Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 20

The more and more I load pages with the wifi I'm noticing that it isn't ... BlackBerry Wi-Fi forum

  1. #1
    ccjjr59's Avatar
    ccjjr59 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    52

    The wifi is so slow, anyone come up with a fix?

    Advertisement



    The more and more I load pages with the wifi I'm noticing that it isn't helping the speed at all. Has anyone come up with a fix?

    I'll probably call TMO tomorrow and ask about it.

  2. #2
    blackninja's Avatar
    blackninja no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    PIN/ID
    spam=no
    Posts
    1,322

    Re: The wifi is so slow, anyone come up with a fix?

    the bottleneck issues were shown by BGR in the head-to-head test between 8320 on WiFi and 8300 on ATT's EDGE. similar to the comment I left at his page, don't expect the bbb to perfectly intergrate with the wifi connection with the 1st OS out that supports it. I'd also suggest trying Opera Mini beta 2 for now.

    I expect in future versions to come better tuned internal settings to handle wifi browsing that will better utilize the broadband connection.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2007
    PIN/ID
    ********
    Posts
    394

    Re: The wifi is so slow, anyone come up with a fix?

    try re-booting the router, my wifi is very fast

  4. #4
    ntrsfrml's Avatar
    ntrsfrml no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    PIN/ID
    2440080c
    Posts
    34

    Re: The wifi is so slow, anyone come up with a fix?

    Some people have posted if you unlock 8320, you wifi speeds see 2x increase. T-mobile will unlock your curve if you have been with them for 90+ days.

  5. #5
    timboritus's Avatar
    timboritus no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    14

    Re: The wifi is so slow, anyone come up with a fix?

    My wifi is substantially faster w/ the blackberry browser than with Opera Mini. Both seem to be a great deal faster than using EDGE and i prefer Opera over BB but BB is faster.

  6. #6
    timboritus's Avatar
    timboritus no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    14

    8320 Wifi for Data but no voice, no UMA.

    I just got my titanium 8320 yesterday and I love it however there are a few issues i'm having with wifi. When i'm at home i can connect to my network and I see the WiFi and UMA icons show up on my desktop which enables me to use wifi for voice and data services if i understand correctly. I also connect at 48mbit/s. When i connect to my office WiFi it seems to only be able to use the wifi for data, (web browsing, etc.) I get the WiFi and Edge icons showing up. I am not able to place voice calls over wifi at the office. What gives? The office is the place I get the worst reception and I need the wifi to make calls. Any ideas?

  7. #7
    blackninja's Avatar
    blackninja no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    PIN/ID
    spam=no
    Posts
    1,322

    Re: The wifi is so slow, anyone come up with a fix?

    Quote Originally Posted by ntrsfrml
    Some people have posted if you unlock 8320, you wifi speeds see 2x increase. T-mobile will unlock your curve if you have been with them for 90+ days.

    those people are idiots.

    sorry, no better way to put it.

  8. #8
    robbham's Avatar
    robbham no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    9

    Re: The wifi is so slow, anyone come up with a fix?

    Quote Originally Posted by ntrsfrml
    Some people have posted if you unlock 8320, you wifi speeds see 2x increase. T-mobile will unlock your curve if you have been with them for 90+ days.
    Who did you call to get it unlocked? 611 or can they do it at the store?

  9. #9
    Eddie_gauge's Avatar
    Eddie_gauge no está en línea Stack level 7
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    2,970

    Re: The wifi is so slow, anyone come up with a fix?

    Quote Originally Posted by robbham
    Who did you call to get it unlocked? 611 or can they do it at the store?
    611, the store would have to call in to get it requested just like you.

  10. #10
    Toddboy71's Avatar
    Toddboy71 no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    PIN/ID
    T o' Bee
    Posts
    2,384

    Re: The wifi is so slow, anyone come up with a fix?

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~
    No issues with wifi speeds here. Twice as fast as EDGE. Handoff from UMA sketchy at best, but other than that lovin wifi.

  11. #11
    flash24's Avatar
    flash24 no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    3319688f
    Posts
    4,063

    Re: 8320 Wifi for Data but no voice, no UMA.

    What kind of router do you have?

  12. #12
    FilterMiller's Avatar
    FilterMiller no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    36

    Re: 8320 Wifi for Data but no voice, no UMA.

    im having the same problem

  13. #13
    timboritus's Avatar
    timboritus no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    14

    Re: 8320 Wifi for Data but no voice, no UMA.

    i'm at my office we use cisco routers.

  14. #14
    Encrypt's Avatar
    Encrypt no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    PIN/ID
    241BC6F6
    Posts
    158

    Re: The wifi is so slow, anyone come up with a fix?

    Same here, very noticeable difference in speed for me. Not true broadband speeds I imagine, but much faster than EDGE.

  15. #15
    CustomDuals's Avatar
    CustomDuals no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    16

    WIFI & UMA idicators mean . . . what?

    When it's showeing "WIFI and UMA" does this mean it's connected?

    Sometimes it shows WIFI and little red bars - is this one in the same?

    Or . . . is this a handoff issue?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •