Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 16 to 28 of 28

just wondering, I'm having the same problem... BlackBerry Wi-Fi forum

  1. #16
    kurtseneca's Avatar
    kurtseneca no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    4

    Re: UMA constantly dropping calls

    Advertisement



    just wondering, I'm having the same problem

  2. #17
    vpham's Avatar
    vpham no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    20
    I see a lot of old posts regarding UMA calls failing.
    Is there anybody with recent experience?

    I just picked up an 8320 & the calls area still failing upon connect & dropping. Even when standing next to the router my signal strength is not at full. TMo has indicated that this is a problem with the phone & other WIFI phones do not have the same problem.

    The idea for WIFI calling is excellent, but it still does not work well in 2008!

    I am considering moving my router to the center of my house to see if that changes my dropped call situation...

    Anybody out there have suggestions?

  3. #18
    rachaelp's Avatar
    rachaelp no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    124
    You are not alone. T-Mobile has told me to turn off my Wi-Fi when I am not in my house, so I don't drop calls when I am driving. What a joke. It's supposed to be seamless, though I know it isn't yet.

    So I asked what about calls I am on when I leave my house that drop when they switch to Edge. Or calls made from a hotspot that drop when I leave? No answer to that of course.

    I am on little "uma" again today and want to kill someone at T-Mob. I think my unit and their network together are making a nasty little problem for me.

    I have a brand new router that works beautifully if you are near it... We need to get a Wi-Fi extender, but this phone just cannot handle making the switch.

  4. #19
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432
    I have the 8320, and two TMO branded routers cascaded with the second router set as an access point on a seperate channel. I have no issues with dropped calls on the UMA and have seamless handoff between the routers within the house. Also have no problem handing off EDGE-UMA. There is however a known issue with the UMA-EDGE handoff.I consistently drop calls when leaving the WiFi coverage.
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  5. #20
    rpol8052's Avatar
    rpol8052 no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    PIN/ID
    Ask me!
    Posts
    561
    Hey guys I know how frustrating it can be....I've experienced it. I got so upset about dropping calls in my house that I called Tmo and told them to ship me the Linksys Router WRT54G-TM...and its the best anyone can do, it really works and my computers don't slow down either I suggest for everyone to get it.

  6. #21
    rachaelp's Avatar
    rachaelp no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    124
    My brand new Linksys Router is set to prioritize voice over data, and is set up properly. I would need a second router or extender in my home to make a difference. It's the hand-off that kills me...

    T-Mobile knows it. I really don't want to have to set up a new unit, I just want it to work.

  7. #22
    rpol8052's Avatar
    rpol8052 no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    PIN/ID
    Ask me!
    Posts
    561
    Quote Originally Posted by rachaelp View Post
    My brand new Linksys Router is set to prioritize voice over data, and is set up properly. I would need a second router or extender in my home to make a difference. It's the hand-off that kills me...

    T-Mobile knows it. I really don't want to have to set up a new unit, I just want it to work.
    what do you mean you need a second router or extender to make a difference? The T-Mobile Linksys has no problems doing that for me if im on the phone leaving my house it transfer to EDGE w/o me even noticing and if I get home it goes back UMA so it must be your router because i had a regular Linksys and i could'nt do any hand-off and had a couple dropped calls....besides why not get it its FREE!!! and there is nothing to setup it comes ready all u have to do is plug it in, remember its enhanced for our phones and it saves some battery.
    Last edited by rpol8052; 04-09-2008 at 02:58 PM.

  8. #23
    jonnyxedge's Avatar
    jonnyxedge no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    PIN/ID
    28A4ED28
    Posts
    3,945
    To adress a couple of the questions. If the area you live is poor service or reception then handing off from wifi to edge won't be seamless. Handing off from wifi to 0 bars of service or sometimes 1 bar of service won't drop off because its not a strong connection. I've had good luck where edge coverage was strong. You do not have to turn the wifi off when not in an area that has wifi. Only reason you would want to do that is to conserve battery life.


    The router issue. You definately want to move your router to center of the house that way it blankets quite a bit of the home. In some cases using a non t-mobile router I've seen more issues with dropping off wifi when connected. This is why t-mobile recommends use of there own routers because they know how they are going to work and that the devices aren't going to have any issues well I should say thay aren't going to have many issues with connectivity etc. ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  9. #24
    jblackfish's Avatar
    jblackfish no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    11,116
    I have the UMA dropped calls problem. It seems to be mostly with incoming, cell phones calls rather than land lines but I'm still gathering data and keeping notes - I'm not sure that's the case yet.

    I'm using an AT&T 2-wire router that is centrally located in my home - it gives me a strong, constant signal. I have checked and the firmware in the router is current. I have never seen my 8320 drop UMA while in my home. I can browse the internet with consistent speed via that wi-fi connection at home.

    I leave my wi-fi on all the time and the automatic settings take care of calls and/or browsing when I'm out of my home. I'm running 4.2.2.184 - have had no problems with that. Everything except the dropped calls works great.

    I have seen comments that "other-than" T-mo routers can cause problems and that may be the case but, with the strong, consistent wireless signal that I now have, it seems that any decent router should work - they all do pretty much the same thing(s) when set up right.
    For every complex problem there is a solution, that is simple, neat, .....and wrong! (H. L. Mencken) jblackfish(at)pinstack(dot)com

  10. #25
    dacradd's Avatar
    dacradd no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    PIN/ID
    2457bd57
    Posts
    4
    I have had similiar issues. However if I disable my bluetooth headset and just use the wired headset.....all my UMA call problems went away.

  11. #26
    jblackfish's Avatar
    jblackfish no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    11,116
    Quote Originally Posted by dacradd View Post
    I have had similiar issues. However if I disable my bluetooth headset and just use the wired headset.....all my UMA call problems went away.
    FYI, neither bluetooth nor the use of a headset (BT or wired) has never been an issue when I've had the problem. Just as my wi-fi is always turned on, my Blue Tooth is always turned off. The only exception is sometimes when I'm in the car using a BT headset.
    For every complex problem there is a solution, that is simple, neat, .....and wrong! (H. L. Mencken) jblackfish(at)pinstack(dot)com

  12. #27
    melissaox's Avatar
    melissaox no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    5,344
    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~ with my non tmo linksys router I haven't had any troubles. I have left the house on a call many times and not noticed a thing.
    I've used the tmo router too, with no prob.
    I love my uma and it works great for me.

  13. #28
    nealpolshuk's Avatar
    nealpolshuk no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    95
    Quote Originally Posted by dacradd View Post
    I have had similiar issues. However if I disable my bluetooth headset and just use the wired headset.....all my UMA call problems went away.
    I had an Apple bluetooth headset that looked cool but wreaked havoc with my UMA connection. I switched to a Motorola 850 and no longer have any UMA issues. WooHoo!

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •