Results 1 to 10 of 10

im on the phone with bb support and hes trying to tell me that the ... BlackBerry Wi-Fi forum

  1. #1
    spike41615's Avatar
    spike41615 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    PIN/ID
    241BD9F4
    Posts
    171

    urgent

    Advertisement



    im on the phone with bb support and hes trying to tell me that the reason my uma isnt working is because i dont have h@h. i said i know fo a fact you can use it w/o h@h cause i know people on here have accomplished this. am i right or did i stickmy fot in my mouth

  2. #2
    XLiMBS's Avatar
    XLiMBS no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    PIN/ID
    20F3D846
    Posts
    767

    Re: urgent

    You are correct, you don't need H@H service to make UMA calls, they just subtract from your plan minutes like a regular phone call.

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  3. #3
    nmadd's Avatar
    nmadd no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    413

    Re: urgent

    You are correct. Look at how many here do NOT have H@H:
    http://blackberryforums.pinstack.com..._8320_did.html

  4. #4
    krabme's Avatar
    krabme no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    9

    Re: urgent

    Of course, CS want to sell you more services. You may want to check your router settings first like your firewall, WEP/WAP, app filtering, etc.

  5. #5
    getmetty's Avatar
    getmetty no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    11

    Re: urgent

    UMA service builds an IPSec tunnel to the UMA infrastructure.
    Configure the following ports for network traffic associated with a Wi-Fi network:
    port 4500: from the BlackBerry device to the mobile network UMA infrastructure (outgoing only using IPSec and TCP)
    port 500: from the BlackBerry device to the mobile network UMA infrastructure (outgoing only using IPSec and TCP)

  6. #6
    I7oobie's Avatar
    I7oobie no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    3,563

    Re: urgent

    Quote Originally Posted by getmetty
    UMA service builds an IPSec tunnel to the UMA infrastructure.
    Configure the following ports for network traffic associated with a Wi-Fi network:
    port 4500: from the BlackBerry device to the mobile network UMA infrastructure (outgoing only using IPSec and TCP)
    port 500: from the BlackBerry device to the mobile network UMA infrastructure (outgoing only using IPSec and TCP)
    Please explain this a little further. Thanks!
    Black G1 w/Root
    JesusFreke's Moddified RC30 v1.3
    Auto-rotate Enabled
    Auto-rotate Browser Enabled
    Manup's Blue Star 5 Theme

  7. #7
    hwnstyle21's Avatar
    hwnstyle21 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    PIN/ID
    31C83C17
    Posts
    94

    Re: urgent

    little off but for some reason I can't connect to UMA today. It was working great a few days ago. Yesterday all I could get was the uma not UMA. Then today I can't get either. I rebooted the phone, re-activated Wifi (60), rebooted my router and nothing worked. Oh well I'll try later when I have more time (lunch time wasn't enough).
    BB 8330 w/ SERO Voice Only, BIS, N/W @7pm, Pick3, Unl Text via Credits: $30 +$5 (Unl Incoming) + $7 (TEP)
    Pin: 31C83C17

  8. #8
    melissaox's Avatar
    melissaox no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    5,344

    Re: urgent

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~ Isn't there a reported issue in California? Mine was working fine last night and today.

  9. #9
    AmtrakConductor's Avatar
    AmtrakConductor no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    PIN/ID
    24219006
    Posts
    22

    Re: urgent

    I'm seeing people in SoCal saying they have problems, but mine is working fine up here in NorCal.

  10. #10
    AmtrakConductor's Avatar
    AmtrakConductor no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    PIN/ID
    24219006
    Posts
    22

    Re: urgent

    Okay, I am getting my UMA cutting in and out, then back in again every so often. I notice too my EDGE will turn to an edge, then back to EDGE when that happens.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •