's Avatar
    squeakr no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    541

    Re: using wifi blackberry on non-uma provider

    If you are using T-Mo and using hotspots (such as at Starbuck$) or using your own router through an internet connection, then with the H@H option the voice calls will be free. The UMA will go through the internet and use T-Mo site to create UMA call. Hopethis answers your question.

  5. #5
    SLVR6's Avatar
    SLVR6 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    PIN/ID
    G PONG!
    Posts
    60

    Re: using wifi blackberry on non-uma provider

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

    No advantage if you are not on t-mobile (US). Maybe you could use Raketu over wifi to cut down on call charges. Actually, raketu over data may be cheaper still than voice roaming charges.

  6. #6
    markbb99's Avatar
    markbb99 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    15

    Re: using wifi blackberry on non-uma provider

    Your home provider has to support UMA - not the networks where you are travelling to as you don't actually use the roaming network to place the call (you are using wifi obviously!).

  7. #7
    jgin's Avatar
    jgin no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    1

    Available software

    I have a 8230 and I will be roaming in Europe. Does anyone know of any software that will let me make UMA calls over wifi? There does appear software that will allow pocket pc to make calls over skype, but not for Blackberry. Any suggestions?

  8. #8
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432
    jgin

    All reports I have seen are that IF you are a TMO customer you can use your 8320 in Europe to make WIFI calls just like at home in the USA and it should not charge as roaming.
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •